We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and nicest staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best service and nicest staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Took my partner here for a spa weekend. This was one of the best experiences we have had at any resort...anywhere! The staff was so genuinely kind and friendly and helpful. Probably the best service we have had at any hotel we have ever stayed at. Even the construction workers were polite and friendly. (it was a apparent that during the off season they were making improvements to rooms near us) They had us in Room 564 near back of resort, close to spa as well as the pool. It was very private and quiet and had beautiful view of camelback mountain and backed up to mummy mountain. The room was spacious and clean. It had a nice patio and every morning rabbits, hummingbirds, and families of quail would come visit. The spa is wonderful as is the spa pool area. The food at this resort was all amazing and, again, excellent service. Rita's has an excellent brunch, and yummy enchiladas and probably one of the best margarita's i have ever tasted. All that and nightly live music, amazing wait staff....what else do you need?! We did the 3.8 mile power walk on Saturday morning with Matt and some other women and it was a pretty and peaceful, and still a bit challenging, walk through some amazing nearby neighborhoods with beautiful views of the valley. Massage therapist Betsy was a miracle worker! Now don't get me wrong...it was hot! We got up early and enjoyed the lower temperatures and cool breezes. Then the spa and poolside in the afternoons. We look forward to going back and perhaps making it a yearly trip!!!

Room Tip: depends on what you want...if you want quiet and private, stay at the back...we preferred near the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    311
    73
    37
    14
See reviews for
233
455
60
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights and the suite was very nice and very clean. The service was excellent and staff was top notch. The breakfast was delicious with variety of fresh fruits. The grounds are very well maintained. If we come back to Scottsdale we would definitaly stay at the Marriott Camelback.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We love everything about this place. The pool is wonderful in the heat and the service in the restaurants and lounges and other staff is always top notch. The rooms are spacious and well kept - they always leave lots of towels which is great in this climate. We love the happy hour - hard to beat this anywhere. The resort is well located in Scottsdale / Paradise Valley to go and see sights or hit the Fashion Mall. I love being able to hike Camelback Mountain or take an early morning walk on Mummy Mtn - you get a great view of the valley from there. I do find the rooms can be a bit dim if you don't have a sliding glass door to open and get some natural light - and make sure to request a room that has a proper verandah that has a little separation from your neighbors. If you can afford the upgrade, I definitely would pay the difference for the suite with your own pool. These are like good size condos with full kitchen and living areas plus your own back yard with a small pool. That is the way to enjoy the sun set!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a sliding glass door to the patio to enhance the light in the room as some main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rooms are comfortable but dim although cleaned daily. $25 per day resort fee wasn't expected as I'd been several times before and this wasn't included previously. The only benefit I got out of this resort fee was a couple of phone calls and wifi in room - which to be honest is mainstream and free of charge in other hotels.

On a lesser scale the laundry detergent was free before and now you have to have quarters to purchase - major pain when you don't have enough. Also our air-con broke but in fairness they had moved us to another room while it was being repaired. When it rained it came in through the ceiling, under the door and the top of the patio door frame plus reception must have been inundated with calls as we couldn't get through to report problems.

The resort is large and very easy to get lost even when walking to/from pool as the signage is very poor. I personally think the property is showing signs of its age but I believe they are upgrading rooms although we obviously were put in an older one. Sadly I wouldn't rush to go back again however the landscape surpasses all expectations and the beauty of Camelback Mountain is exquisite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I took advantage of the resort's summer deal, booking two night at $169 per night, a deal that earned us $200 resort credit. Despite the usual summer construction that one expects during the off-season at any Phoenix resort, the stay was exceptional. Our only disappointment was that the BLT Steakhouse was closed on Sunday when we planned to splurge on our anniversary dinner. Knowing we were celebrating a wedding anniversary, the staff provided us with a complimentary dessert and delivered chocolate covered strawberries to our room, which we enjoyed with a bottle of champagne. Also, a beautiful bell wind-chime was a surprise gift. The room was large and comfortable. We dined twice at Rita's, enjoying a meal of Mexican food one night, and regular entrees of steak and salmon the next. Both were delicious and cost us a lot less than if we had dined at BLT.
Tip: Happy hour at R Bar is a good deal. Many drinks are half price. Pints of good draft beers are only $6. Appetizers are excellent--and cheap.
Regarding a reviewer's comment about an 11 am checkout time being early: We returned from a western trip of Montana, Alberta, and Oregon, staying at lodges and motels. An 11 am checkout is common.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Happy Anniversary and we hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our room was very nice and conveniently situated for the pool, reception and dining facilities. We did not dine within the resort and are unable to comment on the quality. We used the pool which was very clean with ample sunbeds, and my husband used the gym which he said was very good. The resort is very spread out with beautiful gardens. What did spoil our stay, and this is the reason I cannot award the resort as being 'excellent', was that there was a charge of almost $13 daily for internet use which is a total rip off. This was the last hotel on our road trip of several states and this was the only hotel that charged! To add insult to injury, on leaving we were presented with a bill for $85 - a resort tax. Although we had already pre-paid our bill via our holiday company, the receptionist was adamant that we had to pay this. As we were on our way to the airport, we didn't have time to dispute this and our holiday company are now sorting this out for us.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool, reception, dining areas. Otherwise you could have a long walk to facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food is great, if a little pricey. Drinks too but after a few it doesn't hurt so bad. We stayed in a casita that was positioned at the bottom of a deserty slope and we had a monsoon rainstorm as heavy as I've ever seen and water came under the front and back doors. Spent an hour soaking it up with towels and wringing them out in the tub. Other guests had the same problem but we don't blame the resort. They had their hands full with the deluge.
What I do blame them for is that they advertise "high speed internet" when it's as slow as a 2400 baud modem from 20 years ago. All hotels and resorts do that now and I think all of us travelers should withhold $20.00 from our bills until they actually provide the "high speed" that they advertise. Anybody with me?

Room Tip: During monsoon season request a casita that's not at the bottom of a wash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We’re sincerely sorry to hear about your monsoon experience. The resort is currently undergoing a fiber optic project improving our Wi-Fi connectivity. We hope you will join us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.