We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name Is Right On” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J Marinara's - CLOSED

J Marinara's
8195 N Oracle Rd, Oro Valley, AZ
520-989-3654
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: There phone # 520-989-3654
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The Name Is Right On”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wow, the marinara is really, really great. They sell it by the jar. All the other food is just as good. The place doesn't have the best location, with a view of a Shell station, but if I had to choose between good food and good view, I'd go with the food every time. If you're reading this, then you probably care about food and flavor, so go to this place. Our server said the chef won Iron Chef Tucson and I believe it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tucson, az
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“All-in-all, for Tucson, this is pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Delicious Lobster Ravioli with Sumptuous Shrimp topped in a lovely Champagne Tarragon Cream Sauce
Linguine in Marinara Sauce with Meatball
Lemoncello Cake
This was the order for our two-top last Saturday night. (oh and a glass of chianti, of course)
We had tried J Marinara awhile back when it first opened, it was just okay.
I had read on Tripadvisor that they were under new management, so we figured we give them another shot.
My plate of Ravioli was heavenly, I’d like to go back and try their other filled pasta dishes.
DH ordered Linguini (he really wanted Rigatoni as many American-Italians would, but alas they only had Penne, not the same) Marinara with Meatball. He could have chosen Sausage, Chicken or Shrimp on his pasta, as it is ordered as a side order. If you want more than one BIG meatball, be sure to mention that.
Our entrees came with a house salad and a basket of bread. Not to ding them, but the bread could have been Italian instead of a French loaf, but that's not easy to find in the greater Tucson area.
Having looked up the menu offerings prior to going that evening, I knew that I wanted to save room for dessert. Lemoncello Cake, it was nice, but if I were making it, I would soak more of the Lemoncello simple syrup on to the cake.
As the title of this review starts out, All-in-all, for Tucson, this is pretty good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Delicious Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This review will sound similar to an earlier one, but we are four different people and we experienced the same amazing experience. We, also, used a certificate from Groupon for four people. The appetizer, shrimp cocktail, entrees that included ribeye steak and veal picatta with a delicious linguine w/marinara sauce, and dessert of cannoli and cheesecake, were absolutely wonderful!! We also enjoyed our selection of wines. I must admit we had gone to this restaurant when they first opened and were not impressed. But changes made were for the best. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“all over great experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

First time there. They immediately accepted our Groupon. Our server, Todd, was really helpful, happy and polite. We had two different main meals. Both great flavor, appearance and quantity. We had the best calamari (and big portion) as appetizer. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“J Marinaras - Excellent Service, Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Four of us went to J Marinara's for a birthday Dinner. We had never been there before and all ordered something different from each other.
We ordered Diablo Penne Pasta with creamy lobster sauce--topped with shrimp, Lobster Ravioli, Chicken Marsala and the mixed seafood dinner. Every meal was absolutely delicious. The marinara sauce as well as the Tiaramisu were the best I've ever had.
The portions were more than adequate. Three of us took home leftovers.
We went there with a Groupon coupon, but definitely go back when wanting great Italian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Marinara's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Marinara's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.