We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and refreshing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalomanu Beach

Lalomanu Beach
Lalomanu, Lalomanu, Upolu, Samoa
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Lalomanu
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing and refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful beach and great for a refreshing swim, locals are all very pleasant. Great restaurant with a range of foods from sandwiches to spicy chicken dishes that are so big it takes two to eat, alcohol and juices available

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    30
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raglan, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I Love Lalomanu
The view and water is just so amazing when i was there, there was still a little bit of damage from the tsunami and coral bits washed on the sand but still amazing

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“swimming treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful and by far the best beach in upolu on the mainland. Stretches straight and golden for miles. usually empty and you have it to yourself. So warm and inviting. Watched a local family swimming at high tide in their clothes and waves thumping in and they were having such a great time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Visited November 2007”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved Lalomanu beach and roughed it in the beach fales which is an experience. The beach, like many along the South Coast of Upolu, are simply pristine although this was before the tsunami so I don't know if it's still the same now.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the long drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived here to a warm welcome by Kate who showed us the ropes before we checked into our enclosed fale. Clean and spacious we took a liking to it straight away. The sand is of the coral sand type and kept clean by the staff. The beach is great for swimming and some snorkelling but the tsunami of 2009 wiped out most of the living coral so you only see what once was. The breakfast here is big and the nightly dinners are huge and included in the price of what is to me confusingly called half board. On wednesday and saturday night they have a very energetic fia-fia night where the lead male dancer gets the audience to participate. Watch for the gorgeous 6 year old girl who steals the show. I will be posting a youtube video just type in Lalomanu fia-fia night to see. After the fia-fia is over the dancers mingle with the people who party on until 22 00 hrs when the music gets turned off. I saw none of what some previous scribes here wrote about the young Samoan boys following the young girls around. There is 24hr security here to make sure all is well. The shower and toilet block is across the "highway" but there is so little traffic its not worth bothering about and we certainly were not bothered by any noise from the road written here by others. Its a nice place to go for a walk as well and there are some basic shops up the road. You can buy a cooked lunch here or if you want go next door for something different, also cooked

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalomanu Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lalomanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalomanu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.