We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark Bison Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added WorldMark Bison Ranch to your Saves list
WorldMark Bison Ranch
2341 Quarter Horse Trail, P.O. Box 2365, Overgaard, AZ 85933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Overgaard
GreenLeadersBronze level
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This resort is first rate even in the off season/shoulder season. Our 2BR/2BA unit was very large, clean and had a very well-equipped kitchen. There is a washer/dryer in the unit and a BBQ on the balcony which was easy to use. While the pool was not yet heated, the hot tub was, as well as the childrens pool. There is a nice playground and open areas for kids to play. There is a nice clubhouse with pool tables and ping pong, which you can use for a nominal charge. There is a very small exercise room. And while we stayed here on a timeshare exchange, there was no sales push. The businesses on the grounds were all closed, most due to open mid-April. The staff here were very friendly. This resort is located in the small town of Overgaard. There is almost nothing to do in the town itself, but if you are willing to drive, there are several wonderful day trips to take, including the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert National Park. Couple of other things. The grocery store in town is small with a fairly poor selection of foods, and the produce was marginal. There is a Safeway in Show Low (35 miles) and one in Payson (40 miles), so stop there to do your shopping. And while the wifi works great, there is a weekly charge of $14.95, and you can only hook up 2 items. You cannot purchase additional service. This is a real inconvenience. For the 3 of us with 2 Ipads, one laptop and one Kindle Fire, we had to make the decision as to which two items would be on the wifi.
We would definately stay here again, and would recommend this to our friends. The resort and the set up of the units made this a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool/playground area are nice if you have kids, so you are able to sit on your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Simons Island, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The unit is huge. Extremely large bathrooms, nice kitchen. The kids loved the game room and spent all their time there while we were at the resort. The staff is so friendly and goes out of their way to be helpful. I was really impressed with the comfort of the units. The fireplace was perfect, nice front and back balcony/porch. We used the barbecue grill and the individually packaged spices were perfect for spaghetti night. The sheets were soft, beds comfortable. I wouldn't change a thing. It's one of the nicest places we've stayed with the family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a wonderful resort. The staff couldn't be any more helpful. The resort is very well maintained. We stayed there in January. Temps were in the 50s. Our only complaint was that there are activities scheduled by the resort, but they are not very well publicized. Only a small calendar posted on a bulletin board in the lobby. There was talk of a welcoming event, but the fact that week-long guests check in on both Fridays and Saturdays seemed to cause the staff to be confused themselves as to whether and when such an event would be held. The result was that no such event occurred, plus none of the scheduled activities (such as bingo) happened because no one other than us signed up. It was obvious to us that this was because other guests didn't know about them. Aside from that, our experience at the resort was very positive and we would recommend it to others without any qualifications.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. There was some noise from kids running and bouncing on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

First, this is a highly seasonal resort. During the winter, the sidewalks are poorly maintained and become icy death-traps. I almost killed myself on an ice covered ramp at night. Further, activities like horsebacking and hiking become far less pleasurable in the dead of winter and (like many worldmark resorts) the local towns have next to no tourism value. The nearest movie theater is 40 minutes away, there are only 2 or 3 restaurants nearby...etc.

Secondly, but not entirely unrelated to my first point: shopping and local patronage, hiking, fishing, etc. Will only entertain you for so long. You will need some age appropriate entertainment for your guests.
___________

Worldmark resorts don't compare to other hotels as a general rule. All (Most) of them have full kitchens, 3 and 4 bedroom units aren't un-common. If I were to book a best western or doubletree therefore, and receive the room I did, it would be a five. As an owner though, I have to compare this property against the others and I was a little unhappy with the room I received.

The knives were dull, there were really bad hard-water build-up in the sinks and showers, poor water-pressure besides, the furniture was oddly laid out, as were the rooms, there was no tub in the master suite. Some of these things (like dull knives and hard-water, not to mention a poorly maintained public space in the winter) speak to bad management.

On the other hand, the unit did have 2 balconies including a private one in the master. The decorations were nice, the hand-carved dining room set was a nice touch and the boardwalk area was generally delightful, although it suffers from abandoned storefronts and over-priced specialty shops that seem out of place, like a soap boutique and a Christmas store that also sells 50 dollar handbags for 150.

In my opinion you should plan no more than 7 days here, even during the spring and probably no more than 4-5 here during the off season.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We live south of Tucson and try to escape the heat several times during the summer months. Last year we went to Pinetop, this year we decided to give Bison Ranch Resort a try. We were both very pleased with the accommodations and the friendly staff. The unit is fully furnished including a washer and dryer. There are 2 decks and you own gas grill. The resort provided coffee, tea and dish detergent, but remember to bring your own shampoo and conditioner (they do not provide this). We were in a bottom floor unit which avoids the steps, but you do have the noise from the unit above. The resort is located by a western town with shops and restaurants within walking distance. There is a well stocked IGA store about 5 miles away. If you want to venture farther, Show Low and Pinetop are about 30 minutes away. Darby's in Pinetop is great place to eat. We also ate at the Red Onion which was very good. The resort provides information on multiple day trips and the staff provides local flavor of the area. There is a charge for wireless in the room, but you can use their PC or wireless in the lobby free of charge. It was a very good place for a quiet vacation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at this World Mark Resort for an overnighterr stay on my way home. Wish my stay would have been longer to have time to explorer the resort and city.
While driving through town seeking for Bison Ranch, Overgaard seemed quite peaceful....compared to the large city that I reside in. The most vehicles that I saw that evening was at the local American Legion parking.
Once I arrived at the resort, I entered the wrong building. Luckily I saw an announcement on a bulletin board explaining World Mark check-in was at a different building. I didn't mind walking to the correct building that does have a large sign stating " World Mark" on the front doors.
When I entered my room, I was very pleased....felt like home. After a few minutes, the front desk called to do a "follow-up". I appreciated that!
I didn't want to go out of the area to purchase dinner, therefore, I decided to order pizza from the resort. Sadly, it was after 9 p.m. and I was unable to place an order...they were closed by 8:30 p.m. It was then that I realized that many local restraunts close early in Overgaard. I settled with a candy bar from the vending machine located in the game room. The facilities in the resort close at 10 pm (swimming pool and game room) Didn't get the opportunity to seek for a gym at the resort.
Although I was at Bison Ranch for a few hours, I definately enjoyed my stay. I really hope I get another opportunity to stay at this location in the future.

Room Tip: I did not have an elevator to second floor. Not sure if all rooms are in second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We live in the SW corner of Utah where it gets really hot during the summer so we use our timeshares to try to escape the heat by going up in elevation. We had never been to the Mogollon (pronounced Moe-ge-own) Rim area so decided to try a four night stay at the Worldmark Bison Ranch timeshare. We booked this using our Wyndham points during the third week of August. We figured this should give us a good idea of the weather during the summer.

The Mogollon Rim is a steep escarpment (elevation about 7000’) dividing the northern plateau region from the lower central and southern areas. The rim offers a trails as well as lakes for recreation. Time wise the Rim Country is about three hours from the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. While we were there Phoenix was 115 during the day but we had temperatures in the mid 80s. It was “monsoon” season for AZ, so it would be clear in the morning, clouds start building mid-morning and by 1-3pm thunderheads with lighting/thunder. Rain came during the rest of the afternoon, but it was spotty. It did this every day we were there, but it didn’t interfere with our activities too much.

This area of AZ isn’t really near any major attractions. Most things require a 1.5 to 2 hours of driving (Petrified Forest, Painted Desert, etc.). The closest towns are Payson and Show Low. Most people that stay in the area are from the valley (Phoenix) and are getting out of the heat and to relax. All the resorts are family oriented. There is fishing, hiking, and horseback riding nearby. During the winter there is skiing near the Pinetop resorts. Now that you have an idea of the area, in addition to staying at Bison Ranch, we also visited Kohl’s Ranch, Worldmark Pinetop and the two timeshares at the Roundhouse Resort in Pinetop. An advantage of staying at the Pinetop resorts is that you are closer to a town and groceries.

Worldmark Bison Ranch is in Overgaard (elevation 6500’) and was built in 2001, designed to look like a western town from the 1800’s. The units are either up or downstairs with windows on both sides so you get good ventilation through the unit. This resort does have air conditioning, although we only used it one day for a couple of hours. We stayed in #112 which was on the end of one of the buildings. It was a two bed-two bath unit of just under 1100 sq. ft. As you entered, the fully stocked kitchen was ahead with the dining on the left, then the living area. Worldmarks have a Murphy bed and this unit had plenty of space behind the couch to bring the bed down. There was a gas fireplace and entertainment unit. Besides the couch there were two club chairs, both quite comfortable. Besides the coffee table in front of the couch, there was a sofa table behind it. We used it and the dining table for working puzzles. There was an eating counter with two bar stools facing the kitchen (we used the coffee table when the puzzles were out). The TV had a limited selection of channels. Although they had satellite, to keep costs down they didn’t have the “big” package. You had 10-12 channels, but something for everyone – sports, kids, news, and regular. You had the Today show but no GMA in the morning. The weather channel was pretty useless as the “Weather on the Eights” didn’t cover the area, not even Phoenix. Going down the hall there was a closet for the washer/dryer combo and the second bathroom. It had a single sink with a tub/shower combination. At the end of the hall was the second bedroom. It had two twin beds, small chest of drawers but no TV. To the left at the end of the hall was the master bedroom. It had a king bed, chair, two night stands and a small chest with a flat screen TV. The attached bathroom was a single sink with a step-in shower. Be aware that Worldmark doesn’t supply shampoo, etc.

The resort has an outdoor pool and hot tub as well as a kiddie pool. There is also an area for horse shoes and a small playground with a slide/jungle gym combo. In the main building there is one computer/printer, arcade games, two pool tables, air hockey table and a ping pong table. There is a nice workout room that has a treadmill, recumbent bike and a universal gym that shows how to work most muscle groups. Two people can use the space at once, but it gets crowded quickly (we took turns). There is a schedule of limited activities that is given to you at check-in. There is a take-one/leave-one library as well as videos to rent. The staff is very friendly and willing to help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WorldMark Bison Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Bison Ranch

Address: 2341 Quarter Horse Trail, P.O. Box 2365, Overgaard, AZ 85933
Location: United States > Arizona > Overgaard
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Overgaard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your WorldMark Bison Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bison Ranch Hotel Overgaard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark Bison Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.