We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Time...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kohl's Ranch Lodge to your Saves list
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 South Kohl's Ranch Lodge Road, HC-2, Box 96K (mail), Payson, AZ 85541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Payson
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just spent a week at Kohl's Ranch and had a lot of fun. It was snowing when we arrived which was amazing since my daughter, her friend, and I have never seen the snow. The cabin was really nice and since we are time share owners, we were able to bring our dog. He truly vacationed with his bed in front of the fireplace. The only thing with the cabin was that the dishes weren't really clean we we got there. Not too much of a problem though since there was a dishwasher. It just looked like they had been sitting for awhile so were dusty. There was also only one frying pan so we had to ask for another one in order to cook. I recommend cooking because the food at the steakhouse wasn't very good. It was all served on the cold side. Everyone was so friendly though and we really enjoyed our stay. Anything we needed was taken care of right away and with a wonderful smile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing you and your family’s thoughts about your most recent stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge. We were glad to hear that our accommodations, amenities, customer service and staff met, if not exceeded your family’s expectations before arrival. We were also delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond in providing exception customer service. Please accept our apologies for not checking your kitchen amenities to ensure for both quality and quantity. This will be addressed with our housekeeping staff. Your feedback about the temperature of the food that was served to you in our steakhouse is appreciated, as we want to make sure this is properly addressed with our chef and kitchen staff. Hope you, your daughter, and her friend enjoyed your first snowfall experience. We look forward to being able to provide future exceptional vacation experiences for you and your family/friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    84
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
65
105
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

“What a mismanaged dump"
Well we stayed for 5 nights. Umm we were told we would get a fireplace room the morning of arrival. The front desk guy Don was super rude and acted as if i were lying when i told him this. He was a jerk with a chip. He told us we would be fine and that it wasn't that bad, as he lives in a storage unit in Payson. Sounds like a personal choice to me.

The TV was a 46 flat screen (very nice) with a fuzzzzy picture all week. I am uploading pics.

My wife and i went in the hot tub and at 9 pm this creepy employee came out and said " I'm kicking you guys out" he the sat down 2 feet away and stared at my wife like a deranged maniac at the edge of the hot tub. My wife looked at me with a fear so I then asked him to remove himself so my wife could have a decent departure. He asked me how far i wanted him away. We are in our mid 30's and are pretty easy going but this was creepy. Rooms were dusty and dirty. Bathrooms had dry rot and warn carpet. Stayed 5 nights and our room was never cleaned, and we were never asked.

Diamond Resort well perhaps a cloudy, yellow, poorly cut stone. I would not stay here again.

On the good side, heated dog kennel was nice. House keeping supervisor was nice. Snow and outdoor grounds were nice. Saloon was nice and drinks were super affordable. Lot of placed to choose from, this is one to pass on.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge did not meet your expectations, and that you were disappointed with the customer service, accommodations, and amenities. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, genuine customer service, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us, and we were very concerned after reading your review in that we did not meet these expectations. The behavior and treatment of you and your wife by our front desk and security staff is not acceptable by any means, and will be addressed internally to ensure this type of behavior is not repeated again. Please be aware that as we are primarily a Vacation Ownership resort, housekeeping services are provided (free of charge) for 5 days or more only. We are very sorry that your room was not cleaned while you were here. This should have been done on the 3rd day of your 5 night stay. If brought to the attention of our front desk, they would have more than happy to send someone to your room to provide this service. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Payson is only an hour and a half from the East Valley and Kohl's Ranch is about 20 minutes east of Payson. The ponderosa pines smell good and help provide the clean mountain air. Kohl's is a great place for kids with a creek, horseback riding, lots of grassy areas to play, a pool, hiking and s'mores at night. I enjoy bird watching, hiking along the creek and reading on the deck of the two bedroom creek side cabins. It was fun to play board games in the evening when the kids were with us. There is a sport court for tennis and basketball and fishing in the creek. There are also lots of crawfish in the creek.
Kohl's has been an annual vacation spot for us for over 20 years. The kids loved it growing up and my husband and I still enjoy at least a week there each year. We usually get a week in one of the rustic two bedroom cabins because of the large deck with private hot tub and the creek views. We took our dog for years and paid a little extra to have her with us in the cabin. There is also a kennel which is free.
The two bedroom cabins we like have only one bathroom and a small basic kitchen but there are more modern two bedrooms with two baths and a dishwasher. The lodge rooms are all studios or hotel rooms and there is not a lot of room for groceries if you plan on cooking.
I would give the ranch 5 stars except that means luxurious accommodations to me and this is definitely a rustic feeling place. The food in the on site restaurant is very good and there is a saloon with the same menu. Cell phone service is better now but there is free land line service provided. We were able to access wifi from our lodge room but the cabins are less likely to get a signal. Kohl's Ranch is a wonderful place to get away for a couple of days or a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a creek view if you stay in the lodge. This resort is a timeshare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge, and an even bigger thank you for coming back each year for the past 20 years! We are extremely grateful that we have been able to provide you and your family wonderful memories and experiences that will last a lifetime. Your tips for our future guests will be extremely helpful for them as they plan their vacation here. Here’s to another 20 years of continued and long lasting memorable experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Lots of fun in our small 1BR cabin. There were grills as others mentioned so bringing your own food to grill is a wise choice. Definitely go to the Mogollon Rim, about a 1/2 hour drive, for great views and hiking.

You can hike along the creek, ride ponies/horses down the street or explore nearby areas. Try to get a cabin facing the creek.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Found this place on a Groupon advertisement. We got a room in the lodge for four nights. The room was cozy and nicely decorated in the southwestern theme the lodge projects. Heavy emphasis on the writer Zane Grey having lived in the area at one time, based on the literature, etc. you'd a thought he was a founding father who forsake the state of Arizona after a bad experience with state wildlife officials. We really had a nice time, much thanks to the lodge and its wonderful staff. The location provided a good base to go out on day trips and was diverse enough to make it nice just to stay put and enjoy what the lodge had to offer (well heated swimming pool and hot tub, tennis and basketball courts, shuffleboard, bocci, bar, restaurant, etc.). Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: There are cabins and rooms in the lodge. Since our experience was only in the lodge all I can say a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Kohl’s Ranch is a quick 90 minute drive from Phoenix. The location is perfect for enjoying nature -Horton’s Creek hiking trail located across the highway, Tonto Creek runs through the hotel property, trout fishing in the creek, and various other hikes within minutes of the hotel. The only drawback from being “out-in-the-woods” is the 20 minute drive back into Payson if you want to go out to eat or buy groceries at Safeway.

Accommodations – my husband, dog and I have stayed twice, both times in pet friendly, studio efficiencies. NOT ALL STUDIOS ARE THE SAME, as we found out upon our last visit. On our first visit, our patio faced the creek with two double beds, microwave, mini-fridge, utensils, coffee-maker, and toaster. On our second visit, our patio faced the parking lot with a king bed, electric fireplace, microwave, mini-fridge, stove w/oven, utensils, coffee-maker, toaster and extra sink. Although both accommodations were comfortable, patios facing the creek have the better view and the fireplace is somewhat a joke – barely feel any heat unless you sit on the hearth.

Property – kept clean most of the time. There are many garbage bins located throughout so that pet owners can clean-up afterwards. Bring your own fold-out chairs and set-up down by the creek to enjoy the scenery and weather. We found a laundry mat on the property this last visit; nice if you’re staying more than a weekend. There is a pool with Jacuzzi, basketball court, and a few other games set-up around the property.

We stayed away from the restaurant based on other reviews. We did enjoy a few beers from the bar, but had lunch in Payson and made our own dinners. Highly recommend Buffalo Bill’s Bar & Grill in Payson – patio is dog-friendly. Service was great, food was good, beer list could be better.

Overall, I’d recommend this hotel for a weekend visit. Just be aware that check-in is at 4pm and check-out is 10am – short trip if only going for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the patio facing the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location of the place is by far the reason we went here and wanted to be close to woods canyon lake and also payson and heber. The grounds are in nice shape and play area for children is well kept, good little trails for hiking also. Besides the scenery being beautiful, everything else was a let down and some major issues with the place that needs to be addressed before they take on any new guest asap. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin with hot tub(luke warm hot tub), the room was in very poor shape and did not deserve the rate they were asking at all. The furniture in the room was is such bad shape if there was an earth quake it would have broken. The sofa had rips all over it along with a smell of fish on one of the arms and also had a fish hook stuck in one of the cushions in which I layed my head on. The shower was awful, the shower head that shot out water felt like 1000 little needles were poking your body and we had to do sponge baths to be able to not hurt the kids or even us. The beds were really hard and blankets were very old. One of the big let downs was the fire place, it did not work and were were stuck with a portable heater for the whole room. A warning to guest staying here, I advise you wear your sandals or shows around the room because we found five 3-barb fish hooks stuck in the carpet in the living room and also bedroom. I actually ended up stepping on one and thankfully I had my socks on to have the hook get caught in that. The cabin has a lot of potential and could be done very well, but they focus more on the looks of the outside rather than the inside which is very depressing because if it just did half of what they should be doing on the inside of the rooms they would be better off. The horse riding was closed for the days we were there, which would have also been nice if they told us about this before our stay. There are just alot of misses here at Kohls ranch and even though they have been around for sometime, maybe a new maintenance crew or some values of service would do them alot better in the long run. Feel free to email me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: They are redoing alot of the rooms right now, so its a hit and miss. You either get a old room, or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is quite concerning to us that our accommodations and amenities did not meet your expectations. Since Diamond Resorts took over Resort Management, we have made significant strides in improving our rooms and cabins. Nevertheless, we are aware that additional refurbishment is needed for our resort as a whole. A refurbishment plan is in the works to be implemented shortly. We would like to offer our sincere apologies, not only for the cleanliness issues that you had in your unit, but also for the safety hazards that you stated were present in your room. It is certainly not the Diamond Resort’s standard to treat our guests in this manner. Your concerns will be addressed internally with our team members. Please be aware that the safety and well being of our guests is one of the most important concerns that we have. If brought to our front desk staff’s attention, they would have sent someone to fix these issues immediately. The horse riding attraction was closed to due circumstances beyond our control, and, unfortunately, we did not have enough time to properly notify our guests of the closure beforehand. We regret hearing that this had a negative effect on your stay. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again, as we are very confident that you will be pleasantly surprised at the improvements that have been made since your last stay. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohl's Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Address: 202 South Kohl's Ranch Lodge Road, HC-2, Box 96K (mail), Payson, AZ 85541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohl's Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you first arrive at Kohl's Ranch Lodge in Payson, Arizona you will be sure you have truly cornered a little piece of paradise. The location is what creates this setting, which borders on perfection. Kohl's Ranch Lodge is at the base of the Mogollon Rim and on the banks of Tonto Creek. All of this comes together in the largest Ponderosa Pine Forest in the world. This stunning, off the beaten path section of Arizona's back country was made most famous by author Zane Grey, who stirred up vivid imagery of a striking land throughout his tales of the Old West. Not to mention, the people here are known for their historically famous, western hospitality. You will revel in the casual and friendly atmosphere that makes each stay here an inviting experience that leaves visitors wanting to come back for more. Enjoying Payson, Arizona: This area has been dubbed the "heart of Arizona" because of its history and scenery. It is truly a stunning and unpredictable back country area of Arizona. Here, you may even experience snowfall in winter months. While you are staying in your subtly elegant surroundings, you can enjoy a multitude of activities. This is an area that was practically made for experiencing horseback riding along the dusty trails. Of course, this also means the country is ideal for similar activities such as hiking. Most of the area surrounding Payson is the Tonto National Forest, part of the United States Forest Service, so you will find a well-maintained park service to enjoy for many of your outdoor adventures. Other areas are under the jurisdiction of tribal governments, which means they are also kept up. In some areas, fishing is another very popular outdoor event to enjoy. From the Tonto Natural Bridge to the Tonto Natural Bridge State Park to the Tonto Apache Indian Reservation, you will find scenery and activities in or around Payson, Arizona to fill your days. Kohl's Ranch Lodge Accommodations: After a long day of hiking, biking or fishing, you may want to simply relax and unwind in your private room, maybe even bask in the air conditioning and watch a movie on the DVD player provided in each room. You can also enjoy the outdoors without ever leaving the grounds. Serve up some BBQ from the cookout area and soak or swim in either the outdoor hot tub or heated outdoor pool. You will love your time at Kohl's Ranch Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kohl's Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohl`s Ranch Hotel Payson
Kohls Hotel Payson
Kohls Ranch Lodge
Kohls Ranch Az

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohl's Ranch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.