We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hermosa Inn to your Saves list
Hermosa Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5532 N. Palo Cristi Rd., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice quiet retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hermosa Inn is very quiet and was a good central location. The paintings and sculptures are magnificent on the grounds and inside the main building. The food at Lon's and at The Last Drop bar are excellent. The drinks can get pricey. The overall experience is one that I would do many times over.

Room Tip: The rooms are smaller than in the photos. Nice skylight in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing the experience with others! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    46
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
13
133
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We sought out this historic inn for the ambience of the southwest. Great alternative to big hotels and big spa resorts. This place has comfortable spacious rooms with patios and a wonderful central pool with poolside service from the restaurant. Great onsite Lon's restaurant with patio seating and beautiful indoor seating,too. One can walk around the neighborhood and see various styles of southwest architecture, desert landscaping,etc. One suggestion to have brighter light bulbs in the rooms. Really appreciated the mini fridge in the rooms and the bottled water available poolside. Try the spa services,too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others and hope to see you back again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hermosa in March 2013 as a romantic get-away without our child. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff was polite and helpful, the spa accommodations were relaxing, the restaurant (Lon's) was amazing, and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. We would definitely go back and visit the Hermosa. If you are looking for a small, historic hotel away from the super-size resorts then the Hermosa cant be beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Casita. I thought it was worth paying a little extra for a bigger room with a cozy f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad to hear we could set the tone for a great romantic getaway and hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I grew up in Phoenix - in fact less than a mile from the Hermosa Inn and in the ensuing 50 years everything in Phoenix has changed and grown up, often in unflattering ways. The Hermosa Inn is iconic. It sits on a multi-acre plot in a pristine desert setting among homes that range from bungalow sized to sprawling architectural mansions, and remains a converted 1920's era adobe ranchette with some of the loveliest grounds anywhere. The grounds are immaculate and private even though you are mere minutes from a bustling business center and the Biltmore Fashion Plaza. The Hermosa Inn is actually in Paradise Valley which is an upscale residential community; however Phoenix is litteraly a few hundred yards away.
The Hermosa Inn is not for everyone. If you are looking for sleek, modern, over-sized facilities, there are better places to spend your money (the Phoenician, Four Seasons, Camelback Inn, etc.). In fact, to some, the Hermosa Inn is a bit like a motel connected to a four star restaurant. It is also pricey. However, if you want to step back in time and feel like you have left your hectic schedule behind this could be your kind of place. The views of Camelback and Squaw Peak mountains are fabulous and a fifteen minute walk along the canal puts you in the heart of the Biltmore, which remains an oasis in the desert. The rooms are of average size, but seem smaller because they are filled with rustic furniture. Our room had a beehive fireplace that provided a nice atmospheric touch and took the chill off. The bathroom was probably the biggest disappointment. It was small and a bit dated...but functional. The rooms are a bit dark, but in our opinion it didn't matter much because we weren't there to hang out in the room. The pool area is very nice and each room has a small patio that opens onto the grounds.
The restaurant, Lons, is very highly rated and very busy. While there is a nice dining room in the main building, the real treat is dining on the patio. The food and ambiance are top notch and reason enough to stay. The mesquite burning fireplaces impart a lovely aroma throughout the property. The bar is intimate and friendly and a perfect place to end your evening.
All in all, a lovely and authentic western inn located in one of the nicest areas in the valley. One last comment - avoid Phoenix in the summer especially the Hermosa Inn because the air conditioning can't keep up with the heat!

Room Tip: A half dozen rooms open onto the Dining patio which may not be to your liking but they also afford b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the review, Warren! It's great to hear you chose Hermosa Inn for the truly unique AZ experience and we appreciate you sharing that with others on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this vacation through Orbitz and prepaid a king room with a fireplace that was undated. When we arrived! We were shown to the "last" room. Walked in and not only was there no king room, but no fireplace. And it was definitely not updated...and not clean. We immediately were on the phone to American Express and Orbitz simultaneously. Now I really feel badly for the young guy on duty, David, who seemed to understand and agree. His manager, Patty Schwartz, said that we were not entitled to a refund because the Orbitz contract does not require them to give a room type. In fact, she recommended that Orbitz call their booking agent to discuss the contract. So let me get this straight, we pay 350 a night for a room with a King and a fireplace, but since we booked through Orbitz we are given whatever they have? The last room even if its way out of date? Way unacceptable and pure fraud. They had plenty business which if the rest of the rooms looked like the one we saw, then the other reviewers have no travel experience. This place looks good on the outside, but a dump on the inside! Go stay at the Sanctuary!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the review - we’re so sorry to hear about your experience and the inconvenience that was caused surrounding your booking with Orbitz.

I spoke with our Director of Guest Services, Pam Swartz, and she would be happy to speak with you further regarding this experience. You can reach her via email at PSwartz@HermosaInn.com or her direct line at 602.955.7586.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Scottsdale area several times but this was our first time at the Hermosa. Friends had recommended it to us and now it's my pleasure to do the same here. There are many upscale hotels in which to stay around the Scottsdale area and several of them are very nice--for hotels. But we found the Hermosa to be our best experience yet! Although you have several choices of casita styles/prices, we were lucky enough to be in one of their Grande Casitas for 5 nights. All of the staff, from the gardeners to management were very friendly and helpful. With the added benefit of having the highly regarded Lon's restaurant on site for breakfast, lunch or dinner, you don't even have to leave the property to enjoy your stay. The service, the atmosphere and the accomodations are all top notch. Highly recommended if you want more privacy and are not a huge fan of the big hotel experience or just want to try something different!

Room Tip: Look for specials and upgrades to help your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review, Gary! We're so happy to hear you chose Hermosa Inn and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we visited this charming property in May for a friends's wedding. we selected a casita type room. upgrade if you can! the pool and dining terraces are lovely. What i enjoyed the most were the brunches, the location( proximate to Taliesin West) , the hiking we enjoyed on Camelback mountain, and tge late night cocktails around the firepit. I would recommed for a couples getaway
and would love to return.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible to grand casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Address: 5532 N. Palo Cristi Rd., Paradise Valley, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway in the heart of the Valley; minutes from Scottsdale, yet surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley. Originally hand-crafted in the 1930’s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his private residence, the Inn’s adobe architecture has kept its “old Arizona” character and charm. All 34 casitas are surrounded by spectacular landscaping and beautiful desert vistas. The $2 million remodel of the accommodations retains the legendary personality and intimate atmosphere of the original hacienda, while enhancing the accommodations with upgraded amenities for a more luxurious experience. The culinary centerpiece of the Inn is Lon’s at the Hermosa, the celebrated Four Diamond restaurant renowned for “artful American” cuisine, which is complemented by the Last Drop Bar, aptly named after one of the many paintings by Megargee that can be seen throughout the historic inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.