We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Once A Real Gem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Was Once A Real Gem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Returned to the Camelback Inn after many years and found that this storied hotel has been eclipsed by many other hotels/resorts in Arizona. That's why this hotel isn't even on the 5 or 4-start Forbes (the successor to Mobil Travel Guide) list. I'm frankly surprised they've managed to keep their 5 Diamonds from AAA, since it really isn't in the same league with other properties.

Let's start with the good: (1) still a truly magnificant setting, fabulous landscape and centrallly located in Scottsdale; (2) good dining options on the property (a branch of BLT Steak and Rita's hotel restaurant is quite good); and (3) a very friendly and well-trained staff and management.

The bad: The entire place has a tired and dated decor - our casita must have looked fresh in 1980. The bathrooms in most casitas are tiny and not even close to what you'd find in a modern Courtyard hotel! Noisy, inefficient heating/AC in each room. The amenities (soaps, etc.) are fine but indistinguishable from a nice Hyatt -- not really important but indicative of management's approach. The whole place needs a massive capital infusion and extensive remodeling if they want to even begin to compete with the nearby Santuary or other top hotels. (Don't get me wrong, they can still keep some of the 1930's original charm....but a lot needs major updating.)

The spa is beautiful but lacks an indoor pool and there's an extra $35/day spa charge ON TOP OF THE MANDATORY $25/day "resort fee". The resort fee is just plain irritating and I think they'd be better off increasing their stated rates than having so many guests be annoyed by a fee payable regardless of whether you rent a bike or use the internet.....really makes them look cheap.

So in short, if you get a great deal on rates, this is an OK place to stay in Scottsdale and you can have a lovely time. But if you are looking for a real luxury experience and want to feel like you are in world-class place, you have a lot better other resort options close by, which don't cost all that much more and are a much better value.

Room Tip: ask for one of the modern casitas with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    284
    65
    33
    12
See reviews for
210
420
57
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First time at the Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, beautiful place to enjoy a relaxing weekend. My husband and I have two kids with no family around us so it is not often we get a chance to get away for the weekend. We stayed there for my 40th birthday and the room was so nice better than I expected it to be and the restaurant Rita Kitchen food was fabulous. Although it was just my husnband and I for the weekend I would definitely go back with the kids as they are kid friendly. The views are beautiful with the surrounding mountains and tranquility. My husband and I live in Phoenix and are looking forward to our next stay there. We are also think ing that we might even renew our wedding vows there as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Each room is a Casita where you feel like it is your own condo, most wonderfully landscaping I have seen; remniscent of the Desert Botanical Garden. Staff engineer was quick and finished the job precisely when called (TV didnt work properly). House keeping needs to check the sheets for stains...we had several. Restaurants, gym and pool were top notch. Highly recommend this place for anyone; couples with kids, romantic weekends, golfers, spa addicts...anyone.

Room Tip: All locations were primo, the more expensive rooms have their own person pools which is an added plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed at the JW Camelback over Christmas vacation. Just driving in and seeing all of the lights and the snowflakes shining from the trees was the best indication that the resort was going to be magical...and it was. The grounds are amazing, mixing cactus with lovely flowers and interesting trees, and its a fun and easy walk through the paths to get anywhere on the property. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with its own living room, pool and kitchen which was perfect for a napping baby, parents and other family. The casitas are also spacious and nicely done. Loved the Starbucks on site and found the Rbar fun and Rita's kitchen totally family friendly. The area behind the restaurant is huge and offers comfy furniture, fire pits and heat lamps;its really a beautiful place to relax. Spa is tranquil and top notch with its own healthy restaurant and pool. The staff is warm and friendly...can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family has stayed at this resort several times over the past 10 years and have enjoyed it every time! The location is great, the casitas lovely, and the food is delicious! We especially enjoy spending time at the newly renovated spa.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I can see why this is Mr Marriott's favorite. In the middle of everything and nothing at the same time. I love my yearly visits there. Kindest service impeccably maintained grounds. Everything and nothing to do the choice is yours. This and Marriott and the Ka'anapali Ocean Club are my two favorite Marriott's in the world.

Room Tip: Take the time to spend the day at the spa I could live there. I leave with a renewed sense of self e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The service is tops . The roon is very large and clean and very quiet. This is a very good place to go and relax you can sit by the fire pits out back and enjoy. You can go play golf or go bike riding.. We ate at Ritas the food was great and the service too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.