We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room next to the bar...bring your earplugs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Room next to the bar...bring your earplugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The room is located literally next door to the bar and the entertainment. Who is the Einstein who designed this? Spacious rooms with a poorly planned bathroom, you have to lean over the toilet to turn on the shower. Food is good. Really mixed review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    283
    65
    32
    12
See reviews for
209
411
56
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the first time I've stayed at this resort, and it did not disappoint. From the moment we checked in, the service was first rate and everyone did their jobs well and did their best to make our short stay nice. We were rushing to get to a tee time at one of their courses, and they held our bags, got us quickly on a shuttle to the course and we had just enough time to make it happen. Once we made our way back to the property, we were upgraded to a "sun deck casita" at the back of the resort. The room was fairly standard, more like a Marriott instead of a JW Marriott, but it was nice enough. The sun deck was enormous, and offered an amazing view of Camelback Mountain. We had dinner at Rita's on campus, and it was good food and good service. We then made our way to one of the very large fire pits and enjoyed some wine by the fire and chatted with other guests. The common area behind the restaurants and lobby were beautiful and it was obvious that the resort had recently completed an extensive renovation. The breakfast buffet was extensive and was done very well. Overall, I would highly recommend this property for a business conference getaway, a romantic getaway or a family vacation. There is a tennis center, spa, fitness center and pools and hot tubs as well. If you are considering Scottsdale for any reason, you would do well to put this resort on your short list.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 578, which was a second floor "sun deck casita" in very rear of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Camelback in June while in Phoenix for business. Ive stayed at many other hotels and resorts in the area and this one is one of the best. I like that it has more of a desert resort feel than a hotel feel. The buildings are low adobe style structures that ramble throughout the large property. Many rooms have little sitting patios with chairs so you can hang out in the morning or evening and enjoy the views. The pool area is terrific and the views of the mountians are incredible. I like the great restaurant lounge and large outdoor sitting area...at night it is a fantastic scene. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any business travelers...rooms, service, amenities are all top notch. Im sure it would make a good centrally located place for families as well although like many marriots, it doesnt have a "kids resort" feel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wonderful stay for a company business conference for 3 days. It was hot but got cool at night. Beautiful grounds. Rooms are southwestern designed, 5 star all the way, Nice and large with a little kitchenette - microwave and frig. Nice outside sitting table/chairs. Bed was soon comfy. I slept like a baby each night. Very quiet. Great pillows. The bathroom is nice with a his and her area and vanity drawers, large makeup mirror. Bath products were really nice. Staff were wonderful and went out of their way for my requests. We had a private event at the back of the resort at Mummy Mountain. Loved it. I will be back here for a personal trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The property has not changed much in the years since we were first there. Yes there has been upkeep changes to keep the site nice. The furniture and bath areas could use someupdating. It is not an over the top destination. It is simple and elegant, and service is attentive and unobtrusive the way at least we like it. All of the employees had a smile on and helped us as needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville, il
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonderful girls getaway weekend. Beautiful property. Rooms and bathrooms need updating, but we were never there so it wasn't an issue used spa to get ready and shower. Superb service. Appreciated full service Starbucks on property. Very nice spa, breathtaking views of Camelback Mountain from spa pool. Bikes available, used them to get to the hiking trail. Very close to Old Towne Scottsdale. Wonderful patio with fireplaces and live music. Absolute paradise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can't believe they have been allowed to rest on their past, but it's past time that AAA has given the 5 star ratings all these years. The rooms are worse than maybe a motel 6. I doubt whether the bathrooms have been touched in 30 years and the furniture isn't much better. Yes, they spent a fortune to make a fortune on Convention businesss with all kinds of new ballrooms or meeting rooms and turned their back on those that had to stay at this depressing resort. Yes, the SPA is about as good as it gets, the grounds are magnificent and the setting is dramatic. Some of the restaurants are great, but some are just average. I wouldn't stay there again until they updated their hotel rooms.

Room Tip: I wish I could.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.