We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping would have been better!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Hackle Lodge

Grey Hackle Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Payson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grey Hackle Lodge
Save
You added Grey Hackle Lodge to your Saves list
1441 E. Christopher Creek Loop, Christopher Creek, Payson, AZ 85541   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Camping would have been better!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Cabin was more like a shed. No A/C in late June. Got close to 90 degrees in the afternoon. TV didn't work. Bed was uncomfortable. Camping would have been more comfortable. With the price of this place, I could have stayed at one finest resorts in the state of Arizona. This place never again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGreyHackle, Manager at Grey Hackle Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Hello. As you can see this review is out of character with our other reviews. I'd like to respond to the comments made point by point so that nothing is missed.

1- "Cabin is more like a shed" - While this guest did choose one of our smallest cabins it is not a shed. It has a kitchenette, a bathroom, etc. We have current full pictures showing the entirety of each unit on our website.
2- "No A/C in late June...90 degrees" - No lodges up here have air condition as it rarely ever hits 90 degrees and at night it usually drops to the 50s. We do provide fans if they are requested.
3- "TV did not work" - The TVs at this lodge come with DVD players, and we loan out 300 different movies for free at the front desk. Our website clearly states there are no TV channels.
4- "For the price could've stayed at finest" - The "finest" places are on average double to quadruple any rates here.

In summary- We are of course not happy that this guest did not have a nice time, but I think this is more a function of a guest having different expectations than what we actually provide. We are not for everyone, nor do we pretend to be. However, the overwhelming majority of our great guests have a terrific time and some even come here purposefully to not have TV channels.

Thanks for reading our reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Living in central Phoenix, the Grey Hackle Lodge is a perfect getaway for an extended vacation or a one-night escape. The Lodge is just a 15 minute drive from Payson, yet once there you feel the seclusion of the woods with the Lodge now off the Christopher Creek loop. "The Hackle" is roomy, clean and convenient as they supply the silverware and cooking equipment you'll need for a home-cooked meal. Grills are out in the common area to cook the fish you caught at one of the many nearby lakes while you mingle with other vacationers. Basic amenities are all supplied from dish soap to toilet paper to free dvd rentals. The Hackle is very dog-friendly with their fenced-in dog-run so your furry family is welcome. Two restaurants and the Tall Pines Market all within a stone's throw of the Lodge to purchase food, drink, newspaper or fishing poles you may have forgotten to bring.
Bring a flashlight for that late night walk and enjoy!
Ingrid
Phoenix, AZ

Room Tip: Make reservations by phone not online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Christopher creek even before we were married. (some 28 years now). We are never disappointed. Grey Hackle has always been our "get away" as the atmosphere is quiet, fishing and restraunts are within walking distance. The restraunt right across the street is small but the view of hummingbirds is huge! I recommend you get a cozy cabin for those escapes from the kids and other distractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin. They are small, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My family headed to Grey Hackle Lodge for my husband's birthday, and we had a wonderful time. It was a quiet area with great cabins. We stayed in cabin #1, and loved it. It was nice and cozy and just what we were looking for. We are looking forward to staying at Grey Hackle again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed ourselves while staying at the Grey Hackle Lodge and the staff were very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grey Hackle. It is definately worth the price, which is very reasonable! It is conveniently located within walking distance of a market and a GREAT tavern! The staff was very kind and accomodating. Were definately coming back before the season is over!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Acutally, they didn't have the date that goes back 2 years, but I wanted to write a review. My fiance' and I have been to Grey Hackle Lodge several times, since we started dating. We loved it so much, we kept going back. It's beautiful, and pretty much peaceful. Sometimes, there will be a family with some obnoxious children, but hey...they gotta go to sleep sometime. The rooms are very clean and extremely cozy. The cabin we stayed at was the most secluded (cabin #1), and had it's own firepit out front. However, since then, it was closed, and then sold. It recently re-opened with new owners, and we wanted to go there for our honeymoon, but for some reason, October isn't seasonal to them. We used to go every Veteran's Day (Nov. 11th). Anyway, we will try to get there again, soon to see if it's still the same. I hope they didn't change too much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Hackle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Hackle Lodge

Address: 1441 E. Christopher Creek Loop, Christopher Creek, Payson, AZ 85541
Location: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grey Hackle Lodge Cabins nestled in the mountains of Central Arizona in wonderful Christopher Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grey Hackle Hotel Payson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Hackle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.