We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at well managed property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
“Excellent stay at well managed property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. I am a Lifetime Platinum and currently Platinum Premier with Marriott, so I have had my share of stays at many different Marriott brand resorts including Ritz Carlton and Autograph Collection properties, but this resort has become one of my favorites. The property is fairly old, but you would not notice that once you are on the property and inside the rooms. Our stay started with an upgrade to a suite with a private pool. The rooms were clean, spacious, and well appointed. The staff here was also very friendly and helpful, and made our stay that much more enjoyable. The restaurants on the property were also excellent; you could literally taste the freshness of the meats and vegetables in every dish we had. Additionally, Nicole from the Front Office Team was great in providing recommendations and working with us before and during our stay. We will definitely be returning to this property in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment. We will ensure Nicole and her team receive your compliments! Thank you for your loyalty with Marriott and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    296
    67
    34
    13
See reviews for
219
432
58
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, AZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Outstanding resort. The service personnel were friendly and extremely helpful. One day there was a slight drizzle, and one of the employees was going to get me an umbrella. I declined as I had a hat and slight drizzle. One night when trying to read the menu, lighting was a little bad, and an employee found a very small flashlight to use. The rooms are absolutely outstanding. The only drawback is there is a resort fee of $25 a day. But this seems to be the name of the game in any resort in Scottsdale. At least the fee was not hidden. When I made the reservation, the fee showed up immediately. Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked a quick 3 night personal getaway using Marriott Reward points and wow! The Camelback Inn is wonderful. I was treated as a valued paying guest when I checked in and given a wonderful room with a mountain view. The small patio was a perfect place in the morning and evening when things cooled down. It was only a short walk to the pool, lobby and spa. I like that you can drive and park close to your room. One lunch at Rita's was very good but my Happy Hour dinner at the bar at BLT Steakhouse was a real bargain. Every staff person I encountered was pleasant, helpful when needed and had a great attitude. No fake cloying fawning here. I used points but I definitely will be back as a full paying guest!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My company just held an annual retreat at the Camelback Inn for approximately 80 attorneys over the course of 2.5 days, for which I was the primary meeting planner. From start to finish, this was an ideal place to work with. The event coordinators were extremely responsive, helpful, and courteous. They never blinked when we had last minute requests or changes. The group billing coordinator was extremely helpful in making sure everyone was included in our block at the group rate - even the last minute stragglers!
From the moment we stepped on the property, the staff was helpful and gracious. I never felt like anyone was straining to deliver customer service. Kudos the management there for promoting this work environment.
I cannot recommend this property enough to anyone looking to host an event or personal getaway. Thank you for making my job easier and making me look good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We're very glad your company enjoyed the retreat and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The service was wonderful and accommodations were gorgeousl! Both dinners we ate at the hotel were excellent! The spa was great! The staff could not have been nicer! I was told to make sure we had popovers! That was the bread served with dinner and it was excellent!

Room Tip: We loved our room and it was well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Camelback Inn has been a 5 Diamond rated hotel for many years and it continues to be a luxury hotel deserving of the recognition. The facility is continually being upgraded/updated.
Room 365 was large, well appointed and most comfortable. It was very convenient to the main buildings for food & beverage services, etc. with a peaceful walk through the central gardens and fountains.
The staff throughout the resort were most friendly, professional and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms across from the central buildings offer an opportunity to gain access to the food & bevera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After our 4 hour drive from La Quinta Ca we arrived to gorgeous Camelback Resort - as expected with a Marriott 5 star. After checking in we were told there was a room available near the tennis court..at first I thought it was too far from the pools but we loved the room. ..it had a little cactus garden patio.etc. we headed to the main pool - nice - but - not that big considering the size of the resort and NO deep end - bummer!- . We tried the Spa pool/club which was adults only and very laid back. Perfect! We tried BLT as a birthday treat - felt like a good steak - red wine however the prices were steep. We enjoyed other dining options in old town area. Overall a great experience..and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.