We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia to your Saves list
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4949 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great room, great comfort and very clean. Restaurants and service were excellent at MBar, the Prado,and room service. I also attended a conference here, and the catered breakfast and lunch for four days was varied, nutritious and tasty. Service everywhere was excellent. ALS, great workout facility!! Will be back!! Great views of Camel Back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    262
    92
    42
    18
See reviews for
207
499
52
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The family and myself decided to do a staycation over Thanksgiving . We have been to the resort several times the Joya Spa is one of the best in the area. This was our first time staying as a guest. We arrived at 1 pm and decided to upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite the room would not be available till 4 pm no problem we all went to the pool and had lunch and swam. The pool area and view of Camelback Mountain is stunning.The pool service was fantastic and somehow they even knew our name before we got there. I went back to the front desk at 430 after not hearing from them on the cell phone our room still was not ready oh no. The front desk clerk went in the back and come out and told me they would give us a different room in a better location and not charge us for the upgrade now that is how a five star resort should do things. The room was fantastic we had a view of the pool and Camelback.The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.We had dinner at Centro the food was great the restaraunt decor somehow does not fit in with the rest of the look of the resort.I think they were trying to hip it up for the younger crowd it was not needed as the resort is beautiful. The room service was a little of a hiccup the next day as some of the items were cold and no syrup for the french toast they corrected it so no biggie. The workout area was very well equiped and Joya spa was great as always. The wife and I will be back the kids not so much they did not enjoy the pool area they like the pool at the Fairmont better it has slides and the kids club . MonteLucia closed their kids club so I would not recommend the resort for families however for couples time away THE Best.I would like to know why they closed the kids club the kids loved going when the wife and I went to the spa.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade at check in sometimes you can get a nicer room for little or no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you spent the Thanksgiving holiday with us and we hope you come back for another staycation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Thanksgiving Dinner..... for the Birds.

We checked in at the Montelucia at approximately 11 AM Thanksgiving Day. Celebrating our 1 year anniversary, we were enthusiastic about sharing a new experience and equally so about dining on the property.

Our Booking was comprised of an inclusive package which included the following: Breakfast/Buffets, Thanksgiving Dinner, Monetary Credit toward miscellaneous Property purchases, a cooking demonstration, a wine tasting and 2 (two) Massages at the Spa.

Before arriving to the Property, we were given a contact person who would be in charge of assisting our queries and handling/making our reservations for all of the above. The person, initial G, was not as accommodating as we had hoped. Several calls to G. (made between 9 AM - 1030 AM) shortly before our arrival were placed and left with messages. Both calls were not returned on the same day, but the following day after the 24 hour mark. When I had spoken to G. on the second call and asked why it took so long for a return call to make a reservation, she replied: " I don't work on Tuesdays" I responded that no one would know this and that it may be a good idea to state that on your outgoing message so that arriving guests who need reservations for dining and various activities on a busy holiday weekend could be informed. She then replied, " How may I help you" I told her that it wasn't necessary and being a day away from our arrival, we were anxious about getting reservations and took care of it ourselves with the help of the concierge desk. Final note, once arrived- we never received a call from G. to our room for a follow-up to make sure that things were OK.

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and promptly by the Valet/Bellman who stayed with our baggage while we proceeded to check-in. Rachel at the front desk was warm and accommodating. We had a few unanswered questions regarding our package which she was able to answer promptly. We were also unaware that we had a breakfast credit posted on our arrival day which Rachel mentioned we had and advised we go to Prado as soon as possible before the menu ended at noon.

Arrived at Prado for Breakfast at 1130 AM Thanksgiving Day. It appeared as though the the Buffet was winding down and that the room was getting ready to close in order to prep for the Thanksgiving Day Dinner. We stood at the podium for a short bit and were greeted by Anne the Matre'd. Anne explained that we were a bit late for Breakfast and were closing. We told her that we'd just arrive and were guests at the hotel and extremely hungry and asked if there was anything she could do and that we would be fast. Anne said "Let me check" and came back and seated us at the Bar area where we were able to feast on the Buffet and enjoy a good Breakfast. Thank you Anne!

We arrived to Prado later in the day at 5 PM for Thanksgiving Dinner. Anne greeted us again and wished us a Happy Anniversary. We were seated on the Patio which is very charming including the warmth of a large fireplace and the sounds of trickling fountains from the courtyard. Our server Hillary was professional, courteous and prompt. Our busboy Arturo was equally so and must say that the service at this restaurant surpassed our expectations. The food, on the other hand, had much to be desired. A prix fixe Thanksgiving Day menu at $80 per person without beverage, tax and gratuity should be at least minimally good. This was not. I would give this 1.5 stars for the food.
I will not go into detail, but it was the low point of our stay*.
*I've been reading on various boards that anniversary guests had received a special insignia dessert with their dinner- unfortunately we did not.

Overall, this is a beautiful property with a wonderful staff that can carry the inequities of the rest. Our room was nicely appointed and very clean. The views are a treat for the eye and the pools are warm and inviting. The Spa is a very special place as are the employees (Debbie and Jenny.... Thank you!) who work there. The one highlight I would recommend are the classes that are offered on occasion at the property. The Tapas Class lead by Aaron and Michele was informative and fun as was the Wine Tasting conducted by Sommelier Chris Would I stay at the Montelucia again? Absolutely. But I would not choose to dine there on Turkey Day.

5 Stars for the Staff (minus 1) for the Reservations Contact and (minus 1) for the Thanksgiving Dinner, but still will render this a 4 Star Stay.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room too close to the Family Pool if you prefer quiet. It can get quite noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review and details of the issues you had. I am pleased you felt overall your experience was a good one, so I hope you come back to see us again soon! Have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the minute you enter the "gates" of this Spanish Moorish palace in the desert of Scottsdale/Paradise Valley you know that you are going to experience something special. During the course of our five day stay in a Suite overlooking the Oasis pool, I did not have one complaint (other than it was a bit of a hike from the Valet to the room, but alas...who can't use the exercise?) The food and live music in the main restaurant was lovely and more than made up for the outside bar/club that was under renovation. I enjoyed the property so much that I have already booked another week (after Christmas) for my extended family and I to stay at the Montelucia and soak in the Arizona winter!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. You will have to come back soon now that CENTRO Lounge is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place will not disappoint. Its Moorish Spanish design is elegant and harkens to the romance of an exotic destination in a time gone by. It offers spectacular views of Camelback Mountain that seems more dramatic from each of the properties many courtyards and gardens. This resort is a destination unto itself offering holiday seekers and business people alike more activities and quiet retreats than you can experience in one short stay. There are three great restaurants, a five star spa and several bars to choose from. I have stayed at this property in October or November each of that last four years and have discovered something new to see or explore on each visit. The rooms are quite large with foyer entrance ways that make them feel more like a villa than a hotel room, beautiful patios and a large marble bath in a well appointed suit. I recommend you ask for a room tward the back or along the left side of the resort on the bottom floor to get a fuller experience of the property and for the adventourous, a hike up Camelback Mountain trail which is a short walk from the hotel entrance for an invigorating experience you will never forget!

Room Tip: recommend you ask for a room tward the back or along the left side of the resort as you face Camelba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon, have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the second we arrived on Thursday, 11/15/12....we knew it was going to be a trip to remember. From the warm welcome from all of the gentlemen to the beautiful grounds to glorious view of Camelback Mountain from our room to the fabulous food. Everyone was so sincerely gracious.

Jay at the front desk...thank you for starting everything off in a positive way.

Justin in the M Bar....your cocktails are wonderful. You are so talented and I will you much success.

Hannah and Elizabeth in the Spa...I have had many facials in various places but Hannah gave me the facial of all facials. This young lady definitely knows what she is doing. Elizabeth gives a superb of a body scrub and was really cool to chat with during my service. She makes you feel really relaxed.

Jacob...Jacob....Jacob....you are the man!! Your overall recommendations on where to go put the icing on the cake. Because of your recommendation, Friday night is one of our top 3 best times that we have ever had during our travels.

To the Executive Chef of the property....we gained a lot of weight on this trip because the food was wonderful. I am sure Chateu Elan truly misses you because you are a talented gentleman. We thought it was really cool of you to come over to speak to us and to see if we were enjoying ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to do so.

The car service drivers were so professional and fun to converse with along the way to and from our destinations.

The list can go on and on. Bottomline southern hospitality is not only in the South. It is definitely paradise in Paradise Valley and for that, we will be back again.

Many blessings to everyone at Montelucia. Again, we thank you.

Robin S. - Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the review and especially pointing out names of our amazing associates! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice resort that I think is average for it's location in Paradise Valley. Registration are is very small, too many big desks in a very tiny location. Once checked in - I advise to have them escort you to your room by golf cart as trying to walk the property can become very confusing. Many walkways that wind around the property. Rooms are very spacious with bathrooms bigger than many I have seen. Beautiful patios with double lounger, overhead fan and chairs. Food is very mediocre at best. Many better restaurants in the area around the Biltmore Fashion Square. We did request a room with a pull-out sofa but upon check-in we were given a room without pullout sofa. After 3 requests, we were brought a roll-away bed. Probably better in the long run.

Room Tip: Many buildings with lots of different rooms. Stay to the back of the property, more relaxed away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonm708, Director of Marketing at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for bringing these to our attention. My apologies that your stay was not the true Montelucia experience. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Address: 4949 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rich history, white-washed villages and sun-drenched hills of Spain’s Andalusia region, the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia brings the essence of Europe to the heart of Scottsdale. With arching entryways, splashing fountains, floral walkways, and a collection of antiquities hidden throughout the property, Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia is an enchanting resort destination that boasts 293 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, the Moroccan-inspired Joya Spa, six tempting dining options including the critically-acclaimed Prado restaurant, a myriad of radiant pools and breathtaking views. Nestled at the base of Camelback Mountain, the resort’s convenient central location offers easy access to the area’s best golf, recreation, nightlife and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Groupon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelucia Resort And Spa
Montelucia Hotel Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Montelucia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.