We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, aloof service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
5700 East McDonald Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
+1 480-607-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tatum
Description: Celebrate farm-fresh American cuisine at elements, one of the best restaurants in Paradise Valley. Sanctuary touts the evolution of a favorite Scottsdale restaurant that offers a distinctive experience for AZ luxury dining. Discover the cutting-edge kitchen of Food Network celebrity and Executive Chef Beau MacMillan, where the best local organic produce is used to create seasonal menus. With the expansion of elements restaurant, enjoy distinctive venues for luxurious Scottsdale dining, including the private chef's table, XII, where you will witness the kitchen activity firsthand...And Praying Monk, for indoor/outdoor events overlooking the beauty of Camelback Mountain. With spectacular scenery and unique settings, jade bar and edge are the perfect places to sip and savor fresh cocktails on inviting outdoor patios at sunset.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, aloof service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was at Elements Restaurant at Sanctuary Resort on March 6, 2013. The view and decor of the restaurant are superb. The food was fabulous. The service was sub par for the exclusive price that diners are paying. We had a 7:45 dinner reservation. We were seated at 8:30 - after we went up to inquire why we had waited for 45 minutes. They did give us a round of drinks for waiting which we appreciated. The restaurant was busy, maybe busier than they anticipated for a Wednesday night. While the service was prompt with bus boys and expeditors delivering food and filling water. Our main waiter was aloof and acted as though we had shown up at his home unannounced demanding a four course meal. His unwelcoming behavior and sarcasm wasn't what I expect at "one of the nicest restaurants in Scottsdale". There is a lot of competition in Scottsdale, people expect superb service with their superb meal and the price you pay to have this experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre N, F&B Director at Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests, and I sincerely apologize if that was not your experience. We hope you will return for the ambiance and give us a chance to show you the fantastic service we are known for.
Andre Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    246
    71
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food at this place is amazing, but there is something about the place that just seems dull. It is hard to explain but it just does not have a buzz to it. Possibly it was because they had two events going on when we there and it seemed like we were in the way almost.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre N, F&B Director at Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not feel comfortable and that we did not exceed your expectations, which is what we strive for with every guest. We hope you will return to give us a chance to offer the elements experience you deserve.
Andre Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phx, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Jade Bar at Elements.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are visiting the Valley of the Sun, you should put this on your list of not to miss. Go for Happy Hour and enjoy the Spectacular Views. Great $6 menu during happy hour with plenty of Martini choices. We loved the home made potato chips.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre N, F&B Director at Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review and I am glad to hear you had a wonderful experience. Please join us again.
Andre Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not as expected and didn't live up to the hype whatsoever. Very sad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Bar: great drinks and good atmosphere but $15 for even craft cocktail is pricey.
Dinner: appetizer of crab was bland and over priced for the lack of taste and complexity .
Soup was an asian spin on the lobster bisque and it saved the evening. My scallops were the absolute worst I've ever had. Overcooked and tasteless and no sauce. Horrible. My friend's filet came out medium well and was ordered med rare.
Very sad that the place to see and "be seen" had such lousy food. The folks with money must just have poor taste in food quality. Our table of 4 are very versed in fine dining and also work in the industry. Not impressed.
There are plenty of better places in the greater Phoenix area. Don't waste money here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre N, F&B Director at Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment and that you were not satisfied with your dining experience. We take all feedback very seriously and I will look into this situation to prevent it in the future. Please come back and join us and ask for me personally, so that I may oversee your dining experience.
Andre Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good kitchen marred by uneven service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've had dinner three times and overall, I've found it to be a reliably good restaurant. If you include sunset in your plans the valley views are wonderful. The chef is an Iron Chef winner and the menu provides some creative twists on favourite dishes. Notably, the sea bass is excellent and they have a good selection of fresh oysters. It's a comfortable room with great lighting and a nice, busy ambience. On the negative side, the service is not consistent. On two of the three occasions I have received very good service - friendly and casual but proficient. The menu is creative and the food is very well prepared. Notable items have to include the sea bass and the selection of fresh oysters was extremely good. On two occasions we had excellent service - friendly, casual yet proficient. Our service was abysmal on the other evening. Our waiter brought our white wine during appetizers, as ordered, poured it once before the entrees arrived...and then we finished the rest of our meal and the bottle of wine without seeing our waiter again! Our booth was raised up a step from the main floor level where our ice bucket stand was and we had to get up and retrieve the bottle. Our entrees were long finished before he showed up again. I have never had such a poor level of service anywhere given the price level of Elements. In fact it was sub-standard for any level of table service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre N, F&B Director at Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests, and I sincerely apologize if that was not your experience. We hope you will return for the ambiance and give us a chance to show you the fantastic service we are known for.
Andre Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain also viewed

Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.