We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As The First Time...A Classic In The Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
684 helpful votes 684 helpful votes
“As Good As The First Time...A Classic In The Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here several years ago. We went back for pre-dinner cocktails in their cozy bar/lounge.

There is outdoor seating with heaters/firepit if you prefer that. The entire Inn is Southwest Country in design...a really nice feel to it. It just makes you want to stay.

They have a great Happy Hour with discounted drinks/food. Drinks were VERY good and reasonable for the atmopshere. Fireplaces were on and romance was in the air :)

Next time we go to Scottsdale, we will return here. All good. 5 STARS.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    290
    67
    33
    12
See reviews for
214
426
57
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple Hills, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent service, delightful meals however, outside of Vegas, I'm not big on "theme" hotels. The idea of cottages is great however, however the southwest motif did not impress this east coast girl. I did notice a glass sitting outside of my room upon checking-in. That same glass remained outside my room throughout the three days I stayed at the establishment; made me question the cleanliness of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We really like this place. It doesn't hurt that the weather is perfect. Breakfast out on the terrace is great, and the buffet includes the most beautiful berries I have ever seen. The grounds are well cared for and lovely. And a cocktail on the terrace with music is a perfect start before dinner. And in the evening, just after sunset, the bunnies come out, enchanting any children around, and the adults too.

We are enjoying the pool - nicely laid out, great service, not too crowded. They have floats that you can use in the pool - very nice in the heat. And they came around with complementary frozen grapes to relieve the heat.

Our room is large, with a king sized bed, two closets, a small kitchen, couch, chair with ottoman, and a lovely patio. We had one small problem with our room - outside light wouldn't come on, and they fixed it in seconds.

It is Thanksgiving week, and we were given an activity book, with a day by day schedule of things - managers reception, cooking class, tour of the grounds, things for kids to do. Tomorrow I try the power walk at 7AM, to work off the calories that I will replace with Thanksgiving dinner. The spa is lovely, with lots of services. There is also a fitness room that is well equipped, both with treadmills and climbers, as well as therapy balls, weights, mats, and weight machines.

Parking is ample, and near your casita, regardless of where you are on the vast grounds. I expect we will come back again, and bring the whole family next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Mtn, NC, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When in Phoenix area, take time to visit the camelback mtn area and if you are staying over, make plans to stay at the Marriott Camelback Inn in Scottsdale! It is a fantastic place in the desert, with individual cottages, large cacti in your yard by your porch. Very fine dining options, pool is well layed out with food options and the spa is one of the best. Also take time to hike up the trail on site to see some of the native desert plants. Different and beautiful in their own way.
One afternoon between pool time and dinner, we were dressing in room and at 4 pm the sky darkened and sand blew all over. Afterwards a nice shower washed everything off and it was pleasant walk to dinner. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The higher up the mountain the better the view and closer to spa. Ours was between the pool and main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The room is located literally next door to the bar and the entertainment. Who is the Einstein who designed this? Spacious rooms with a poorly planned bathroom, you have to lean over the toilet to turn on the shower. Food is good. Really mixed review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the first time I've stayed at this resort, and it did not disappoint. From the moment we checked in, the service was first rate and everyone did their jobs well and did their best to make our short stay nice. We were rushing to get to a tee time at one of their courses, and they held our bags, got us quickly on a shuttle to the course and we had just enough time to make it happen. Once we made our way back to the property, we were upgraded to a "sun deck casita" at the back of the resort. The room was fairly standard, more like a Marriott instead of a JW Marriott, but it was nice enough. The sun deck was enormous, and offered an amazing view of Camelback Mountain. We had dinner at Rita's on campus, and it was good food and good service. We then made our way to one of the very large fire pits and enjoyed some wine by the fire and chatted with other guests. The common area behind the restaurants and lobby were beautiful and it was obvious that the resort had recently completed an extensive renovation. The breakfast buffet was extensive and was done very well. Overall, I would highly recommend this property for a business conference getaway, a romantic getaway or a family vacation. There is a tennis center, spa, fitness center and pools and hot tubs as well. If you are considering Scottsdale for any reason, you would do well to put this resort on your short list.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 578, which was a second floor "sun deck casita" in very rear of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Camelback in June while in Phoenix for business. Ive stayed at many other hotels and resorts in the area and this one is one of the best. I like that it has more of a desert resort feel than a hotel feel. The buildings are low adobe style structures that ramble throughout the large property. Many rooms have little sitting patios with chairs so you can hang out in the morning or evening and enjoy the views. The pool area is terrific and the views of the mountians are incredible. I like the great restaurant lounge and large outdoor sitting area...at night it is a fantastic scene. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any business travelers...rooms, service, amenities are all top notch. Im sure it would make a good centrally located place for families as well although like many marriots, it doesnt have a "kids resort" feel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.