We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it you'll like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of knotty pine cafe - CLOSED

knotty pine cafe
1001 South Beeline Highway, Payson, AZ
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/knotty-pine-cafe-payson
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/knotty-pine-cafe-payson
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try it you'll like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I go to Payson twice a year for the rodeos.
Once in may and once in August I always stay at the same motel and it is walking distance from several places.
The Knotty Pine Cafe is my breakfast favorite. The food is plentiful and good and the price is reasonable. The service is always friendly and everyone seems to pitch in to help the customer not just YOUR waitress.
Since I usually do breakfast......cream pie is not on my agenda, but I want you to know that once you taste one of those pies, you will either go back for more or you will get a piece to go for later....YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    14
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“average food, and price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

clean, food was ok. not bad for a quick bite. if favorites where full, i'd eat here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, rustic relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great little restaurant. The interior is done in knotty pine wood -- which gives it a rustic north-woods feel, otherwise it is very simple, rural in appearance.. The service is very good, as is the food. Prices are very reasonable. The biscuits and gravy are outta-this-world -- the biscuits are so soft and fluffy that it is hard to tell where the gravy ens and the biscuits begin. But be warned: they are BIG, the regular two-biscuit platter ($3.99) is enough breakfast for all but the hungriest man. (We were very amused one time when a hungry man -- obviously his first time there -- at another table ordered a full breakfast and then asked for the two-biscuit platter as an additional side. The waitresses are always good about warning the customers that it is big. He wanted it anyway. It was amusing to watch his face as all the food was placed in front of him!) We have eaten at this restaurant for years and have always been pleased. In fact, we try to stop here for a meal -- especially biscuits and gravy -- anytime we pass through Payson.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch in Payson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I wanted to try lunch at a locally owned plan while visiting Payson and I chose the Knotty Pine Cafe, The appearance wasn't the greatest but it was different and locally ran NOT A CHAIN. The Shriff was inside having lunch. We all order something different from BBQ to chicken to breakfast. The waitress was very pleasant and readily available. Not many customers. I for one would be willing to go back and support local businesses and eat at the Knotty Pine Cafe with my next Payson Trip

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

It's ok. Nothing to write home about, no reason to go again. had eggs medium, hash browns, toast, coffee. eggs were perfect, hash browns were reconstituted and dry. Seats were extremely hard, slanted back and you sit low. it was difficult to get up from them AND then walk

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed knotty pine cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage knotty pine cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.