We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Inn

Save Saved
You added Hermosa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5532 N. Palo Cristi Rd., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family stayed at the Hermosa Inn for two nights. We booked one casita that connected to one deluxe casita, forming a hacienda. This arrangement worked very well for the family: one room for us and the other for the children, ages 12 & 14, to share.

The rooms were luxurious and spacious including the bathroom which was equally grand. There were special touches like sky lights, walk in closets and a convenient electronic docking station for your camara and cell phone.

The view from the room was lovely as well, I was constantly spying on the birds landing outside our patio door near the jacuzzi.

On our first night we ordered in from the room service menu. It was delivered to the room with aplomb fitting just how good the food was. It is the best room service meal we've had; each of the four selections were delicious.

We found the Inn secluded and classy... no crowds here. Even the walk from the lobby to our rooms was inspiring as you pass by the flower covered pool area and various gardens including a garden filled with statues and other art pieces. The lobby is very inviting, especially with the complementary fresh fruit, water, coffee/tea, and fresh baked cookies!

The concierges were very helpful, providing guidance about the neighborhood. As a result, we ended up taking a lovely walk from the Hermosa Inn along the canal all the way to the Arizona Biltmore. While at the Arizona Biltmore, we signed up for a guided tour of the establishment which we found to be very interesting and worthwhile as it explored the architecture and history of the hotel and surrounding area (before you go: check which days/time they do the tour; there is a $10.00 pp charge if you are not a hotel guest).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your hacienda, the views and the room service from LON's.

Hope to see you again soon - safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    42
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
119
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We've been going to the Hermosa at least once a year (and also dining at Lons - a treat not to be missed) for about 4 years. It is small, old South Western adobe style, gorgeous grounds and plantings, nice quiet private pool area, and especially friendly staff. It is truly a special place - like a home away from home. They provide complimentary unlimted bottles of water for sun bathers, coffee and danish (differing breakfast rolls) in the morning, and nice afternoon tea time treats. Bottom line, we highly recommend the Hermosa - it is a special treat: good for a romatic anniversary; special birthday; or just a great get-away from it all !!!!

Room Tip: I like to stay away far from the pool - much more privacy. All the rooms are very nice and cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review, John and Sally! We love that you've made the Inn and LON's one of your regular retreats and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Safe travels and have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We selected the Hermosa Inn for the last 2 nights of a two week vacation through NV-UT-AZ. It was selected a place to stay before flying back east. It turned out to be so much more! Quiet elegance, Our room was amazing, large, very well appointed, and beautiful.
The staff was helpful and the grounds are amazing. I was very impressed with the pool and spa area and the gardens are truly magnificent.
The coffee and snacks in the morning were a welcome addition to our stay.
We look forward to returning next year for more than 2 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
So happy to hear we could be the setting for an enjoyable end to your two week vacation. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My friends are huge Giants fans and wanted to see them play so I decided to add a little romance and culture to the trip. I couldn't have chosen a better place than the Hermosa Inn. The setting was beautiful with the sculpture gardens and pool along with the quite neighborhood. We also enjoyed the restaurant and sitting under the stars while listening to the great musicians.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your experience with others and we hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I just wanted to give you and the staff at the Hermosa a big “thank you” for such a lovely event on Saturday. It could not have been enjoyed any better. 

Your staff there was top notch, friendly and professional and every attention to detail was met. My husband is in the restaurant business and commented all night (and on Sunday) about the service and especially about Randy and David - and their concern about the event and if everything was to my husband’s satisfaction. Example - they served all the ladies first at the table and then the men….. haven’t seen this at some of the nicer restaurants here in the valley!

The cake was fabulous - your pastry chef did an exquisite job on the taste and the décor of the cake! So happy with it all - please thank her!!

I would highly recommend the hotel for the food, personal service and “character” of the setting - I am new to the Phoenix area and cannot believe there is such a hidden gem in the valley that I hadn’t found yet!

My parents had such a great experience (and they live in California) that they are going to plan their wedding anniversary at the Hermosa Inn! So, we will be seeing all of you again soon -

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you again for the wonderful review! We've passed this on to our team and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Intimate, small hotel in a great central location. Our room, a Rancho, was perhaps a little cosy for two adults, but the patio was great addition. The staff were friendly, outgoing, & without exception made us feel welcome. The food at Lon's was excellent, and sitting out on the patio or around the fire pits made it even better, whether it was breakfast, or dinner. The gardens & pool area are all lovely with several sculptures by local artists. We've stayed at other resorts & hotels in Phoenix/Scottsdale and the Hermosa has been our best experience yet. Would recommend it to anyone from business travellers to families with kids, and we'll certainly be staying there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Rancho a little small, try a Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that out of all the resorts in the Valley you enjoyed Hermosa Inn the most and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hermosa Inn is very quiet and was a good central location. The paintings and sculptures are magnificent on the grounds and inside the main building. The food at Lon's and at The Last Drop bar are excellent. The drinks can get pricey. The overall experience is one that I would do many times over.

Room Tip: The rooms are smaller than in the photos. Nice skylight in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing the experience with others! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Free internet...
Show More
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Restaurant, Spa...
Show More
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Free internet...
Show More
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#2 of 4 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
JW Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort & Spa
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Spa, Pool, Roma...
Show More
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Address: 5532 N. Palo Cristi Rd., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway in the heart of the Valley; minutes from Scottsdale, yet surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley. Originally hand-crafted in the 1930’s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his private residence, the Inn’s adobe architecture has kept its “old Arizona” character and charm. All 34 casitas are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and beautiful desert vistas. The $2 million remodel of the accommodations retains the legendary personality and intimate atmosphere of the original hacienda, while enhancing the accommodations with upgraded amenities for a more luxurious experience. The culinary centerpiece of the Inn is Lon’s at the Hermosa, the celebrated Four Diamond restaurant renowned for “artful American” cuisine, which is complemented by the Last Drop Bar, aptly named after one of the many paintings by Megargee that can be seen throughout the historic inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.