We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
Langley BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Short getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My girlfriends and I booked this hotel for a short (4 night) girls getaway. The property was beautiful. The service was pretty good with a few blips. Our room was not cleaned till late in the afternoon- in some instances we came in to get ready for dinner and it was still not cleaned. Then there was the issue of the patio chairs. Each room has 2 chairs we had 3 people and needed 3 chairs so we called the front desk and got one. The next day it was gone. And so it went every day. The kicker was on one of the days my bathing suit was hanging over the chair- think they might have noticed it as they moved the chair? Apparently not. Long story short as I paid over 200$ for the bathing suit I called the front desk explained the whole story regarding our chairs they magically found it. It was returned to our patio along with the 3rd chair and no explanation. Weird and not what I would have expected from a resort hotel of this caliber. The food and service in the restaurant and by the pool was really good. The rooms were relatively clean although the same pile of dust was in the corner the whole stay. Food and drinks were excellent. I would definitely go back and recommend staying. Oh yeah one last thing the last day the hotel gave us directions to the airport- but they neglected to ask which airport and apparently there are 3. Coming from Vancouver BC we would not think to mention which airport- long story short we were sent to the wrong airport!!! Barely made it to the right one....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    784
    274
    64
    32
    12
See reviews for
201
407
54
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our family of 3 (including a 6-month old) just returned from 5 nights at the Camelback Inn. This was the perfect location for our family -- family friendly but not at all overrun with kids. The pool area was nice and peaceful while still being great for our little guy. Loved the little "extras" - staff walking around with fresh pineapple, cran-orange ice cubes, plenty of flavored ice water available around the pool! The grounds were beatifully kept and were great for walks around the site. We loved the little "pitch n putt" and putting green on the grounds, as well as the fitness center. The staff that we interacted with whether in the restaurants, room service delivery, grounds workers, or at the pool were so friendly and polite. The room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The only thing I might criticize is that the bathroom/shower area was rather small. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Runner Girl. Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We understand your bathroom critique, which is why we have just started a complete room bathroom renovation that will be done in October of this year. We hope you are able to come back and check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Paradise Valley gem! A very quiet and sophisticated large property. There is a lovely public outdoor space which the restaurant and bar and Starbucks surround. There are lush flowers, green grass as well as fire puts and twinkle lights in the evenings. Just lovely! The spa was fantastic and the pool was nice. Maybe a little bit dated? The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Our bathroom was surprisingly dated. Laminate vanity and corian counters? We got a second floor room with a huge (probably about 600 sf) patio. The view was to dye for. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Leadership, Manager at JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We hear your concerns about the bathrooms and are currently undergoing a complete room bathroom remodel that will be done in October of this year. We hope you can come back to check it out in the fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great hotel if you want to take advantage of local activities and just go back to your room OR for business meetings. Not a place where you find big pools to lounge by. Sprouts cafe has very healthy food, the steak house was very good, Mummy Mountain proved to be a fun BBQ nite out for a company event. The staff is amazing, they provide personal service and are proactive about anything they can do to make your stay great.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 146, it is on the corner of two busy roads on the property. Anywhere else see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at this resort (May9-14). The service is outstanding and the grounds are beautiful. The ammenities are top notch. Every evening there is live musical entertainment which is such a pleasure to listen too. The resort is minutes from Camelback which is a great hike. Mummy mountain is literally on the property and there is a short little trail around the base. The spa is incredible. One could easily spend the entire vacation at the spa. Although I did not receive spa treatments, the ammenities are unbelievable.
The food is excellent.The rooms are large and very comfortable. The resort is on a huge piece of land. I think the only weak spot would be that the curtains were slightly tattered and torn and the outside table and chairs should be part of the daily housekeeping service.
This hotel is 5 star and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I was in the 500 block of rooms which was centrally located, convenient and quiet. It appears that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is one of the best resorts that I have ever stayed at. The staff made you feel at home from the moment we arrived. Our 1st room had a malfunctioning airconditioner and they took care of it and put us in an amazing room upgrade asap. We stayed for 5days =rooms were clean & spotless, great patio, fantastic view. The staff in Ritas restaurant that is in the resort were fantastic & the food was excellent everytime. Thank you Clementine, Simonea, Myra, Suzie, Dennis and Anna ..people that work as hard and as friendly as you at Ritas all are rare nowadays. Gave us great advice of what to see and do. You all make the resort a 5 star. Can't say the same about the BLT restaurant there overpriced and lousy service..they need to shape up. The grounds on the resort are wonderful and make it a pleasure to get up early for the starbuck coffee that is available on the grounds. We also really enjoyed the live music in the evening while eating our delicious dinner. We all will come back it was our first time there . It was a real pleasure to be a guest in this resort.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Phoenix and although this was a little way out it was a very good choice. It is a beautiful hotel in large extensive grounds, we had to drive from reception to our room which was well equipped and had a patio on to the gardens.
It has excellent dining facilities and high standards overall. Unfortunately we arrived late and left early so were unable to experience everything which was on offer. As I said to the staff out only complaint was that we couldn't have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were a drive or longish walk away from the Lobby so it was very quiet. It might not be so nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.