We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing People - Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing People - Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is simply amazing. The people who work here go out of their way to accomidate you in everyway without being over the top or in your own personal space. We had a room close to the spa and it was perfect for us. We had plenty of room and nice porch and a shor walk to the spa and pool. We had a car but never ended up using it. The mexican restaurant was so good we ate there twice. I can't wait to go back there again.

Room Tip: If you are going to use the spa choose a room towards the back. Its quiter and a short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    296
    67
    34
    13
See reviews for
220
433
58
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Large rooms quietly hidden from the nearby busy streets of Phoenix and Scottsdale. Excellent service. Parking can be a pain as you have to figure out where your room is in various free standing buildings and then find a spot nearby. Lobby, bar and restaurants definitely have old school Scottsdale vibe from the 40s. Group rate for my visit so I am not sure of the comparable value. When it is hot, you will definitely feel it in the walk from your room to the lobby/restaurants. I can see where old movie stars and celebrities would have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent from the first arrival. Everything was taken care of from the bags to check in to the excellent room to the amazing food. Service goes beyond expectations at this resort. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate the guests. Entertainment every nite. Pricey but you get what you pay for, excellence, drinks also great

Room Tip: we stayed in room 412 close to pool, front, restaurants, gift shop. Quiet east side and anywhere on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

After getting engaged to my fiancé at the top of nearby Camelback Mountain, he planned a very special stay at this JW. First of all, the grounds are absolutely breathtaking as well as the views. When we pulled up to checkin, there wad an attendant to open our door and assist with our bags this was a nice touch.
While checking in, the front desk noticed we were Marriott members and upgraded our room to one with the most amazing view of Camelback. The room was large, cool constantly cleaned and there was a turndown service every night.
After getting settled in our amazing room we decided to take a dip in the pool. There were plenty of chairs and rafts to make yourself comfortable and the service was great. There were constantly servers walking around, whenever we needed a drink or something to eat there was always someone available. They also brought around glasses of water, fruit or an ice pop which was very refreshing on a hot day!
At night we would order appetizers and cocktails around the fire pits, listening to the band underneath the palm trees and stars. It was so relaxing and romantic.
There was no need to leave this resort, anything we needed was there. The only downside about this resort is how pricy everything costs. We were on vacation and celebrating our engagement so it was worth it but on any normal occasion we might not have been comfortable spending as much. Thank you to the JW Camelback Inn for an
unforgettable vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Congratulations to you and your fiance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have now stayed at the Marriott Camelback twice with my husband. Both times we stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute. The staff was outstanding, the facilities were clean, well manicured and the scenery a joy to look at. We spent time at the spa and the staff here was professional and the services were wonderfu land relaxing. We will be going back here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet and give a sense of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent Labor Day weekend 2013 at the Camelback - 2nd year in a row. The resort is very spacious and meticulously landscaped with cactus and beautiful blooms and palm trees. Aim for a resort view room - great proximity to main building and right across from the resort pool.

Resort Pool and Hoppin' Jacks restaurant - great pool with fountains and a lap lane. There are water stations and ample pool towels and rafts. Food is very good and they have a great selection of beer and cocktails to enjoy.

Rooms - very spacious, great beds/pillows, ours had a kitchenette with microwave and fridge and bathrooms are huge and have been recently updated. In-room safes and ample closet and storage space are great touches

There are several on-site dining options for 3 main meals and a great steakhouse - BLT - is on property too.

Its only 15 minutes from Sky Harbor and ASU, 10 minutes to Old Town Scottsdale and has a phenomenal view of Camelback Mountain.

It's one of the oldest resorts in the Valley and was the first Marriott resort to be built and its still the best today.

Room Tip: Resort View rooms have great views of the gardens, main lawn and Camelback Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service was excellent with all my requests honored expediently. The Sunday brunch held us captive for hours with tasty varieties of breakfast and luncheon selections of fish, meats, vegetables, and rich desserts. We enjoyed the virgin drinks, champagne as well as The Mimosas!

Room Tip: The corner casita with a patio lent itself for a relaxing breakfast out enjoying the wonderfully col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.