We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Caverns

Grand Canyon Caverns
Peach Springs, AZ 86434
520-422-3223 / 3224
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These caverns began forming 300 million years ago and contain mummified remains of animals that died in them.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really cool, and educational! The guide was nice and informative. Some steep walkways, so wear good shoes. The light show at the end was kinda nice, but a little touristy. The restaurant was nice, good food.
Tip: Buy some raw honey in the gift shop, it's really good!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    48
    31
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected but very good stop off on Route 66”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Guided tours on the hour take you down a 21 story lift descent into the caves. The second biggest dry caves in America. The tour takes about 45 minutes and is well worth it - our tour guide Isaac was very knowledgable about the mineral deposits and the history surrounding the caves, including it being found and later being designated as a nuclear shelter.
The place also has a general store and gas.
The Grand Canyon caverns are located 12 miles east on Route 66. There is an admission fee but well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice rest stop on way to the Grand Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were looking for a place to take a break on our way from Lake Havasu to the Grand Canyon so I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we stopped here and I was glad we did. The tour was about an hour we were lucky that we got there 15 till the hour so we had just a short wait. The cavern is very interesting and the tour guide very professional. The most interesting parts if the tour was the room you can rent for the night (for $700) built in the main large cavern and the giant sloth the fell into the cavern long ago. We did not eat at the cafe but it looked good and clean restrooms are always a plus when traveling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“This was an interesting stop if you're in the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We love caverns so if you can get over the "tourist trap" feel of the place, it's really interesting. We'd never been in a dry cavern before and it was very different from other caves and caverns we've visited.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get a Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I took the tour as part of the El Trovatore Motel Legendary Route 66 Adventure Tours and this was an awesome part of the tour. They have a hotel room in the cave (sleeps 6) with its own dancing area with laser light show synchronized to music of your choice. How cool is that?!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Caverns also viewed

Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 

Been to Grand Canyon Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.