We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This hideaway in the dessert is amazing. Rooms are large and each are like there own little private villas. Service was top notch and in most cases better than most premium luxury hotels I've ever stayed in. It was literally a flawless stay. The resort is huge but good exercise to get around. I was attending a conference and from start to finish was flawless with exceptional staff all around.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    763
    269
    63
    32
    12
See reviews for
197
397
53
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Cave
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife & I stumbled across The Camelback by accident 15 years ago & we've been back every year since then. Its peace & serenity is unequalled nestling under The Mummy Mntn in Paradise Valley. The 'Casitas' are spacious & very comfortable, the restaurants a joy and the Jackrabbit Pool extremely relaxing & safe for all the Family. However it is the Staff who make it from the front desk, to the bar & restaurant Staff, to the Bell Hops & Conciege, not forgetting the Maids & gardeners. Always a friendly wave & chat, nothing is too much trouble. Even saw a Bobcat stroll past our balcony one evening who seemed to turn & say "Hi folks". Top that! Try it, you'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for any room 614 to 619 for fantastic views of The Camelback Mountain & unbelievable Arizona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed this resort a lot. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite instead o a casita suite with a view. We enjoyed the larger suite, but we backed right up to Camelback road and the sound of the traffic was not peaceful. The rooms were nicely decorated in a western theme, and the bed was cozy and totally comfortable. The grounds are lovely, the pool area nice, but be sure to enjoy the spa. The services are excellent but the 2hours I spent in the steam room, then sauna, indoor whirl pool, outdoor pool, and finally outdoor whirlpool were splendid. Blt steak also has a 5-7 happy hour weekdays with cocktails and snacks to love--escargot, popovers, fries worth the calories. Overall we had a great 5 day visit. Marriott service as usual was virtually flawless.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite was great, but no escape from road traffic. For a peaceful stay, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in this resort for four days because of a business summit. This place is definitely a gem in the desert. Nothing like I have ever stayed in. It is a totally different experience having casitas as the rooms, huge areas as the hotel space and jackrabbits as your friends! :) You have to definitely see this place, so put it in your bucket list.

There was a lovely old lady in the hotel gift shop where I bought some gifts for my daugther. She had quite a lot of knowledge about the history of my country! It was amazing to have such a knowledgeable chat about my country thousands of miles away from it.

The golf cars are a nice touch if you dont want to walk around but I have never used them. Car parking is not a problem at all, as you may guess. Also, had one night at the Cowboy Cookout in Mummy Mountain and it was really fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise ID
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for a 4 day conference. The accommodations, catering, pool, and general customer service were all you would expect for a JW Marriott.I especially liked the frozen fruit offered by the pool attendants.
The grounds were beautiful, with bunnies, hummingbirds , and native plants galore.
The weather was just gorgeous, a welcome change heading into fall and winter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mclean virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Of all the hotels ,motels,and resorts I have stayed at in my 69 years of earthly existence most of which were grand,this resort is the pinnacle,the summit.Its layout as casitas instead of rooms in an high rise,sets it apart.The beauty is incredible.The natural starkness invites dashes of vibrant color.The staff are eager to take you anywhere on the golfcarts.Everyone is helpful and engaging.Marriotts usually have fantastic staffs but the one here are as good as the ritz carlton(amarriott brand). The housecleaning staff are exceptional especially the toundown service.Its not one or two maids -its a team!The restaurants -Ritas kitchen,and the pool one-are enjoyable -the tortila soup is beyond words.The waitstaff is professional and very conducive to a fine meal.The staff at the pool are considerate and eager to carry out your wishes.I at times use a cane ,and the young man was solicitous to my needs.This resort is worth every penny it charges.I will be back next year for longer.It has been suggested that i try other exceptional resorts here,but once you have been to heaven why go elsewhere? PS.they have a quaint small chapel here as well.

Room Tip: I was near the valet stand which made pickup easy,everey room is quiet but the next time i wuold try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The Camelback Inn is unlike any other hotel. Its multiple small buildings are a nice contrast to the big cookie cutter resorts. Rooms are large and comfortable and the updated bathrooms are fantastic. Service was excellent and the pools and public gathering spaces were beautiful. Best part was just sitting on our balcony looking up at Mummy Mountain and listening to the birds. It was the relaxing stay I needed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Marriott, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.