We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Save Saved
You added Kohl's Ranch Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 South Kohl's Ranch Lodge Road, HC-2, Box 96K (mail), Payson, AZ 85541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Payson
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband & I spent the weekend here & really enjoyed the lodge & surrounding area.
The Lodge is rustic yet modern. Front desk personnel were friendly & helpful. The lobby is attractive & there were always people sitting around the fire.
The rooms are not fancy but clean & comfortable. I liked the gas fireplace & the rocking chairs out on the little patio. Didn't love the pillows (too mushy?) but not really a big deal.
There's so much to do in this area, it would be surprising if anyone was ever bored. There's a heated pool, which we didn't try out.
The Zane Grey restaurant is right on the property & very convenient.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room but noticed the little cabins right off the creek, those would be reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are happy to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay here with us, thank you for your words of appreciation. We are slightly surprised to read that you have not been fully satisfied with the quality of pillows as most of our guest comment they would not mind taking them home, however we are glad this has not marred your stay and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    71
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
60
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Kohl's Ranch last weekend and had a great time. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was wonderful. I would classify this as a "rustic" resort (i.e. not the Ritz) but the pricing was very affordable and the staff was friendly.

The area offers something for everyone (fishing, hiking, horseback riding to name a few). As another reviewer said, "peaceful and convenient".

We will be booking another trip there this year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise az
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed feb 14th 2013 to the 17th for our wedding anniversary. Friendly awesome staff. Good food! The environment is so cozy and welcoming. We are for sure booking again to bring our kids and other family member this year. We stayed in a a studio it was nice and clean!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It is important to us to create a relaxing “home-like” atmosphere at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge and we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you for your feedback; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kohl's Ranch this past weekend and it was terrific!
We stayed in a Studio room, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Everyone is very friendly! We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the service was great and the food was very good. Friday night they had all-you-can-eat fish&chip that my husband definiitely enjoyed and Saturday night they had smoked prime rib that was delicious. We had drinks in the Saloon right next to the restaurant and it was very welcoming. One could stay at the Ranch there whole stay and be very happy becausze there is so much one can do. Work out, hike, ride horses, hang out by the pool, play horseshoes, relax, walk along the creek.... It was raining when we were there but we still had a wonderful time. There is a big loft in the lobby area where one can hang out and read, relax, play games, watch TV etc. We definitely plan on returning to Kohl's Ranch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at Kohl's Ranch Lodge in March, and I had a great stay. I chose one of the duplex (maybe it was a triplex) cabins for my stay. The cabin was clean, and we enjoyed it. We had dinner at the Zane Grey dining room, and I had the best BBQ ribs and buttermilk biscuits I've ever had (shhh - I live in Georgia - don't tell anyone here I said that!)

Not too far from the Lodge was an animal rescue ranch we visited, and there is also Tonto Natural Bridge nearby. It's a must-see for nature lovers and hikers. I am sure someone at the front desk can give you directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your March 2012 stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge. We were very delighted to hear that our accommodations and food served at our Zane Grey dining room met, if not exceeded your expectations. The tips you provided for future guests is also much appreciated. We hope to see again soon when you have a chance to visit Payson again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Kohl's Ranch Lodge over Christmas this year. The location is approx. 18 miles from Payson, Az and located in the Tonto National Forest. The setting of the Ranch is remote, yet you have easy access to Payson. The Ranch has a motel side as well as several cabins on the property. We were located in the motel side as we had our two Bichons with us. There is ample parking. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, seeing that all of our needs were properly attended to.
The Ranch has horse stables on site, basketball courts, swimming/hot tub, horse shoes, volleyball, bocce, and the lobby has a nice log cabin feel with a large fireplace. The staff has an outdoor fire pit in the evenings to roast smores for guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Kohl’s Ranch Lodge – thank you for your review! We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to our guests, and we’re really pleased that our team were able to provide you with all the help and information you needed during your stay.

We hope that you’ll choose to return here for another vacation – we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just spent a week at Kohl's Ranch and had a lot of fun. It was snowing when we arrived which was amazing since my daughter, her friend, and I have never seen the snow. The cabin was really nice and since we are time share owners, we were able to bring our dog. He truly vacationed with his bed in front of the fireplace. The only thing with the cabin was that the dishes weren't really clean we we got there. Not too much of a problem though since there was a dishwasher. It just looked like they had been sitting for awhile so were dusty. There was also only one frying pan so we had to ask for another one in order to cook. I recommend cooking because the food at the steakhouse wasn't very good. It was all served on the cold side. Everyone was so friendly though and we really enjoyed our stay. Anything we needed was taken care of right away and with a wonderful smile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing you and your family’s thoughts about your most recent stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge. We were glad to hear that our accommodations, amenities, customer service and staff met, if not exceeded your family’s expectations before arrival. We were also delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond in providing exception customer service. Please accept our apologies for not checking your kitchen amenities to ensure for both quality and quantity. This will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. Your feedback about the temperature of the food that was served to you in our steakhouse is appreciated, as we want to make sure this is properly addressed with our chef and kitchen staff. Hope you, your daughter, and her friend enjoyed your first snowfall experience. We look forward to being able to provide future exceptional vacation experiences for you and your family/friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kohl's Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Address: 202 South Kohl's Ranch Lodge Road, HC-2, Box 96K (mail), Payson, AZ 85541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohl's Ranch Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you first arrive at Kohl's Ranch Lodge in Payson, Arizona you will be sure you have truly cornered a little piece of paradise. The location is what creates this setting, which borders on perfection. Kohl's Ranch Lodge is at the base of the Mogollon Rim and on the banks of Tonto Creek. All of this comes together in the largest Ponderosa Pine Forest in the world. This stunning, off the beaten path section of Arizona's back country was made most famous by author Zane Grey, who stirred up vivid imagery of a striking land throughout his tales of the Old West. Not to mention, the people here are known for their historically famous, western hospitality. You will revel in the casual and friendly atmosphere that makes each stay here an inviting experience that leaves visitors wanting to come back for more. Enjoying Payson, Arizona: This area has been dubbed the "heart of Arizona" because of its history and scenery. It is truly a stunning and unpredictable back country area of Arizona. Here, you may even experience snowfall in winter months. While you are staying in your subtly elegant surroundings, you can enjoy a multitude of activities. This is an area that was practically made for experiencing horseback riding along the dusty trails. Of course, this also means the country is ideal for similar activities such as hiking. Most of the area surrounding Payson is the Tonto National Forest, part of the United States Forest Service, so you will find a well-maintained park service to enjoy for many of your outdoor adventures. Other areas are under the jurisdiction of tribal governments, which means they are also kept up. In some areas, fishing is another very popular outdoor event to enjoy. From the Tonto Natural Bridge to the Tonto Natural Bridge State Park to the Tonto Apache Indian Reservation, you will find scenery and activities in or around Payson, Arizona to fill your days. Kohl's Ranch Lodge Accommodations: After a long day of hiking, biking or fishing, you may want to simply relax and unwind in your private room, maybe even bask in the air conditioning and watch a movie on the DVD player provided in each room. You can also enjoy the outdoors without ever leaving the grounds. Serve up some BBQ from the cookout area and soak or swim in either the outdoor hot tub or heated outdoor pool. You will love your time at Kohl's Ranch Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kohl's Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohl`s Ranch Hotel Payson
Kohls Hotel Payson
Kohls Ranch Lodge
Kohls Ranch Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohl's Ranch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.