We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private setting with great valley views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Camelback Mountain to your Saves list
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Private setting with great valley views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Sanctuary feels very private when you arrive, tucked away up against the mountain with the casitas spread out in small clusters on the slope. The lobby, desk, and restaurant are a flight of open steps down from the car and valet desk which contributes to the hillside effect. The casitas are quite private and nicely laid out with wonderful views of Paradise Valley. Sunset shouldn't be missed from your room or the bar overlooking the infinity pool and valley. The grounds and landscaping are well maintained with pathways and small roadways winding between the casitas. Remember to bring a flashlight or use the small one provided in your room as it is quite dark throughout the grounds and the combination of steep grades in places and flagstone walkways prove to be a small challenge, particularly if women are in heels. The Sanctuary is reasonably expensive, but on par with other luxury hotels in the neighbourhood and the boutique size of the hotel makes it feel more exclusive than some of the competition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakesiderToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We held our company annual meeting here this past January. The property itself is magnificent, and the service levels were some of the best I have experience in my travels. Ever time you turned around, someone was available to assist you in whatever you needed, from giving you a ride to the other side of the resort, to making you a cup of home-made cocoa (which is totally worth the 10-minute wait). The grounds are well-kept, and while you will do a LOT of walking getting from the lobby to your cassita to the meeting rooms, you are invigorated each time you step outside and take in your surroundings.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hegartnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I visited the resort in January, 2013, for a conference. The hotel grounds were very nice, and the setting was beautiful. The service was great and food was terrific. The rooms had a "dormitory" look to them, on the outside, and I was told that this was because it was previously a tennis camp. Inside, they were luxurious and well-appointed.

I wish I could say that I visited the pool, played some tennis, and hiked atop Camelback Mountain, but the weekend I was there, the Phoenix area received about one-third its annual allotment of rain. The fitness room was excellent and not crowded in the morning, but how much time can one spend working out?

Overall, an excellent resort. I would return to it in the future. I just wish we had better weather.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RYKan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were eager to get to this resort and we booked at Mountain Suite. We are in our 30s and the pictures on the website looked like a Luxury resort aimed for a younger crowd. Mind you, most of our stays are in high-end luxury resorts and the crowd is usually older than us, we have no problem with that. But on their website, the rooms look full of bright colors and it seems that they were recently done. Very misleading! The rooms are bland, the bright colors from the website is just photoshop. The rooms clearly shows their age, I suspect they were built 50 years ago with only the soft good changed. Toilet was in a small separated cabinet, which is normally nice in most hotels but this one was very small, creepy, smelled like humidity and poorly lit. The AC was not working properly unless the door between the living room and bedroom is left open. We book suites especially to have a door that can close. Since the room is on pillars, the hot air of the desert flows freely under the suite, which heats the floor. Very uncomfortable at night.

The setup of the hotel is very unique, being on the Camelback mountain and rooms at different heights. The main pool is very nice and very relaxing (maybe a bit too much, we went into the water carefully, to make sure not to make too much noise, and it still felt like we bothered the people around). Breakfast outside by the pool with the view of the mountain is also very nice.

Had a facial at the spa. The service was very professional and nice but I thought the facilities would've been larger with more pools as it is a spa resort.

We were supposed to stay at the Four Seasons At Troon North in Scottsdale, but because of the Sanctuary's website pictures, we decided to switch... We shouldn't have...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinbutler888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sanctuary was very restful and serene. We highly recommend it for younger people who find the Biltmore stodgy.
- Sanja gave phenomenal massages with neck techniques we haven't seen at other resorts.
- Spa is beautiful (nicer than Four Seasons) and was especially dramatic in the rain.
- accommodated us with skin sensitive products because we had allergies.
- Don't miss breakfast at Elements. Great view, healthy and delicious .
- Resort was consistently peaceful and the grounds have nice walks.

Thx Trip Advisor for telling us about Becketts Table, Elements, Frank & Alberts. We'd add Chez Vous at Gainey Village for an authentic French restaurant shopping break.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mountainview double/double room 222. No patio, housekeeping leaves carts out all day and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metzger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great Hotel with outstanding service. We went there for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Their restaurant "Elements" is a must, the food there is delicious. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came to this amazing getaway with my husband for a last min. retreat. We have never experienced such a warm, relaxing, and beautiful environment before! My husband and I have traveled and stayed at many "top" resorts, but nothing compares to this! We both had massages, facials, and the best pedicures EVER! My nail tech (Marideth) gave one of the best pedicures I have ever had! It was much needed after a long hike. We can not wait to come back again for tasty food, pampering, and relaxation. Everyone is so friendly and warm!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach Family D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#13 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing