We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steadily improving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Restaurant and Saloon

Landmark Restaurant and Saloon
1177 Christopher Creek Loop, Payson, AZ 85541
928-478-4587
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 64 Restaurants in Payson
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Phoenix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steadily improving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you're a longtime Arizonan, you probably remember going to the original Landmark, which was dark, smoky, and not always a welcoming environment for non-locals.

The new incarnation, rebuilt from the ground up, is much more tourist friendly, open and bright. They've made good strides in their first year--faster, and more consistent with items like burgers, fries, wings, and fish & chips, etc. The bartenders and servers are friendly and responsive.

Note, the address here is Payson, but it's 22 miles up the 260 in Christopher Creek, on the way to the Mogollon Rim.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“After walking 13 miles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Beautiful place, food was good. Waitress doesnt know what she is doing, Management could do a better job with the service. I had to get my own condiments from another table, they also forgot the bacon on all of our cheeseburgers....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
“Have the fish, even if you aren't catching any”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good fish and chips, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service. Good value. [tripadvisor requires a fifty character review, so here it is]

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Who is writing these reviews???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Based on the reviews, we went there..the band was not bad. There was some kind of dried slime running down the inside of one of our glasses. The table was grossly dirty. The "alfredo" came up in a chunk...no need to try to wind it onto your fork. We cut it into bite size pieces. The waiter put his whole hand onto the tops of our salads as he passed the dishes out. The kids told us there was something wrong with their macaroni and cheese...and indeed...it tasted very odd. The smoking section is the uncovered part of the patio so that the whole area is potentially smokey, depending on which way the breeze is blowing. The kids did enjoy having a pool table right in the "dining" area. There is a fence between the creek and the eating area, so it does not exactly "overlook" the creek. The reviews here make me wonder if we stopped at the wrong Landmark Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, good food, good rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We heard through the grapevine that this restaurant would be hosting a live country band and offering free brownies (not quite true) for the Independence Day weekend, so we decided to check it out. We weren't hungry earlier, so we ended up eating, and the food was plentiful and tasty. Drinks were reasonably priced, too. There wasn't much seating available by the creek where dogs are allowed, but someone was leaving just as we arrived, so we got a corner table and shared it with a local and had a great time! I left my purse there by accident, and not only were they open at 7am for me to pick it up, they told our cabin manager, and he came by around 10am to make sure we knew about it. People in the area are very neighborly! If you're in the area, we highly recommend a dinner visit! My only recommendation to the owners is to get more tables!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark Restaurant and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Landmark Restaurant and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Restaurant and Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.