We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Camelback Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 Nights - Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
Pleasanton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent a long weekend golfing and stayed at the Sanctuary. The room was very clean and nicely appointed.
Beds were comfy and the turn down service always soooo nice :)
The valet staff was extremely nice and friendly, asking us about our day, evening and offering us ice cold water bottles. We had drinks at the bar, where we had awesome snacks and delicious cocktails. We spent late afternoons at the infinity pool where the wait staff was again very friendly and attentive. Of course, we also had spa treatments (couples massage) and enjoyed the facilities and staff. I must point out that I thought employee, Daphne, from the women side of the spa lockers, provided an above and beyond service.
We especially like that this place was just about $15 taxi ride from downtown/old town, where we dined all nights. This allowed us to not have to worry about DUI and truly enjoy a nice wine bottle :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    121
    43
    21
    18
See reviews for
65
402
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
olympia, washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We hadn't been to Sanctuary for over 5 years; the service, friendly employees and fabulous food had not changed. If anything, I liked the food even more as many healthy choices were offerred, i.e. bento boxes, which were delicious. My husband became ill while we were there and the hotel promptly called a physician who administered ER assistance. Two of the hotel's security, Sean and Steve, stayed with us for 3 hours and not only provided assistance, were compassionate and simply amazing. We each had spa treatments on our first day there, reflexology and swedish massage, and, just as in past years, the treatments were top notch. Treatments have only gone up $20 since we were there last and worth every penny. We have had many massage treatments, most averaging $125-$150 per hour. The cost factor at Sanctuary I would expect. My massuse has been working there for over 6 years, and had many years of experience. Other employees I spoke with had also been working there for a number of years which I think speaks volumes regarding the management. Cocktails and appetizers at the Jade Bar fun, delicious and innovative. All service was comfortably friendly, without being "plastic"....I can't say enough. Planning to return next August to celebrate our anniversary again.

Room Tip: We booked a spa casita this trip. The spa casitas are closer to the pool. Even though you can alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is an excellent destination to sit back and enjoy the beauty of Arizona in a resort that caters to conferences and couples . The service was just okay, not over the top, as we had to call more than once for a lift to the restaurant /main pool (its very hot in September and the distance to walk is to our room was quite far) the food by award winning chef was very good and worth the wait.
The spa (Therapist) was excellent , but again the overall experience was weak.
This is a excellent 4 star plus property aspiring to become or regain 5 star status.

Room Tip: Select a room in the new section below the restaurant and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

OK, So country came to town... I asked the front desk for a box fan. My whole family sleeps with fans in our bedrooms for the white noise. We went down to eat at the Jade Bar and when we got back there were 2 brand new Box fans in our room. It appeared that they went to the store and bought them. The ultimate wind tunnel for sweet sleeping! This was the best place I have ever stayed and have been to several 5 Star resorts. Service was incredible. This is a smaller resort where you can experience more seclusion in your vacation. We enjoyed the Spa and Elements and one of the private pools which was basically our pool close to our casita. Definite recommend!

Room Tip: Great views higher on the mountain in the Mountain casitas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely resort in a posh area! The service was amazing. The pool area was lively but never overcrowded. The landscaping around the resort is second to mone; pictures do not do it justice! Everything about the weekend we spent there was top notch. If I were to say anything slightly negative is that the spa treatments were overpriced. Loved it; can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary for our mini-honeymoon. We live in Chicago and we wanted to go somewhere that was a short flight, scenic, and relaxing. The Sanctuary in Scottsdale was the absolute perfect place for us! The staff was always so helpful and courteous. Upon check-in, the staff helped us with our luggage, handed us 2 bottles of cold water and escorted us to our beautiful room via golf cart. We stayed in a mountain casita with gorgeous views (we had a terrace!), spacious living room and bedroom, along with a kitchen alcove. The suite was modern yet cozy at the same time. We had a fireplace, a soaking tub, bathrobes, and nightly turndown service. The infinity pool is open 24 hours so it's great to go for a late swim beneath the stars! Also, the food at their restaurants are top-notch. The dinner entrees are a bit on the pricey side but it's high quality and delicious - a true dining experience. We also experienced the spa and were very pleased. The spa facilities are inviting and they provide everything you need (robes, shampoo, moisturizer, face wash, etc). The best part is that they were running weekday specials on some of their spa treatments! All in all, this is the perfect place for a romantic, relaxing trip in a scenic, luxury resort.
Other info - it's about a $40-45 taxi ride from PHX to the hotel and it's about $15/one way to go to Scottsdale (about 10 minutes away).

Room Tip: Book a stay during low season for the best rates. We booked our stay for Sept. for at least 3 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's true it's a nice hotel, the rooms are nicely decorated, but I didn't get the wow factor.
I thought the pool was too small and the spa not impressive.
The gym is very nice equiped.
The service at the restaurant was efficient and professionnal.
The check in was not that welcoming.
Parking was an issue as the bangalows have limited parking spots so i had to parc in front of the reception and make my way to the top

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.