We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy-Shamcy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Nightly Credit
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
604 helpful votes 604 helpful votes
“Fancy-Shamcy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We loved it here. Spent a glorious week in one the casitas. Pulling up to the resort is lovely & made us feel special. Front desk staff was professional and HAPPY. Where do you see that anymore?

Fabulous private room(casita) which is free-standing and not connected to any other "room" or people :) Adobe walls, super high, vaulted ceilings, HUGE bathroom, private sunning terrace, charming linens, etc. We were in heaven.

Pool complex is fab...we were there EVERY day, soaking up that glorious desert sun. Tasty cocktails too :) Lunch was very good...they knew us by weeks' end.

Breakfast was good, though not great. Dining room was nice...service was just ok.

Lobby bar was TERRIFIC...we could have parked ourselves there for the entire time :) It had such a nice cozy, inviting feeling to it. Bartender was cordial and the drinks were very good. A++. We did not take any tours from the concierge, as we had a car. It's in a very nice location of Scottsdale...alone, but yet very close. We would gladly return.







.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    788
    279
    65
    32
    12
See reviews for
205
408
55
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The property of hotel is stunning...one of the finest I have ever seen. The area outside the main bar makes this hotel worth visiting. The staff is perfect in every way. The rooms are great but still have the old TVs in typical motel cabinets.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

For the last 10 years we have stayed at the "Camelback Inn" through out the year. This year we stayed just before Christmas. The grounds outside, and leading up the the reception area were just beautifully decorated. We had a nice Casita on the ground level near the Main building. We overlooked the lawn and pool area. Parking was just outside our room. Everything was perfect!! The Kids love the pool area and i Loved just sitting and watching the beautiful Arizona Sunset's! What I love the most about this Hotel ... is that you feel like your in the middle of nowhere! You are looking out at "Camelback Mountain and at the base of "Mummy Mountain". At night after dinner we would go to the Main lobby and sit by the tree and listen to the live music in the bar area and then go out front and walk around and look at the Christmas lights and sit by the outdoor fire. a Perfect way to get into the Holiday's.

Room Tip: Choose a room across the Main Lobby & Restaurant area. You have the large lawn in front of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here a few times in 2011. Consistent good service. Rooms clean. Starbucks on location is great. Staff was very welcoming... Front desk, rita's, concierge. Helpful with suggesting activities and restaurants. Recommend to new visitors to Scottsdale, solo or couples. Beautiful views of camelback mountain and small putting golf area onsite. Great experiences!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed at the Camelback December 29-31, 2011 while in town for the Insight Bowl (Sun Devil Stadium) with a small group. This property is extremely well maintained and the service is excellent.

Coming into town we took a cab from the airport to the resort. The ride is about 20 minutes and costs about $30 without tip. Going to and from the football game we also took a cab and it was also about $30. I don't think the resort offes their own shuttle service. Renting a car may have been similar in cost overall but we planned on enjoying some adult beverages before and at the game, so we did not want to drive. Be sure to call for a cab 15 minutes before you need it and you should be OK. The concierge can give you the number or call for you. There are no cabs just driving by. If you have a large group you can rent a Suburban for about $70 one way.

Check in was smooth and uneventful, as it should be. The property is spread out and covers a lot of ground, and we got a great overview and map of the grounds. We ate at Rita's immediately after check in, before going to the room, and the bell staff was happy to hold our bags.

Rita's is great for casual dining, with a central location and indoor/outdoor seating options. We ate here three times during our short stay. We were never bored with the food, as there are plenty of options. The guacamole, salsa, and chips were excellent and somehow filled us up for hours and hours. Because we liked Rita's so much and were busy with the game, we did not eat at BLT Steak, the fine dining spot at the resort. Maybe next time. We did eat at Rita's for breakfast. We had the buffet mostly, which had plenty of great options, healthy and otherwise. We also tried the huevos rancheros (a specialty), the pancakes, and the eggs benedict. All were very good.

After that first meal we grabbed our bags and were driven in a golf cart to our rooms while getting a quick tour of the amenities. On the way to the room we passed the swimming pool, fitness room, and spa. Unfortunately on this trip we did not use the spa. One of the ladies wanted a pedicure but had not booked in advance and there were no openings for the day. I did utilize the fitness room. Can't really call it a fitness center, it was just one small room with maybe a couple treadmills, a couple stationary bikes, a stairstepper, one rack of dumbells (up to 50 pounds), and one multi-station pulley weight machine. No barbells or smith machine. Water, towels, and headphones for the cardio machines were provided. We did not use the pool but it looked like a very large area with a lot of seating and even more casual dining.

As far as the rooms, we found them to be spacious and well maintained. This is a resort with some serious history, dating back to the 1930's. There has been renovation, but where it provides character some of the original fabric of the place has been left intact. We found it interesting and made us think back to older times. See the photos I took for a good look at the room. It had a refrigerator in addition to the cold drinks and snacks in the mini bar. At first I though the bathroom was quite small until I realized there was a second separate sink area so two people could get ready at once. All in all the room was finished in a tasteful southwest theme with high quality linens and furnishings. We found it to be clean and comfortable. Interestingly we did not get maid service after the first night but we chalked it up to leaving the "privacy please" door hanger up until we left for the game in the early afternoon. Surely they would have straightened up had we remembered to ask on our way out to the game. The room also had a back entrance out to the patio and nicely landscaped area and even some local wildlife.

Speaking of landscaping, I found the grounds to be very well maintained, with diverse desert plants, manicured lawn areas, dry creek beds, and even a few water features. I enjoyed getting up early and wandering around to explore it all. I also enjoyed the sculptures scattered around the property, typically native american scenes. Having the mountains as the backdrop was just icing on the cake. See photos - it was beautiful.

A couple other observations. We appreciated the Starbucks on site. We enjoyed sitting around any number of the multiple fire pits during our stay. Very cozy. I believe it helped that the property was not very busy when we were there, we just felt very comfortable and relaxed. Overall great stay. We plan to go back if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: At Rita's, do not take an outside table under the tree where all the birds hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend almost a week here between Christmas and New Year. The weather fully cooperated so that the temperature was above normal, with highs in the 70's and the sky was the usual Arizona brilliant blue. The resort itself was outstanding.

The rooms are oversized casitas with a small refrigerator and microwave, perfect for snacks or dinner leftovers. The grounds are impressive with easy views of Camelback Mountain. Hiking and biking trails are plentiful and bikes are available on-site. There are fire-pits, heaters and comfortable furniture in abundance in all the main terrace areas front and back, and also in several other locations. The lobby is large and well-appointed.

We ate at Rita's Kitchen and the food was better than average quality and value. But what we enjoyed most was reduced-price appetizers and drinks in the lounge and on the terrace during cocktail hour. It's easy to make a meal out of the appetizers. A little later music is in the lounge.

The spa was top-end, and the service from front-desk, staff, and management was perfect. We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just came back from 3 day stay with 2 families (we both have older teens). Hotel staff could not have been nicer. The grounds are just amazing and make you feel relaxed just by wlking to the lobby. Had great lunches and drinks at the pool and had breakfast in rita's kitchen whihc was expensive but food was very good. Went to the starbucks which opended at 6 am and enjoyed my coffee at the outdoor fireplace watching the sun rise.

Had a girl's day at the spa- what a nice treat. Enjoyed the pool area there which was very quiet and serene.

Rooms have good space but bathrooms and outer sink area in need of a renovation (tubs and tile) but you could not beat this hotel forall around r & R.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa

Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Marriott, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.