We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Price and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11075 North Oracle Road, Oro Valley, AZ 85737 (Formerly Oro Valley Hotel and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent for Price and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are looking to stay in the Oro Valley area, this hotel provides a clean and what looks like newly renovated atmosphere. It definitely isn't a 4 or 5 star resort, but the rooms were a good size and very clean; the beds comfortable. A breakfast buffet is provided, else there are plenty of places around to grab food (strip malls with shops and food places) to the north and south of the hotel. There is a fitness room that was larger than expected. The location is good for Oro Valley, but the Tucson attractions can be up to 40 minutes away, but the drives are usually pretty as there are mountains as backdrops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
21
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Quick, easy check in. No issues with room or bill. Location was ideal for us to visit family in Oro Valley. Breakfast was decent, kids loved the waffle maker and juice machine. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First room we were given had a serious plumbing problem. Staff immediately assigned us a different room. They were very courteous and responsive to our needs, and met our requests without delay. I have stayed here before, and will do so again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have stayed here twice now on business, both times for two weeks at a time.

During my first stay, I noticed that someone had thrown out a bunch of food in the trash can in the vending area and also put a few extra bags of trash around the trash can. That trash all stayed there for a week until I complained that it wasn't being cleaned and was starting to stink.

The second time I stayed there, it was exactly the same problem. Then I realized that people weren't putting extra bags of trash there. The can was full and people were stacking it up around the can. This time, I waited to see how long it would take before anyone cleaned it up. They never did. I finally mentioned it to the front desk after 12 days.

Inside the room, there is one glass cup by the ice. I'm paranoid that they don't replace them on a daily basis. I noticed that there was a scratch on the bottom of the glass on the first week. I filled it with water and left it. The same glass was there at night, but emptied and dried. I don't know if housekeeping is using dishwashing detergent to clean this one cup, but I doubt it.

There is a sign by the bed that says they'll change the sheets every third day for extended stays, like me. The same sheets, with the same stain, stayed on my bed the entire time. I guess that's okay with me since I was the only one using the sheets and I did see them strip down a bed between guests in another room.

The walls are thin. I can hear the people talking in the rooms next to me, and the "doorbell" sound the elevator makes can be heard all the way down the hall.

Also, it's not clear if this hotel is owned by Wyndham or is something else. When I sign on to the free wi-fi, it directs me to the Wyndham website, and there is Wingate by Wyndham literature and directories in the rooms, so I guess it's Wyndham.

Now for the good stuff.

The views around here are beautiful and there is a hiking trail adjacent to the hotel. It's also in a nicer area. Other than Chili's, there is nothing within about a mile, so there isn't any through traffic in the parking lot, so that helps with the noise. The hotel is also set off a little from the main road, so I couldn't hear any traffic.

Breakfast was okay. I can't complain because it's free. It's a standard continental breakfast - juice, coffee, bagels, waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits (and gravy!) Also, free USA Today on weekdays.

The "high speed" internet was free. It includes both wired and wireless, but in my first room, the wired didn't work and the wireless was slow. The second time, both worked and the speed was fine.

The rooms are a nice size and overall were clean and looked newer. The rooms have a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot.

The workout room is nice and has new, high-quality equipment (treadmill, elliptical, bike, and weight machine.) I haven't used the pool or hot-tub, but the area looks nice.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful with questions about the area.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This was a super nice hotel, room,pool,spa, the front desk person. The food in the AM was also good, seems no one knows about it, but stay here instead on the city limits of Tucson.
They even had a special lift at the hot tub so a handicap person could also enjoy the hot tub.
That was cool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Comfortable room, a few minor issues with faucet and electrical socket. Windows in eating area looking out to pool and Catalina Mountains very dirty. All in all pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North

Address: 11075 North Oracle Road, Oro Valley, AZ 85737 (Formerly Oro Valley Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oro Valley's newest hotel. Formerly Wingate by Wyndham. Beautiful views of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Chili's restaurant in parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.