We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but very big” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice but very big”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a beautiful property to be sure but it is very large, somewhat expensive and probably not for everybody. The pool areas, golf, outdoor patios and grounds are to die for. The food is excellent but quite expensive. I tend to prefer slightly smaller properties but this place really does have everything you want in a top notch desert resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    296
    67
    34
    13
See reviews for
220
433
58
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been putting this review off for a couple of months because I was not quite sure how to express my dissatisfaction with a property that I once considered a top of the line resort. While I am sure that others, even during my stay, had a great experience I was less than impressed. The front desk staff was either new or poorly trained and unsure of operational procedures. Our casita was, at one time, awesome - today...not so much. Others have commented on the need for upgrades and I agree. Attention to detail was lacking everywhere except for the poolside service. These servers were quick and efficient. The service at Rita's was slow and, well just not at the level you would expect for a resort property. I heard complaints from other guests as well. An incident with a server that appeared "under the influence" during dinner with invited guests from the area left us bewildered. This was reported the next morning to the front desk and we were assured that the manager would wish to speak with us - never called. Just one more detail not dealt followed up with. As a Marriott Rewards member I was saddened to see the decline in this resort. I attend a conference there annually but will stay at another resort next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the staff is very friendly. The place looks a little worn and needs some updating but it is very clean. The landscaping is beautiful and the restaurant Rita was good. The spa area is nice but they were updating the women's area so I was not able to use the sauna or whirlpool. I would go back because of the friendly staff and privacy of the casitas.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wow, what an experence. We went for New Years get away and loved it. (Already booked to go back next year) Staff, people, service and location is great. No need to leave. Spa is fabulous. And for the level of services the cost was unexpectedly great. This could be the start of yearly adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Returned to the Camelback Inn after many years and found that this storied hotel has been eclipsed by many other hotels/resorts in Arizona. That's why this hotel isn't even on the 5 or 4-start Forbes (the successor to Mobil Travel Guide) list. I'm frankly surprised they've managed to keep their 5 Diamonds from AAA, since it really isn't in the same league with other properties.

Let's start with the good: (1) still a truly magnificant setting, fabulous landscape and centrallly located in Scottsdale; (2) good dining options on the property (a branch of BLT Steak and Rita's hotel restaurant is quite good); and (3) a very friendly and well-trained staff and management.

The bad: The entire place has a tired and dated decor - our casita must have looked fresh in 1980. The bathrooms in most casitas are tiny and not even close to what you'd find in a modern Courtyard hotel! Noisy, inefficient heating/AC in each room. The amenities (soaps, etc.) are fine but indistinguishable from a nice Hyatt -- not really important but indicative of management's approach. The whole place needs a massive capital infusion and extensive remodeling if they want to even begin to compete with the nearby Santuary or other top hotels. (Don't get me wrong, they can still keep some of the 1930's original charm....but a lot needs major updating.)

The spa is beautiful but lacks an indoor pool and there's an extra $35/day spa charge ON TOP OF THE MANDATORY $25/day "resort fee". The resort fee is just plain irritating and I think they'd be better off increasing their stated rates than having so many guests be annoyed by a fee payable regardless of whether you rent a bike or use the internet.....really makes them look cheap.

So in short, if you get a great deal on rates, this is an OK place to stay in Scottsdale and you can have a lovely time. But if you are looking for a real luxury experience and want to feel like you are in world-class place, you have a lot better other resort options close by, which don't cost all that much more and are a much better value.

Room Tip: ask for one of the modern casitas with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First time at the Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, beautiful place to enjoy a relaxing weekend. My husband and I have two kids with no family around us so it is not often we get a chance to get away for the weekend. We stayed there for my 40th birthday and the room was so nice better than I expected it to be and the restaurant Rita Kitchen food was fabulous. Although it was just my husnband and I for the weekend I would definitely go back with the kids as they are kid friendly. The views are beautiful with the surrounding mountains and tranquility. My husband and I live in Phoenix and are looking forward to our next stay there. We are also think ing that we might even renew our wedding vows there as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Each room is a Casita where you feel like it is your own condo, most wonderfully landscaping I have seen; remniscent of the Desert Botanical Garden. Staff engineer was quick and finished the job precisely when called (TV didnt work properly). House keeping needs to check the sheets for stains...we had several. Restaurants, gym and pool were top notch. Highly recommend this place for anyone; couples with kids, romantic weekends, golfers, spa addicts...anyone.

Room Tip: All locations were primo, the more expensive rooms have their own person pools which is an added plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.