We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Similar flavors throughout but lots of food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flavor of India

Flavor of India
12112 North Rancho Vistoso Boulevard, Oro Valley, AZ 85755
520.544.3005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Oro Valley
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Similar flavors throughout but lots of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Under a local promotion we had $60 worth of food to eat between the two of us. That gave us a great opportunity to try many dishes on the large menu. We are quite familiar with Indian food in general, eat it frequently home and away. Flavor of India is located in the extreme north western portion of the Tucson metro area, and this was our first time here. This place is far more attractive than most of the local restaurants, larger, lighter, with big windows facing south and east and a great view of the mountains. It was nearly empty when we arrived for a very early dinner but the place filled up as we ate. We also noticed that they do a very active take out business. Our server was friendly and polite, as was the owner, who walked around adjusting the window shades as the light changed. We went straight for the main dishes, skipping the appetizers because most are deep fried and we're not fond of that. Between us we ordered shrimp saag, nargisi ghosht, a lamb dish, what should have been bhindi masala, akbari biryani, a rice dish with fish, shrimp and vegetables, navrattan, curried mixed vegetables, and garlic naan and aloo paratha for breads. The portions were generous and the prices were on the low end of the scale, both good things. While we love to eat and appreciate large portions three things bothered us: First, Indian food has complex spicing, and each type of dish has a different combination of spices, which should result in different flavors from dish to dish. Unfortunately, all the dishes we ate seemed very similarly spiced, which meant that everything tasted very much the same. Second, we ordered bhindi masala, okra, and the kitchen substituted chana masala, chick peas, without asking us, because they didn't have okra. We would have liked to be consulted. Third, when we ordered we were asked to specify a heat level for each dish. We asked for medium across the board except for the lamb, for which I specified "crazy hot", their term. All the dishes were no more than mildly spiced, and the lamb, though quite rich and good, was no hotter than the rest. We were really disappointed! Everything was totally deficient in the heat department, we really didn't get what we asked for, but we didn't want to send back the entire meal. So, I would say you get your money's worth here, because portions are large and prices are low. But the food is rather boringly similar in taste from one dish to the next, and you may have to work overtime to convince them that when you say "hot" you mean it. I'm not sure we'll ever try them again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What has happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We started going to Flavor of India some time ago, just after they opened. At that time it wasn't bad. Tonight we invited some new friends out. What is going on? Two dishes where not good at all. An order of Naan was forgotten. One other thing. Our sever could have been a little more friendly. We are sorry but we will be moving on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, not typical atmosphere for an Indian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Service and food was great. Portions were large, atmosphere was catered to their lunch time buffet. For dinner the restaurant was large and not as inviting. However, the food is worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent value.........the buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have often skipped by Indian restaurants because we never thought we knew enough about the menu. Exotic names of foods we have no familiarity with. Why not try the lunch buffet and find out? We did, and we loved it. Each item is described in such a way that you can choose what you want too try, and know what you're eating. Very good bargain price for nicely prepared warm and tasty foods. The service was prompt and accommodating, and the atmosphere was cordial. A friendly place in our neighborhood to which we will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like Friends in India described their cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I write to many friends in all parts of India. Often they send me photos of family gatherings at home or in restaurants. They describe each dish and even offer to send me recipes. Recently friends from Seattle asked us to find an Indian restaurant near our home, and to join them.

Flavor of India is only a 5 min. drive from my home and though I had passed it many times I never considered eating there based on some bad meals we had had many years ago. Because our friends were Indian food devotees my husband and I agreed we should try it and made reservations for the 6 of us.

What a pleasant surprise. First of all, the spacious, well appointed restaurant with a breathtaking view of the Catalina mountains. Secondly,
the very friendly wait staff and manager who went out of their way to describe the various dishes to us. The manager even invited us to tour his kitchen, which we will do on our next visit.

Everyone ordered different entrees, but all agreed on Mulgitawny Soup.
It was so delicious - especially with garlic and cheese naan bread that it
would have made a meal all by itself.

The chicken dishes were not only delicious but the presentation was lovely as well. Topping things off with bottles of Indian beer was the perfect libation, as recommended by our server.

Shortly after we placed our order, a stream of diners began entering the restaurant -- a sure sign to me that the food was good.

Whether you love Indian food or are just curious about it, you cannot go wrong by visiting the Flavor of India restaurant in beautiful Oro Valley!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavor of India also viewed

 

Been to Flavor of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavor of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.