We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your time, because they will” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia to your Saves list
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4949 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Take your time, because they will”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a beautiful resort, with spacious rooms, which are extremely comfortable for week-long stays. Rooms are a little dark, and be sure to plan for rooms close to each other if you are traveling with a group because they can be quite spread out. The pool is lovely, and the food/drinks at the resort restaurants are excellent but SLOW. You must be "on vacation" to enjoy the slow service of this resort because it always took forever for anything to be done. Checkin was the worst - being lined up twelve people deep, without a hope of an apology or bottle of water to drink. THEN, my room wasnt ready even after checkin time, which was awful given that I was not feeling well and just wanted to lay down- a plea also ignored by the checkin staff. Car and sedan service was excellent, and overall great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know of your issues during your stay. My apologies for the service level not being our norm. We hope to see you again! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    234
    81
    35
    18
See reviews for
182
455
47
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glorious Midwest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a superb stay at Montelucia on the "Experience Montelucia" package, which I can highly recommend for its value. It builds in breakfast and the resort and parking fees, so do the math and you will see that it's a bargain. Everything is exquisitely maintained: the landscaping, pool areas, and the buildings themselves. I had to wonder how they can afford this level of maintenance, in fact, but they know that keeping things beautiful and inviting, and particularly keeping their staff trained and attentive, are what it takes to attract and keep customers. We were very impressed.

The bed was the most luxurious and comfortable we'd ever experienced. Seriously. I love a great bed, but they're surprisingly difficult to find even in resorts. Montelucia gets this right!

I found the dining and other incidentals priced reasonably for a resort. Loved the Mbar Happy Hour, a really good value. Also, the Centro Cafe (nominally a sports bar, but really family oriented casual dining) had very good food and lovely service.

The staff made the most difference. Can't say enough about the attentive treatment of guests, which came in especially handy when a weather issue made us stay over another night. Five stars all around!

Room Tip: Go for a room facing Camelback Mountain, at the rear of the property. It's just a few minutes wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon, Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Montelucia for 3 nights over New Years. This is a top notch resort with excellent service. Days before our arrival the resort called and sent a couple of emails to find out if we had any special requests, etc.I do not recall getting a personalized phone call from the past hotels and resorts we have stayed at.

We tried to get a early check in but with the holiday and bowl games in the Phoenix area we did not expect it to happen. The front desk called as soon as our room was available which was still before the resorts 3pm check in time.

The room: We had a Camelback Mountain view room that is just one step up from the standard resort view room. Very large room with a large balcony. The bathroom is VERY large with one sink. The bed was also excellent.

Fitness Facility and Spa: We did not workout but did walk around the facilities. Plenty of equipment for cardio and weight training. They also offer classes that include spinning bikes.

We called the front desk a couple of times. Once for a toothbrush and then a newspaper. Both were delivered in less than 5 minutes.

Even though it was 32 degrees one morning we did go to one of the pools. Very clean and plenty of towels. Even with it being a very cold morning (by Arizona standards) the pool was very comfortable.

We plan on going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I love the refernece to our "cold weather". We are certainly spoiled with sunshine and year round pool time! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After our wedding, my husband and I went to stay at the Montelucia because that is where he proposed to me and our stay was amazing. This trip was no different. When we first arrived we noticed they had made some changes to the center of the resort, including the addition of Centro Lounge - a modern sports bar right next to the pool. I thought this was a great addition to have not just because we are huge football fans, but because the floor to ceiling glass walls made you feel like you were outside while still enjoying the A/C. It also had great food and drinks that were slightly more casual than Prado.

However, we did go to Prado for our celebration dinner because we knew that it was a great restaurant for any special occasion. The dinner of course was delicious and romantic, but after mentioning to the hostess we were just married, we came back to our hotel room and were surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne. I felt that their gesture was so thoughtful and honestly was the cherry on top of a wonderful stay.

If you have the opportunity to stay at the Montelucia, I highly recommend that you do. The staff and service was just as great as the first time we stayed there. And just on a final note: enjoy the Joya Spa...it was by far the best massage I ever had. If you are staying during the week, check out their happy hour rates and days.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the main pool as possible. The aroma from Prado's kitchen will make it all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for coming back to the resort for your celebration weekend! Happy to hear you recieved such special touches, we have a wonderful group of talent here that love to make that extra effort! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I were treated to a night's stay for our wedding night. Beautiful grounds, courteous bell staff, luxurious suite with old world charm. We had an excellent dinner at Prado and loved our waittress! Had a few "hiccups" during the brief stay (housekeeping, room service), but each challenge was met with excellent follow through and attention by staff and management. Special recognition to Brandi at Centro Lounge and Bridgette Ramirez for going completely above and beyond our expectations! You are a big part of the reason this review received 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we will be sure our associates are aware of your mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ever pull a name out of a the internet hat and strike gold? We did with our four day stay at the luxurious Montelucia Resort & Spa. Mountain of light is right! Our upgraded room with a view of the Camelback Mountains was a constant delight in any light. Spectacular sunset views. My sisters and I took in this view on 12/12/12 at 12:12, at the Kasbah (poolside of course) then we migrated to the Oasis Pool. Although the entire grounds were our personal oasis. The wait staff was consistently gracious and genuinely friendly. The gentleman at the front desk was superior in his service, very professional. ~ The breakfast was amazing complete with a variety of perfect Bloody Marys if you so desire to start the day at dawn rather than dusk. We had a special package that included breakfast, free parking, $25 resort credit - I highly recommend this! Rooms were tasteful, great bedding and wonderful bath. The grounds are so exquisite and the understated Moroccan architecture was so tasteful, I spent more time actually at the resort rather than sightseeing. Sometimes just relaxing is difficult, but not at this first class resort. I will return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Carmelback Mountain view. You will love the lounges on your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and so please your stay was amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had an amazing time on this trip. The room was large with a king size bed, sofa, table, coffee tray, and large balcony with a beautiful view. The linens and bedding were remarkable with the robes being some of the best I've ever seen. The bathrooms were spacious and luxurious with A huge shower and nice bathtub. The staff was accommodating and very welcoming. They even made it a point to greet us by name. We will definitely be staying here again. As a side note...the resort sent amazing chocolate truffles to our room since we were celebrating a birthday. Very thoughtful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your birthday here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Address: 4949 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rich history, white-washed villages and sun-drenched hills of Spain’s Andalusia region, the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia brings the essence of Europe to the heart of Scottsdale. With arching entryways, splashing fountains, floral walkways, and a collection of antiquities hidden throughout the property, Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia is an enchanting resort destination that boasts 293 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, the Moroccan-inspired Joya Spa, six tempting dining options including the critically-acclaimed Prado restaurant, a myriad of radiant pools and breathtaking views. Nestled at the base of Camelback Mountain, the resort’s convenient central location offers easy access to the area’s best golf, recreation, nightlife and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelucia Resort And Spa
Montelucia Hotel Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Montelucia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.