We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary is just that!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Camelback Mountain to your Saves list
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights - Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Sanctuary is just that!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Sanctuary is one of our favorite places on earth! A truly wonderful place to go for relaxation. Our mountain casita suite was fabulous, the infinity pool is wonderful, and the grounds exquisite. The view of Camelback Mountain can't be beat. And the view from the top of the mountain was amazing after our early morning trek to the top. The concierge was very helpful in suggesting activities in the area to do. There are many wonderful restaurants nearby as well.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain casitas. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are honored to be one of your favorite places on earth. We are delighted that you had a fantastic visit all around. We agree completely that Sanctuary is the perfect place if you are looking for a truly relaxing getaway. Glad you were able to hike Camelback during your stay, it is definitely worth doing at least once. We have an amazing concierge team and are very glad you were able to take advantage of their knowledge of the area. Thank you for choosing Sanctuary and we really hope to see you again next time you make it out to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    131
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
78
447
41
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

All the rooms are half of a cute little cottage! It's like a group of little cottages rather than a big building, definitely didn't have the crowded "resort" feel. VERY relaxing atmosphere from the moment you get there. You're greeted by the most friendly bellhop people who lead you to your cottage in a golf cart. They'll also take you anywhere on the property in those golf carts if you need it.You get your own parking spot right outside your cottage! We were told there are no ice machines and if we needed ice, all we had to do was call the room service number and they would DELIVER it to us, any time of the day. So fancy!

The rooms are modern-chic decorated. There's a huge MAJORLY COMFY bed (my boyfriend and I laid down and suddenly it was morning!), a chaise lounge, a fancy minibar, large TV, and there's a square hole from the bathroom so you can watch tv through the wall from the tub. SUPER fancy, in my opinion. They have bathrobes and new monogrammed flip flops waiting for you, and they'll bring you any other sizes free of charge, and you get to keep the shoes. And any other little amenity in the room. (We stayed at the Scottsdale Princess before and they took away basic amenities and overcharged to have them back - ridiculous - so we were more than pleasantly surprised to be actually treated like guests and not sucked dry!) The room also has an entire wall of picture windows overlooking the mountain!

The views are breathtaking. From the rooms, the pools, the restaurant, everywhere.

The restaurant's entire wall facing the mountain views is one big window. The staff are very friendly. THE FOOD at the bar was UNBELIEVABLE!!! And very fairly priced! We went for happy hour on a Monday ($2 cheeseburger sliders). Oh, my god, those sliders are to absolutely die for. The kind of food that makes you want to not eat it so it'll last longer. We each ended up getting four of them because we couldn't stop eating them! And they're pretty big! We also got chips with salsa and guacamole, both of which were, like, the best salsa and guacamole I've ever had. We enjoyed all of this while overlooking the gorgeous sunset over the mountain and the huge, tranquil, picturesque pool below.

The pool has LED lights throughout which change colors. The side facing the mountain is missing the ledge so the water just falls over the side, for a really cool effect!! Google picturers. There's towel service (the towels are heated and scented! And they give you towels shaped for the chairs, too!) If you don't want to weather the big pool with "all the people" (there were like, 4 people in it everytime we saw it), there are little cabana pools throughout, two of which were a few steps from our front door. Very private (nobody was in either at any point during our stay). Very relaxing.

There is a very extensive and very well-priced room service menu for all times of the day and night. I was so impressed with it! I literally couldn't decide on one thing because everything sounded so amazing.I ordered a turkey club at like 2am. Basically they went out of their way to accomodate all my special requests even though the sandwich was pre-made (the chefs had gone home already) and it ended up being literally the best sandwich ever. And If I had a problem, the guy went out of his way to fix it and was sincerely apologetic.

This place is truly a sanctuary. I would literally fly to Arizona JUST to stay here (in fact, we've talked about doing just that). Well worth the money. Every person there is super friendly and accomodating and they really treat you like you're special.

After our DISASTROUS stay at the Scottsdale Princess Resort (seriously, DO NOT GO THERE, it was horrible), the Sanctuary left me standing in amazement with a peaceful and grateful smile on my face several times during and after the stay.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are awesome. We were in room 242. Seriously, stay here. You won't reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay, which we always love to hear. We are delighted you loved your room and the stunning views of the Valley that our resort has to offer. We are glad you really enjoyed the new jade bar and the sliders. They are delicious and at $2 a piece on Monday for our Pour happy hour you really can’t go wrong. We are very happy to know that our staff took excellent care of you throughout your stay and honored to be able provide you with some great memories. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you make it out to the Scottsdale area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed this past weekend for the third time. This wonderful place truly cannot be beat. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with desert flowers, so many blooming everywhere. The infinity pool is the perfect place to spend a lovely, lazy day - cool water, great drinks and food and service, comfy lounge chairs (ever notice how uncomfortable are most deck chairs, even in 5 star resorts? Not here) and a beautiful view. My room, a mountain suite, was spotless and comfortable with a bed I did not want to ever leave. And Elements, the restaurant, is outstanding: I had another amazing meal there last night. More than all of that, however, what elevates the resort even more is the service. Everyone I encountered, across the board, was friendly and giving, without being cloying. The staff is ready to help in any way needed. It's the perfect place for a getaway, I never even leave the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. There is no greater compliment than when a guest returns to stay with us multiple times. We are delighted to hear you had another wonderful visit. We agree that there is no better place to spend the day, especially a summer day, than lounging by the infinity pool. We are glad you were able to enjoy another great meal at elements during your visit. Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. We pride ourselves on providing the best service in the Valley and we are delighted to hear we lived up to that expectation. Thank you for choosing Sanctuary and we hope to see you for stay number four.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have stayed at Sanctuary 3 or 4 times. The most recent stay was, no surprise, fantastic. I stayed in a mountain casita. I have also very much enjoyed the spa casitas. Great views of the valley. Nicely appointed, spacious patio. The spa is one of my two favorites in the US. Excellent therapists, very relaxing atmosphere. At the staff's recommendation I enjoyed a hike up Camelback mountain on this trip and it was amazing. Excellent, panoramic vistas, the difficulty of the hike is dictated by one's pace. I always enjoy going down the road to the little shopping center on the corner of 44th and Camelback. There is a nice cigar shop and a fancy, organic type food market. I load up and I'm ready to nestle in to Sanctuary.

Room Tip: I have yet to stay in a room that I didn't love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sanctuary. There is no greater compliment than when our guests choose to return and stay with us multiple times, so thank you. We are very happy to hear you had another fantastic visit. Thank you so much for you kind words about our spa. Glad you were able to hike Camelback, it really is worth doing at least once. Thank you again for choosing Sanctuary and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We loved our weekend get -away! Many options for spa services, nice fitness room, DELICIOUS food at Elenents and great live music. The location was very secluded and lovely. I really liked that there was a discount for Arizona residents in the summer months. That was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary for your recent stay and taking the time to review your experience. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful weekend getaway. Sounds like you took full advantage of all we have to offer, which we always love to hear. Glad you were able to take advantage of our Arizona Resident Special during your stay. We love the support we get from the local community and wanted to do a little something to show our appreciation. Thank you again for choosing Sanctuary for your staycation and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Each year we visit our son who lives in Prescott. Then we always try and take a few days at the end of our visit to have a mini-vacation in Phoenix before flying home. This year we decided to stay at the Sanctuary. We were blown away! Can't say enough about the beauty of the casitas, the views of the mountains, the restaurant, the bar, and the pool! Everyone who worked at the hotel made us feel comfortable. It was truly an experience and we will now consider the Sanctuary as our go-to hotel each year. My only concern was that there was no mention of 'cilantro' in my dinner choice. I can't eat it at all. The chef came out to personally apologize and then gave us a taste of really nice wine, and an incredible dessert to make up for it. The service was more than top-notch. We've already told so many of our friends about this exquisite hotel and many are seriously thinking about visiting within the next year. We will return every year. No doubt about it. PS - Order their mushroom/fenel soup! It is incredible!!

Room Tip: If you can't eat cilantro or any other spice/herb, please make sure you mention this to your wai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary for your recent stay. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your visit. So glad you loved the resort and found the views as spectacular as we do. We are delighted to hear that our staff took such good care of you and made you feel right at home during your stay. We apologize again for the mix-up with the cilantro, but glad everything worked out okay in the end. Thank you again for the kind words about our staff and our resort. We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again next time you come out to visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Went for just one day with the goal to enjoy the spa and do a quick in-town get away. I wish I discovered this wonderful spot years ago! It is exceptional. Food was great. Spa very nice but a bit crowed due to a Living Social coupon special. Pool is small but there is someone nearby for your every need!
What a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We are very glad to hear you had a great experience all around. We always love having locals visit for stays, dinner or spa. It sounds like you took full advantage of the resort during your stay, which we always like to hear. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon so we can continue to provide you with wonderful experiences and memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.