We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal Great Presentation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Charro Cafe

El Charro Cafe
7725 N Oracle Rd # 101, Oro Valley, AZ
520-229-1922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Oro Valley
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Meal Great Presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I celebrated Mother's day at El Charro Café in Oro Valley. We have eaten there many times but, this time it was a little different. Both of our meals came with eye catching presentation and, it was clear, the chef has increased the focus of their meals to delight the customers. In the past, although the Mexican food was great, the presentation was basically equivalent to other Mexican, American and Italian restaurants in the area. This time, both my wife's meal and mine came with attention to detail. (Unfortunately, I had cut into my meal before I thought to snap a picture of our meals, so the one picture is of only one of our meals. Mine was three Enchiladas which had been presented in a fan shape, having a presentation of colorful mixed vegetables at the tight end of the fan. My wife's as you can see, came in a more traditional stacked arrangement which blended the refried beans before the Chimmy and the accoutrements arranged on the other side of the Chimmy.

Well done and both meals were excellent!

The wait staff was very attentive and often stopped by to ensure drinks and salsa were refreshed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good service, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am an old Boomer that grew up here. We would at El Charro if we stopped in Tucson while I was growing up. It was always a family favorite. Had not eaten at el Charro since 1981. This location has lots of good parking and great food. I used to gorge on cheese enchiladas but those days are long gone. I had a wonderful vegetarian burro full of great vegetables that could easily be made vegan if I just asked them to hold the dairy. My husband enjoyed his vegetarian enchilada. Most items have meat or fish - so never fear! Great chips and salsa.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There were three of us. We had a short wait for a table and sat at the outside bar. The female bar tender spent a lot of time with us and we had a ball with her. She was so good that we insisted that she be our waitress. She made it a great evening and she mixed the best margarita I have had in a long time.

The food was great.

Back again, you can count on it!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stopped in today for a quick lunch. The service wasn't as quick as usual but okay. We love this place. The food is always great. Chips and salsa = YUM!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food great staff every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is our third visit to Tucson and our third visit to El Charro. We think it's great. The house margarita was amazing! We sat outside at the bar and the bartender's were attentive and gave us great recommendations. The food was delicious. We will visit the next time we're in Tucson.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charro Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Charro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charro Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.