We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly! Very special place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Camelback Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights - Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
West Hollywood ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heavenly! Very special place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I recently had a 4- day reunion with another couple at the heavenly Sanctuary resort. I can't imagine a more perfect place. The hotel itself is very chic, with a serene, southwestern desert feel and amazing views everywhere. Rooms were spacious and comfortable with top quality amenities. Spa facility was the best -- great classes, treatments. Beautiful pool. Food was delicious -- Elements restaurant one of best in Phoenix (amazing breakfasts).
Place so terrific , we never wanted to leave. Definitely will return!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    635
    125
    43
    21
    18
See reviews for
71
418
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a fabulous experience! Sanctuary is a serene and stunningly beautiful property literally built against Camelback Mountain. It has wonderful rooms, a top-notch spa, award-worthy Elements restaurant and, best of all, a warm, professional, welcoming staff. I cannot say enough about the latter (front desk, concierge, restaurant and pool servers, spa and gym personnel, cleaning staff). Elegant and fun. Can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband have been going to the Sanctuary on Camelback each spring for the past 8 or 9 years; it never lets us down. The rooms are so beautiful and luxe - the turndown service each night creates a soothing, romantic mood the minute you walk in. We play tennis daily in the clinic - the pros are phenomenal and lots of fun. Our game improves each time we come! Sitting poolside with the beautiful view of Camelback Mountain in the background is how we unwind after a few hours on the courts. elements, the on-site restaurant, with executive chef Beau MacMillan is considered one of the best restaurants in the area by many critics - and we agree!

I've recommended the Sanctuary to all my friends - each visit is more fun and relaxing than the last! We just returned, and are looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: We like the spa casitas - they are close to the tennis courts and the pool.. easier access back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall a very good resort, but a few small things made it short of excellent:
- Celebrity chef Beau's restaurant is very good (so we hear). Unfortunately we were not able to eat there because (as we were so rudely told by the concierge)- "they're all booked." We got there on a non-holiday Friday night and tried to eat there for dinner Saturday and that's what we were told. No "Let me see what I can do and call you back" just a flat "Sorry, we're all booked." Later she actually called our room and said we could have a 9:30 table but the taste in my mouth was so bitter by then that I declined and we ate elsewhere off property.
- We asked for a quiet spa casita but were placed in turquoise, which was not quiet at all. Saturday there was a wedding with lots of rowdy guests and we heard them well past midnight.
- The room itself (a spa casita) was very nice- bed was comfy, separate living room area was nice and bathroom was large. We were not able to relax in our outdoor jacuzzi as it was not properly secluded and very noisy.
- Overall, a nice resort but we would have definitely appreciated a quieter room and a more friendly and accommodating concierge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

it is just amazing from every aspect!!! The Design of every detail....Rooms...Dining...Lobby....Spa...Pool...Fitness Club!!!! 5 Star all the way!!!! My wife and I have stayed at resort at least once a year for the last 10 years and it gets better each year!! The location couldn't be better and the grounds are perfectly maintained and gorgeous. But the greatest gift this World Class Resort offers is the "Best Staff in the World!" They are the friendliest and best trained staff you will ever come in contact with......! Everyone from top to bottom should be very proud!!! Beyond well done!

Craig
Dallas

Room Tip: any and all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We picked The Sanctuary for its reputation and location. Unlike so many of the huge resorts, it is easy to get to and from Phoenix and Scottsdale for dining, shopping and nightlife. Yet, once you are on the property, you almost forget that you are so close to all of the commotion.

The layout of the hotel -- duplexed villas spread out alongside Camelback Mountain -- fulfills the private nature of the resort. Although the parking lot was filled, we didn't hear alot of chatter around the buildings (unless you count the songbirds). Our neighbors were a tad noisy at night (the room dividing door is between the living rooms). But the kids sleeping on the couch didn't mind the excuse to keep the TV on longer than usual (it was vacation, after all) -- and we propped the sofa seat, taken out for the bed, against the door for cushioning, lessening the noise. The fact that both rooms had great room-darkening shades meant that we all slept incredibly well.

The infinity pool is beautiful, but was chilly during our visit. Our family preferred the small west pool, which we seemed to share with just four other people. The only thing lacking was a cleaning net, to scoop the tree blossoms from the shady border when the wind blew. Towels and lounge covers were kept inside a handy bin, and everyone politely left the area neat and ready for the next guests.

We didn't have time to experience the dining room or the spa, but we will during our next visit. The staff everywhere -- valet, front desk, housekeeping, gardeners -- were smiling, jovial and helpful. The only thing that rivaled the rooms and service were the views of Camelback Mountain and the north valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near one of the small pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here in may , as a treat from good friend in Scottsdale .. This literally was more honeymoon than our honeymoon .. Rooms were faultless , views of valley and camelback , bar area and cocktails first rate , pool perfect temp along with excellent service poolside .. Gym , spa , .. And on it goes .. Will definitely be back ..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.