We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couple Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First time at the Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, beautiful place to enjoy a relaxing weekend. My husband and I have two kids with no family around us so it is not often we get a chance to get away for the weekend. We stayed there for my 40th birthday and the room was so nice better than I expected it to be and the restaurant Rita Kitchen food was fabulous. Although it was just my husnband and I for the weekend I would definitely go back with the kids as they are kid friendly. The views are beautiful with the surrounding mountains and tranquility. My husband and I live in Phoenix and are looking forward to our next stay there. We are also think ing that we might even renew our wedding vows there as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    336
    81
    43
    15
See reviews for
255
492
65
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Each room is a Casita where you feel like it is your own condo, most wonderfully landscaping I have seen; remniscent of the Desert Botanical Garden. Staff engineer was quick and finished the job precisely when called (TV didnt work properly). House keeping needs to check the sheets for stains...we had several. Restaurants, gym and pool were top notch. Highly recommend this place for anyone; couples with kids, romantic weekends, golfers, spa addicts...anyone.

Room Tip: All locations were primo, the more expensive rooms have their own person pools which is an added plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed at the JW Camelback over Christmas vacation. Just driving in and seeing all of the lights and the snowflakes shining from the trees was the best indication that the resort was going to be magical...and it was. The grounds are amazing, mixing cactus with lovely flowers and interesting trees, and its a fun and easy walk through the paths to get anywhere on the property. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with its own living room, pool and kitchen which was perfect for a napping baby, parents and other family. The casitas are also spacious and nicely done. Loved the Starbucks on site and found the Rbar fun and Rita's kitchen totally family friendly. The area behind the restaurant is huge and offers comfy furniture, fire pits and heat lamps;its really a beautiful place to relax. Spa is tranquil and top notch with its own healthy restaurant and pool. The staff is warm and friendly...can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed at this resort several times over the past 10 years and have enjoyed it every time! The location is great, the casitas lovely, and the food is delicious! We especially enjoy spending time at the newly renovated spa.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I can see why this is Mr Marriott's favorite. In the middle of everything and nothing at the same time. I love my yearly visits there. Kindest service impeccably maintained grounds. Everything and nothing to do the choice is yours. This and Marriott and the Ka'anapali Ocean Club are my two favorite Marriott's in the world.

Room Tip: Take the time to spend the day at the spa I could live there. I leave with a renewed sense of self e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The service is tops . The roon is very large and clean and very quiet. This is a very good place to go and relax you can sit by the fire pits out back and enjoy. You can go play golf or go bike riding.. We ate at Ritas the food was great and the service too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here last Christmas week for 4 nights. It is a very pretty resort with lot's to do. The pool area was nice but I kind of felt like it was a maze and difficult to get around..hard to explain but that did annoy me. The grounds are pretty and the Spa was very nice..my daughter had a pedicure. I liked the location of the resort, as well. It is located about 20 minutes from the airport..and across the street from many restaurants and shops. We ate at a mexican restaurant across the street..can't remember the name...we had 5 people..2 adults 3 kids 14, 12 and 11 and the bill was under $100..with a few beers :) So it is MUCH cheaper then eating at the resort and walkable. We ate at Roys in the hotel and loved it..very yummy...but pricy..that bill was over $200. I loved the gift shops in the resort tons of cute souvenirs. Starbucks inside the resort is always on top of my husbands list! The rooms were large and very clean! The golf looked great but my husband didn't have time to play. Would recommend this resort! I didn't give it 5 stars only because of the pool area but that's not a big deal! Have fun!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 4 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#13 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.