We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 8 in disguise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10150 North Oracle Road, Oro Valley, AZ 85737 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Tucson North-Oro Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Motel 8 in disguise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Over priced, poor room layout, dated bathroom. They do have nice amenities, but if you do not use, you are paying for others experience. The breakfast room was clean and the food a little above average, but certainly not up to expectations. The lobby reception was good, though I noticed the television was always tuned to what the reception clerk wanted to watch, which most people staying at the hotel had no interest in, MTV. I would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment with our Inn. We realize that you have many choices when it comes to lodging. We have shared your comments with our staff and will make the appropriate changes so that problems that you encountered do not occur in the future. Thank you for sharing your thought. Sincerely, WGN, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
22
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Almost no one at the Inn. Very clean and well-maintained. Good location for shopping and dining. A great view of the mountains to the east and almost no traffic noise, although the hotel is next to Oracle Road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. Our staff is pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you into the Tucson/Oro Valley area. Thank you again, Sincerely, WGNintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for business and found it to be one of the best Fairfields I've stayed at - actually better than many Courtyards. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and pleasant. The room had all the important business features, but also was quite lovely, and the bed was very comfy. The free breakfast was fresh and very good. The pool is small, but has plenty of chairs and shade and the lobby has a large screen TV and easy chairs. I used my free time to hike on a great trail less than a mile away from the hotel. All in all, I highly recommend this place even for those whose business is beyond Oro Valley. My activities were in the northeast and it was an easy 15-minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for recognizing our hotel with such a positive review. Our staff works very had to make each guest experience a positve one and they will be happy to hear that their efforts did not go unrecognized. We look forward to serving you again next time your travels bring you into the Tucson/Oro Valley area. Thanks again, WG Nintzel, MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to use this resort as our hotel of choice for our out-of-town classmates and were not disappointed. All who stayed at this facility raved about its cleanliness, its accomodations, and the friendliness and efficiency of its staff. These comments were not just from ordinary travelers: they come from members of our 1960 high school class, many have traveled around the globe and the US!

Highly recomment this facility to any individual or group. Not only is Oro Valley a secret to visitors to Tucson; it has a great facility for travelersthat is economical and with a friendly and efficient staff!

Room Tip: Resturants in the area, not on site. No room service but resturants close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for bringing such a wonderful group to our hotel. We really enjoyed hosting your class reunion. We are glad that the feedback you received was positive. 100% satisfaction is our goal and our staff is glad that we succeeded. Whenever you have hotel needs in our area we hope that you'll choose the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott. Thank you again for the great review. Sincerely, William Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here recently with a group of 17 high school students and about 12 adults. We were in town competing for the Arizona state Odyssey of the Mind competition. We have stayed at this hotel for years, and find it to be very welcoming! The hotel is clean and comfortable, with amazing views of the Santa Catalina mountains from the patio and pool area. The breakfast area is also very clean and spacious, with varied and healthy offerings available. The hotel's common spaces are very comfortable and spacious, both indoor and out. The lobby offers hot coffee/water (with tea makings) all day. The spacious patio adjacent to the pool (the one with the amazing views!) offers a large grill and tiled counter space for outdoor parties. The hotel staff are all friendly and eager to help.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be well-insulated -- even right next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We really enjoy hosting your group each year and we are very happy that you did so well in the competition! Keep up the great work! We look forward to seeing you all again next year. Thanks again. William Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were in Oro Valley to see our grandchildren play baseball and softball. In addition we came to visit our granddaughter at the University of Arizona.
Our stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites was wonderful. Our room was exceptionally clean with microwave and fridge. I always worry about the shower when we travel but this shower was great. Good pressure and lots of hot water.
The breakfast was excellent, the breakfast room bright and airy. I cannot say enough about the lovely lady who took care of us. As a matter of fact the entire staff is great!. We come to Tucson often and this will be our new home away from home. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We strive to make every stay for every guest problem free and enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, William Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed in a lot of Fairfields. (7 this trip) and this is the best we have ever stayed in. The breakfast room is tops!! and so was breakfast...lots of choices and well made. The staff is great. We had "an upgraded room" although the manager said that all the rooms were like ours.Just ask for a room not overlooking the pool because of the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments concerning our Inn. We appreciate the postive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our hospitality and hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip "out west". Always nice to have visitors from the great state of Maine! Thanks again! William Nintzel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley

Address: 10150 North Oracle Road, Oro Valley, AZ 85737 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Tucson North-Oro Valley)
Location: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Oro Valley is a 100% non-smoking, all suites hotel nestled at the base of beautiful Pusch Ridge in the Catalina Mountains. When traveling on business to one of our high tech neighbors including Honeywell, Securaplane, Ventana Medical Systems, Copper Mine Industry, Northwest Medical Center, or retirement communities, Saddlebrooke, Sun City Vistoso, or Splendido to our north, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the choice in Northwest Tucson! Close to the Oro Valley Marketplace with its Cinemark Theater and Walmart Supercenter opening soon.Stay Smart and experience the incredible serenity of the area away from the hustle and bustle of the big city and enjoy a relaxing game of golf on one of the World Class Golf Courses just minutes away. Check out Biosphere 2, Old Tucson Studios or the Sonora Desert Museum nearby. There are also some excellent restaurants, nightlife and shopping close to the hotel. Work out in our Exercise Room or take a dip in our Outdoor Heated Pool. If relaxing is more your style, enjoy the mountain view as you soak up that Arizona sunshine in our Soothing Spa or laze on the pool deck. Check your email on your computer or ours with our free high-speed Internet access and 24-hour business center.Wake up each morning to the smell of our premium roast coffee and Express Start Breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley
Holiday Inn Oro Valley
Oro Valley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.