We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of 5 Diamonds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deserving of 5 Diamonds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Camelback Inn has been a 5 Diamond rated hotel for many years and it continues to be a luxury hotel deserving of the recognition. The facility is continually being upgraded/updated.
Room 365 was large, well appointed and most comfortable. It was very convenient to the main buildings for food & beverage services, etc. with a peaceful walk through the central gardens and fountains.
The staff throughout the resort were most friendly, professional and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms across from the central buildings offer an opportunity to gain access to the food & bevera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    763
    268
    63
    32
    12
See reviews for
197
397
53
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After our 4 hour drive from La Quinta Ca we arrived to gorgeous Camelback Resort - as expected with a Marriott 5 star. After checking in we were told there was a room available near the tennis court..at first I thought it was too far from the pools but we loved the room. ..it had a little cactus garden patio.etc. we headed to the main pool - nice - but - not that big considering the size of the resort and NO deep end - bummer!- . We tried the Spa pool/club which was adults only and very laid back. Perfect! We tried BLT as a birthday treat - felt like a good steak - red wine however the prices were steep. We enjoyed other dining options in old town area. Overall a great experience..and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Camelback Inn from September 5-9, 2013. Temps were very hot which meant we had the resort mostly to ourselves. The property is spread out...so no real lobby and waiting on elevators. They have golf carts to take you where you would like to go and are very happy to help. We stayed in #609. Very private large room with a wonderful patio. Bed was unbelievably comfortable....in fact, we took a picture of the mattress label so we could purchase one at home. Linens were silky and cool. The housekeeping staff kept our room immaculate. There is a REAL Starbucks on property so we had our coffee on the patio every morning to watch the jack rabbits, quail (came up to us) and hummingbirds. VERY relaxing. We ate at Rita's Kitchen (on property) and it was very good. They serve an outstanding breakfast. We ate at the other on site restaurant BLT Steak House. BLT is a chain restaurant but this one is actually owned by JW Marriott. Neither of us have ever had better food.

We used the spa on Saturday and Sunday which gave us privileges throughout the entire spa area (pool, sauna, salon, restaurant). Very quiet and very relaxing. Rented a cabana on the second day and thought we had gone to heaven. I had my nails done and it was fine but nothing special. I had my hair washed and styled....wouldn't do it again.

The large Jack Rabbit pool which is open to everyone looked wonderful. During our visit there were very few children so the pool was calm. I would imagine that it is loud and busy when families stay. Still a very nice pool.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return in November. We will also be bringing our children (23 and 26) with us in December.

The Camelback made a wonderful impression in every way. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 609 and would request that again. This is a level one corner room across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice and both times were great. I love the atmosphere of Rita's Kitchen and the food is delicious. Hanging out by/in the pool is very relaxing. The second time I stayed here I was 9 months pregnant. To get around, all I had to do was call and someone came and picked me up to take me where I needed to go (on a golf cart). The customer service is impeccable. I also had the best facial I've ever had. My feet were extremely swollen so she even gave me a foot massage. I ended my weekend at the spa cafe and in the spa pool.....both amazing! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is fabulous - great customer service, beautiful property, great spa, great restaurants, relaxing pool area, etc. The spa had some great specials and the property was mostly empty (summer and the heat not being the most popular time for tourists). As long as you can deal with some extreme heat, summer is the perfect time to visit! We were ungraded to a casita (due to my husband's Marriott status) and it was spacious, comfortable and had a fantastic bathroom with two separated sink areas. The casita also had two patio areas - a standard size balcony patio and then an enormous side patio. I would loved to have been able to stay here for longer than two nights. Tip: The Happy Hour deals in the two restaurants are great bargains. We didn't need to eat dinner afterwards because we were so full. The shrimp enchilada appetizer in the R Bar is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 11 nights in an 'oversized' cassita booked via Marriott Vacations. We travel extensively and without doubt have to say our stay at the hotel was superb. The room was large with balcony and separate vast sitting out area - it was spotlessly clean. I suggest asking for a room close to the pool - some are quite a hike away as the resort is large - however saying that it never felt crowded. (we were there in Aug/Sept when quieter I gather). The food was always good - loved the Happy Hour prices in both Rita's and BLT........however we were very impressed by the staff. In Rita's I was unsure which Pinot Grigio I wanted. Two minutes later three glasses appeared for me to 'blind taste'! Didn't need to ask. Same in BLT - we missed the 'Popover' demo and without hesitation a private demo was arranged - again we didn't have to ask! The staff made our trip memorable. Can't name them all as each was brilliant. Pauline and her team and David with his - gems....The concierge staff, Bellboys - you name them.......thanks so much for making our stay perfect. As an aside we rec. Westwind Aviation and Southwest Tours - Jim Vaughan's company - all made our stay amazing......oh yes and AA flights!!!

Room Tip: As the hotel grounds are sprawling I suggest asking for a room close to the pool area - or if going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Pauline's and David's teams will be very pleased to hear your comment! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having been incredibly disappointed with our last stay at the Wigwam Resort (see review), we decided to find a new resort where we could spend our Holiday Weekend
The JW Marriott Camelback was everything we used to get from The Wigwam, and more.
The grounds were beautiful, rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and GREAT air conditioning!
We had dinner at BLT Steak twice, and breakfast at Rita's Kitchen. While the breakfast was overpriced, the food was very good. BLT steak was pricey, but I wouldn't call it overpriced, as the food and service were excellent and worth every penny. The bartenders were friendly, and they had great Happy Hour specials.
We didn't play golf at this resort, but there are so many golf courses in the area that it didn't matter.
Looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an upgraded bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.