We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Resort; Service at Restaurant Wasn't What You'd Expect From a 5 Star!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia to your Saves list
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4949 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Resort; Service at Restaurant Wasn't What You'd Expect From a 5 Star!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I have been to Phoenix before (2 years ago we stayed at the Fairmont Hotel), so we are not strangers to the nicer hotels in Scottsdale. This trip we went down to visit my daughter and our new grandson. Decided to stay at the Montelucia as Funjet Vacations had a nice package price. We always expect to have to tip "everyone" when we stay at really nice places like this (and generally they deserve it). But immediately upon arrival we were being flagged down so that we would HAVE to valet park (which we didn't want to HAVE to do, or pay for). Then we proceeded to check-in and were told that there were rooms ready (we got there around noon), but nothing with a mountain view or on a balcony. Since we were there early, we took "what they had" which was Bldg. 18 way in the very back of the resort. The only view back there was the property line and the freeway behind it. OK, and at least we really didn't hear the freeway noise. There were alot of rabbits munching on the grass back there, (tons of them), so we found that amusing and got alot of pictures. It was very quiet back there, so at least once we found our way around the resort (the first day was kind of confusing), it was OK.

The resort itself was beyond beautiful and relaxing, just what we wanted. However, just be prepared, there's a high price for that. The first night we were there (a Thursday night) we were tired so decided to eat at Prado (their main restaurant) as it was later (8:30) and we had crossed time zones to get to PHX. The hostess told us there would be a 1/2 hour wait, and we were "welcome" to sit in their lounge and wait and look at a menu. We looked at each other (starving) and looked around the restaurant, only to see it was about 1/3-1/2 full of people dining. Huh? Decided to leave as it didn't seem they wanted to serve us. BTW, I was dressed very nicely in a Chico's top and white capris (I ALWAYS dress very nicely), so I can't see they'd be turning us away on a dress code or something.

On Saturday morning we decided to venture in to have breakfast (as we were to get a $30 breakfast credit to use there each day). The gentleman (in a suit) at the hostess podium took a group of ladies standing next to us (that came in behind us) to be seated instead of us (even though my husband and I were standing directly in front of him at his podium). Next he motioned to two other ladies standing to the side of us (that also came in after we did). They were very gracious and spoke up and told him that we were "there first." So he did seat us then. Strange.

The food at breakfast was very good (albeit pricey), but with the $30 credit it was reasonable.

On Sunday we decided to go back and try breakfast at Prado again. This time, it was beyond ridiculous. There was a younger girl (mid-20's) and an older woman (50-60ish) at the hostess podium (with the gentleman from the day before walking around waiting on customers). We walked up and they told us there would be about a 15 minute wait and to have a seat in the lounge and they'd come get us. We were OK with that.

Twenty minutes passes and we were watching about 5 other couples come into the lounge, and they all got seated before us. We were left sitting there alone. By that time I started to listen in to what the younger hostess was telling people coming in what the wait time was and it was down to 5 minutes. Hmmm. Time to intervene. We walked over (visibly upset) asking why we hadn't been seated. They started to fumble, so we told them we'd be leaving to have breakfast elsewhere.

We did go out to the Main Reception Desk and ask to speak with the hotel's General Manager. He happened to be there at the time. He heard us out (I believe his name was Adam, although I could be wrong on that), and he apologized profusely, and offered to take $60 off of our overall bill with them so that we could go out and have breakfast somewhere else (as we didn't want to go back in there right after that all happened).

On our last day, Monday, we went back for one final breakfast, and the atmosphere was completely different. Got seated right away ... everyone recognized us (hmmm, think they were told to??), service was great, speedy, etc. Did not have to wait for anything (and the gentleman with the suit even came over to refill our coffee pot). My my, how things change.

Maybe we weren't their typical customers, but quite frankly, if we could afford to stay at a resort like this, we should be treated like their "typical customers."

There are plenty of other really nice hotels in Phoenix/Scottsdale, and we'll be flying down quite often to visit my daughter/grandson, so we won't be going back.

One last comment ... my daughter and I had a pedicure at the Joya Spa and there was a mandatory 18% tip added to our bill. Similar to room service there. Quite frankly, alot of times I tip 20%, so they basically stiffed themselves out of 2% of a tip on each of us for doing that. I don't like being "forced" into giving a certain amount of a tip. And if service is good, I always tip more than 15% ... I feel like the individual deserves it.

So other than the service at Prado, and the mandatory gratuities, this was really a lovely resort. I just don't think we would have had breakfast there as we did if we didn't have that $30 credit.

Room Tip: Definitely do NOT want to stay in Bldg. 18 as we did unless you want TOTAL silence with no view at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montelucia, Manager at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your story. We were disappointed to read about your experience here at Montelucia, but appreciate your feedback. It is our hope that each and every guest leaves here completely satisfied with their stay, so when we miss the mark, we like to hear about it, so we can quickly resolve the issue and do better the next time. After reading your comments, there are two items I feel are important to address directly. First and foremost, we value every guest equally regardless of dress, appearance or any other distinguishing factor. To us, each person who walks through our doors is a member of the Montelucia family and we strive to treat everyone as such. Secondly, I would like to use this opportunity to point out that the closest freeway to Montelucia is more than 4 miles away and not directly behind building 18 as noted in your review. But again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope we’ll get the chance to welcome you back soon so we can show you the true Montelucia experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    262
    92
    42
    18
See reviews for
207
499
52
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

It was a gift for our 50th anniversary...the experience was outstanding! Our dinner...the food was great, service even better. We had a waiter who greeted us by name! Our experience at the Spa was so very special. The staff was so very friendly and made you feel very special, calling us by name, wishing us Happy Anniversary. All in all we had a wonderful time and enjoyed it immensely!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montelucia, Manager at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
WOW! Congratulations on your 50th anniversary! On behalf of the whole team here, thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your celebration. We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay and that your golden anniversary was as special and as memorable as such a milestone ought to be! Again congrats, and we hope to welcome you back for your next big celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was our first stay at the Montelucia and I will begin by saying that I would love to return in the future. The resort is an oasis of luxury in a beautiful location and set in a stunning resort. The service was first class and we felt very at home.
We stayed in block 11 and enjoyed a superb room (more of a suite) overlooking the mountains. The swimming pools are excellent although the Feng Shui music at the adult pool became very tiring!
We loved the fire pits and outdoor terraces but didn't enjoy them as we would have liked as the bar prices were disappointingly high. Whilst we expect to pay a premium in a 5 star resort the Montelucia pricing across the resort seemed unreasonable. We chose to spend our money outside of the resort on each evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Montelucia for three nights attending a conference on-site. The resort is set beneath Camelback Mountain and offers great views of the surrounding red rocks. It felt very spacious and luxurious with multiple pools, restaurants, and rooms distributed across different buildings with different styles; almost like a Moroccan village, and fitting very well into the desert landscape.

My room was very nicely furnished and spacious with a bathroom bigger than any other hotel I can remember and a nice terrace to enjoy in the evenings. The room was also very quiet and well equipped; wireless internet was available across the site and worked well during my stay.

While I did not try the resort’s restaurants, catering provided by the resort for the conference was very good. I did have opportunity to enjoy a massage at the resort's spa and found the spa area to be very relaxing with great staff and service.

Due to the conference I was not able to explore the area outside the resort, and the 108 degree daytime temperatures did not tempt outdoor activities anyway.

This would be a good place to come back to during a more moderate season to enjoy both the luxurious resort and the surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the common areas (pools, restaurants) might get noisy, rooms farther away require a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Front desk was very helpful. The customer service was excellent. The resort was beautiful. The Spa was the best I have ever experienced. Everyone was very helpful in what ever special requests we had.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the Oasis Pool. My adult daughters and myself and it was very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

montelucia has it all. we had high expectations traveling to scottsdale over our daughter's fall break. montelucia lived up to it! the grounds are immaculately kept. the resort atmosphere is quiet, yet lively...exclusive yet not elitist...helpful yet not intrusive. the biggest surprise of all may have been the service and food at prado. our stay came with $50 dining credits so we thought we would try it out. we are ones who usually venture out as much as possible to experience the local dining scene. however, on this trip, our best food experience was at prado...so much so that we chose to have our last dinner before departure at prado as well. on a side note, i must say, that the local dining scene, except for the daily dose and oregano's in old-town was quite disappointing.

while my wife and i did not use the spa, my parents who joined us on the trip who are in their 70s did and enjoyed it immensely. they were overwhelmed by the spa experience.

we stayed in the smaller king-sized bedded rooms that the resort offers in building #17. it is located near the back of the property. beware that the property is quite spread out so there could be a lot of walking required depending on where your rooms are located. this was perfect for us except for my parents who have a bit of challenge when it comes to walking distances. they managed fine with this challenge as the adult pool is relatively close to the back of the property.

all in all, the montelucia was extremely nice and all staff met during our stay were appropriately friendly and helpful. a return stay may be in order!

Room Tip: the property layout is quite expansive. if walking is an issue, please check with mgmt before booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a great stay at the Montelucia Resort! We would like to thank the entire staff, especially Eamonn, Brad and Jonathan for our wonderful stay at the Montelucia.The resort is exceptional in so many areas, especially the service. We had a seamless check in, rides in golf carts and a terrific time in the M bar & restaurant. The room was gorgeous with a stunning view and immaculately clean. Thanks so much to the terrific and thoughtful staff at the Montelucia - we look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Address: 4949 East Lincoln Drive, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rich history, white-washed villages and sun-drenched hills of Spain’s Andalusia region, the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia brings the essence of Europe to the heart of Scottsdale. With arching entryways, splashing fountains, floral walkways, and a collection of antiquities hidden throughout the property, Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia is an enchanting resort destination that boasts 293 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, the Moroccan-inspired Joya Spa, six tempting dining options including the critically-acclaimed Prado restaurant, a myriad of radiant pools and breathtaking views. Nestled at the base of Camelback Mountain, the resort’s convenient central location offers easy access to the area’s best golf, recreation, nightlife and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Groupon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelucia Resort And Spa
Montelucia Hotel Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Montelucia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.