We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pony rides for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohls Ranch Stable

Kohls Ranch Stable
288 Kohl Rd, Payson, AZ 85541
928.478.0030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Payson
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Pony rides for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Sure you can pony up (get it?) and ride horses, but for the kids? When they have time, the stable hands'll let your little ones ride (guided of course) for about 10 minutes, or 100 yards in a loop around the parking lot.. If they've never been on/around a horse, this is a great first time experience, and tips are appreciated.
*Ask for Socks, the kids love Socks..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My grandson and I went riding last Saturday (it was a gift I gave him for turning 10) and we had a marvelous time. Our guide Lance was funny, informative and fun. They gave us carrots and apples to feed the horses. We were the last ride of the day so we watched them take off their bridles and saddles and give them their food. They take excellent care of their horses. Thanks for a memorable ride!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kohl's Ranch Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked a week at Kohl's Resort Lodge & were really looking forward to being at a resort with horseback riding on the premises. When I called ahead to double check cabin & book horses, we were informed that the horse stable was closed down. Because cabin booked in advance, it wasn't possible to cancel. The entire resort needs a makeover, furniture in cabin old & dirty, restaurant pricey for the food quality, & just not enough to do in the winter months with no stables. It was one of the most boring vacations I've taken although staff was very nice! Thank God for the casino in Payson or I would have left in a few days instead of just a day early.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Opened”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were so excited when we had made our reservation at kohl's Ranch Lodge and it had advertised horseback riding my boyfriend has never ridden a horse and I always had horses growing up, but we were told upon checkin that they would not be available.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I went on a trail ride here and it was a great time! Beautiful setting and very nice horses. I do know how to ride but it would be great for all levels. Check it out when in Payson AZ-also a great place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohls Ranch Stable also viewed

 

Been to Kohls Ranch Stable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohls Ranch Stable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.