We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nogales

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Nogales to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   850 W Shell Road, I-19 and Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nogales
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Clean and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for one night during a recent trip where we needed to spend some time over the border. The hotel is easy to find - just off the interstate, and a very quick drive to the border crossing (we crossed on foot and paid $4 to park in a lot on the US side). We arrived around 10PM and check-in was very quick. The place seemed very empty and was very quiet- we stayed a Friday night and I assume during the week it is much busier. The room was very large, clean and the bed was OK (not super comfortable but not horrible either). I liked the bedding - the king bed had 2 firm and 2 soft pillows plus a throw blanket. Heat/AC was easy to control but was a little noisy. We didn't have time for breakfast but we grabbed some yogurt and fruit to have later - the breakfast looked like it had a good selection of cereal and also had waffles to toast and some other breads. All in all a good experience - no complaints. If we ever need to go to Nogales MX early in a morning we'll stay here again.

  • Liked — clean smoke-free rooms, quick check-in and check-out
  • Disliked — bed was a little rubbery
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
9
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

This was a great choice for us: three female business travellers. Pros: Easy access; very large, very clean rooms; polite & attentive staff; and a serviceable breakfast bar made for a pleasant, safe stay. Nice view overlooking the pool, too. Highly recommended. Cons: Small parking area.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I've stayed here several times in the past year as my fiance is from Nogales, Mexico. Each time I grow to like this hotel more and more. Always friendly and helpful staff (with smiles), CLEAN rooms, great breakfast, close to border, quiet, big room...it's all good. I have family and friends flying in from all over the country for the wedding in Nogales, Mexico...they'll all be staying here at the Holiday Inn Express Nogales, AZ! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Rim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed at the HI Express on Jun 09th. I second all the previous opinions of this hotel. Very good value for the money with large and clean rooms. Good Breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

Thanks to TripAdvisor reviewers for recommending this hotel. Based on that advice, we stayed after a day of visiting Tubac and the missions along the I-19. Because of our stay at the HIX we were able to move on the next day to Patagonia, Sierra Vista and Bisbee, ending at Benson - this would not be possible if we had gone back to Tucson for the night.

As others have noted, the staff is very friendly, parking is a cinch, the rooms are incredibly large and clean and there is no outside noise. Breakfast was great and for once there were plenty of tables.

This hotel also has a real business centre with Internet access in a separate room off the lobby. For once, we had no trouble accessing it to send messages home.

We had an excellent dinner with professional service just down the road at Mr. C's, which overlooks the valley and is very attractive at night. The cost was very reasonable given the quality of the food and the service.

  • Liked — Huge room
  • Disliked — Location behind a gas station, but it didn't really matter
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

This hotel is a definite keeper. Travel to Nogales on business several times a year. We have a corporate account with a resort up the highway. They were not too accomodating when my reservations were mixed up. Had to find another hotel at 11pm, adn went to the Holiday Inn. Glad I did. I've been comming back here for thepast 2 years. Great breakfast bufet, friendly and accomodating staff. Clean rooms, wonderful price.

  • Liked — Soft beds
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

Stayed there April of 2006. For the price I wasn't expecting a clean, large, updated hotel with friendly and courteous staff. I was totally shocked at how nice this hotel is. It is good to know that there are still some places out there that give you such a good deal for your hard earned money. For the price we paid ($98) a night, this hotel was comparable to some higher end hotels located near the foothills in tucson. Definetly well worth the price. It is also very convenient to to the main highway (19) and a very good stop if you are visiting Tucson and decide to visit Nogales Sonora. I will stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nogales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nogales

Address: 850 W Shell Road, I-19 and Mariposa Road, Nogales, AZ 85621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Nogales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nogales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nogales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales, Arizona is designed for business and built for pleasure. We are conveniently located one hour south of the Tucson International Airport and just minutes away from the Mexico Border. Our close proximity to Mexico is great for both business and leisure travelers as it allows our guests access to 109 American companies such as Motorola, Fortune Brands, Kimberly Clark, Xerox, etc. as well as a wide variety of shopping, dining and tour options in Nogales, Sonora Mexico. The City of Nogales and its neighboring towns such as Tubac, Patagonia, Sonoita and Elgin are rich in history, culture and wildlife. With its majestic mountains and untouched desert landscapes its no wonder the area is home to one of the largest varieties of birds and as such, is internationally renowned among bird watching communities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales offers oversized rooms with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed wireless internet, not to mention an unforgettable experience filled with such activities as wine tasting at local vineyards, golfing, shopping, bird watching and unique cultural and historical ventures. Whether visiting the area on business or pleasure we are your ideal hospitality provider. We look forward to hosting you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Nogales, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nogales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nogales Hotel Nogales
Holiday Inn Nogales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Nogales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.