We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but a few reservations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Camelback Mountain to your Saves list
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights - Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but a few reservations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary for 3 nights at the beginning of October in a Spa Casita King Room. We have stayed here twice before so knew what to expect. However these rooms might not be to everyone's taste as they are very modern with painted concrete floors. We did find the room a bit dark but perhaps that was because we had just come from the Four Seasons at Troon which was wonderfully light. Nice bathroom with a great shower and lovely toiletries. I do not like the fact that the wardrobe area is in the bathroom behind a curtain which I think is a little poor for a 5 star property. Also the curtain that divides the bedroom from the bathroom covers the air conditioning vent when pulled across. The bed is low but very comfortable just beware the sharp edges of the base - we walked into them several times. The infinity pool is lovely and the hotel have rafts and noodles for using here. I also like the no cell phone policy although this was not always observed. Service at the pool was attentive without being intrusive. We ate breakfast in the hotel which was always good - I would particularly recommend the waffle with macademia nuts and mascarpone - and if you eat outside or get one of the booths by the window the view across Paradise Valley is wonderful. We also ate in Elements the first evening of our stay but found it a little disappointing. My duck was really nice but my husband's pork chop was undercooked, and we felt there was a poor choice of sweets. The other downside of the meal was that the restaurant was very cold - the a/c was either very powerful or turned up too high. I think someone must have complained as it seemed to get turned down after a while. The restaurant staff both in the evening and at breakfast were very good. The hotel supply you with a torch in your room which is a good touch as the grounds are very dark at night. The grounds of the hotel contain a lot of trees and bushes and I think this may have been a contributory factor to the fact that I got badly bitten by insects over the three days that we were there plus we noticed that housekeeping left the room doors open while they were cleaning the rooms which may not have helped. Some of this may sound a bit negative but overall it is a very nice place with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    132
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
79
449
42
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A perfect location, on the lower slopes of Camelback mountain and a short ride to eveything in Scottsdale. Accomodations in casitas (no high buildings), beautiful pools and landscaping, a great restaurant and spa facilities, and lots of tennis courts. The staff are what one would hope for (but don't usually get) at a 5 star resort- people who always make you feel that you are doing them a big favor by asking them to serve you. We go there often- and will continue to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice, and the suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

At the recommendation of a friend who lives in Phoenix, my husband and I booked at Sanctuary for a 5-day trip from our home in Chicago. We were impressed beyond words on all levels with the experience we encountered. The service, the rooms, the food, the spa, the pool area, the fitness center---every single one of these items, standing alone, deserves a 5-star rating. I have stayed at 4 of the supposed "top" Phoenix-area spas and I found Sanctuary superior to all the rest, including the Phoenician and the Boulders. It is fresh, new and unique in a way that an old hotel which has lost its luster cannot be. A remarkable gem of a fine hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a suite and it was huge. It included a very sizable bedroom, a full dining area, a full li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet and private resort, this is the place. Our room included a beautiful patio with outdoor sofas which was adjacent to our room. Also, a small pool was a few steps from our room. There is a swimming pool near the spa but we preferred the small private area.
The resort is close to several shopping areas (Waterfront etc). I suggest renting a car as there are not many dining options available on the property. The spa treatments were outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 4 nights in a casita for a business trip and really enjoyed it. It's nicely modernised with excellent food and service and great location (you can walk from the resort to the top of the mountain in under an hour). My room was great - bed was fabulous. Only complaint I had was that the cold water in the rooms does not run cold but is always warm. The hotel said this was because they are in the desert but Dubai is in a desert and it's a lot hotter than Pheonix but in Dubai cold water taps run cold (or even chilled).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We travel a LOT, and we like to stay in the nicest hotels we can afford. I was really excited about the views and the quiet I was expecting from Sanctuary, as we had just come from Las Vegas. I was even more excited that we were "upgraded" to a Spa Casita. The room was probably larger than the one we would have been in; however, the view was of the tennis court and the parking lot, and we were awakened one morning by someone using the lap pool and one morning by the housekeeping staff talking loudly next door. I think we would have had a nicer view and a quieter room if they'd left us in the Mountain room.

We loved the fact that there were healthy choices for breakfast and lunch, and we thought dinner was also very good. There were a couple of conferences going on at the resort while we were there, and one of the problems we discovered was that once the meetings let out, the pool was VERY crowded and rather loud. The other little glitch is the spotty house-keeping. It seems like a little thing, but it took almost 24 hours for them to remove dirty dishes from the foyer of our room, despite the fact that the rooms were serviced twice during that time period.

I know that these seem like little things, but it's the little things that separate good from great.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view, as we had none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We live in Phoenix but decided to stay one night at the Sanctuary to celebrate our anniversary. My only problem...I now want to live at the resort. The rooms are huge with big balconies and big views. It's "Paradise" in Paradise Valley! Make sure you treat yourself to dinner at Elemenets. It is in our top 5 of best meals ever. Very gourmet and fit for foodies. The service at the resort is top notch. From the front desk to the busboy at Elements. Everyone is friendly, helpful and go above and beyond to make sure you're happy. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you visit the spa, arrive early just to sit and relax in quiet room. They have doors that open up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.