We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sky's the limit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter Observatory

Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter Observatory
The University of Arizona, Mount Lemmon, AZ
520-626-8122
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums, Museums
Attraction details
Northumberland UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The sky's the limit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It really is when you take Adam Block's excellently presented Sky Nights Star Gazing experience. Adam tried to get across to us the sheer scale of the universe for people who thought it had been a long drive from Tucson, then he showed us the moon, Jupiter and galaxies (hope I got that right) through his amazing telescope as well as outdoor observations just through binoculars. The gasps and wows said it all. But heed his advice:Wrap Up Warm

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best thing to do if you are visiting Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When we drove into Tucson, Mt Lemmon wasn't on our "to do" list. How we missed it during our internet research for our trip....who knows. We spotted this very impressive mountain range looming over Tucson.....and with further net surfing we found that the SkyCenter Observatory is located
at the 2,775 meter summit of Mt Lemmon. As a couple who love sky gazing and high places, we had to go. Initial attempts to book for the SkyNight were unsuccessful as they were sold out, but a lucky cancellation secured our spots at the top of the mountain, under the big sky. Adam Block does it all, greets, drives the bus, feeds his guests and introduces them to the tools to observe the sky for day and the night. So many interest facts and memories are now part of our life experience - simple brilliant. Do yourself a favor....if you are in Arizona..spend 5 hours with Adam at the Mt Lemmon SkyCenter...its an experience of a lifetime.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
“Impressive! Informative! Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A wonderful trip to a very special place! The hosts were excellent presenters and kept us enthralled with great views of the sky. We discovered new worlds and now understand the scale of space and time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“My Heavens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a unique and creative experience for us. The experience takes a little bit of pre-planning and investment of time. We needed to be on the mountain at 4:00 pm so we left Tucson at 2:30. The program ended at 9:00 pm and we were back in hotel around 10:30.

The experience is one that few people will have done. The instruction was very professional – yet lighthearted for us amateurs. We guarantee you will like it – and we guarantee few, if any, of your friends have had a similar experience.

You will spend time outside. Remember to dress very warmly regardless of the time of year. The observatory will be up to 30 degrees cooler than downtown Tucson. In our case (early March) the nighttime temp was 59 degrees in Tucson yet 35 degrees on the mountain.

The program ends with the guide selecting all of the observations made that evening and emailing you a photo and description of each. A very nice touch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton
1 review
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am so glad we took advantage of this wonderful opportunity. It really makes you realize what a vast and amazing universe we live in. Adam Block is phenominal. He is a wealth of knowledge and loves his job. Would be a wonderful family experience to excite children about 'the sky above us'. It's fantastic to look through the telescope and equally exciting to see what can be viewed with a good pair of binoculars. This is truly a wonderful outreach program for the University of Arizona and should be recognized for it's contribution to educating and exciting people about astronomy. Our view of Jupiter and 3 of it's moons was breathtaking. A great drive up, a great evening and an experience to be enjoyed again. We will return!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.