We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Alaimoana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Alaimoana Hotel to your Saves list
Le Alaimoana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Apia Park, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great staff. Clean reasonably spacious rooms. You can walk most places form here. Or get a cheap taxi just down the road. Yummy evening meals provided if you want to stay in. Breakfast is ordinary but sufficient. Good to have internet- but it is expensive. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taineblue, Owner at Le Alaimoana Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Talofa Heidi9575,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Le Alaimoana. We really appreciate it.

We are pleased that you were comfortable staying with us, and that you enjoyed the small gestures that we extend to our guests!
I will pass on your comments to our staff, it will give them a buzz tomorrow.

Yes my tomato relish has been a big hit in the kitchen, will try some other recipes soon.

Faafetai tele for your feedback,

Alofa atu,

Mara Hunter
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
12
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Le Alaimoana Hotel provided friendly and comfortable motel-type accommodation in Apia.
Located at an easy walk to the harbour and shops it was an air conditioned retreat at the end of the day. Breakfast included in the rate and the availability of dinner made this accommodation a convenient, no fuss place to stay.

Dorfor

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taineblue, Owner at Le Alaimoana Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Talofa Dofor, Thanks for the positive response about Le Alaimoana Hotel. I hope your trip was fruitful business wise and that you will look us up next time you travel to our shores.
from Sunny Samoa,
Mara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a basic hotel at best. But compared to others in Apia it isn't too bad. I was going to give this hotel only a 3 star rating, but the helpful and friendly staff convinced me to give it 4 stars.
The rooms are basic, but clean, however I found them a bit noisy. My room was across the patio from the reception, and with Apia having so many flights that leave / arrive during night hours, I found myself woken by the noise of people checking in at all hours.
The staff were superb. We checked in at 3am and believe it or not we felt like a beer so the staff opened the bar for us. We wouldn't see this happen in too many places!
This hotel is a little way away form the centre of Apia however is an easy walk to the harbor front.
The negatives were the wireless internet. It was far too expensive and not reliable. But this seemed to be the problem everywhere in Samoa.
Don't change money at the hotel. Sure I know hotels never offer the best rates, but this hotel was charging a 20% commission.
I also found the complimentary breakfast a but ordinary. Most mornings I walked down to a restaurant called Portofino on the marina and has an excellent breakfast.
All in all it wasn't a bad place to stay. Next time I find myself in Apia I will probably try somewhere else, but if Le Alaimoana is where I find myself I won't be too disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or at the back of the hotel. If you are in the centre you will have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Le Alaimoana Hotel early this year and absolutely LOVED it... we were taken care of and the staff were very helpful and sooo friendly...makes a big difference when staff greet you with a smile ..... I stayed there with my three boys and they didn't want to leave..... will definitely stay there again when travelling to the homeland again.... Highly recommend A++++++

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Leaving Le Alaimoana was like leaving home; we had such a magical time there. The staff are wonderful and welcoming, the rooms clean and comfortable and the grounds gorgeous. Every day began with a delectable complimentary breakfast, enjoyed in a tropical garden beside a pool. The hotel is located an easy walk from Apia, with its colourful markets crammed with locally-made clothes and handicrafts—close enough to the action but far enough for peace and tranquility. There’s a marine reserve a few minutes walk away, where you can swim and snorkel in a placid lagoon. If you want to go jogging there’s a large park next door with a full-sized track and arena. We did much of our own cooking and a sprinkling of small shops, and a vegetable stand, provided for most of our needs—along with some visits to Apia’s fabulous fish market. Just across the way is a taxi stand. That’s where we discovered Leo, an obliging and knowledgeable driver who showed us around his beautiful island. My wife and I want to return to Upolu. When we do, it will be to stay with our second family at the lovely Le Alaimoana.
Period of stay Feb. 23-29 and March 9, 2012
Chris McGowan

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We chose the first floor, where we could sit on the balcony in the evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

clean rooms and of coarse helpful staff. you will have a complimentary breakfast every morning of fresh fruits, porridge and more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Central, Fiji
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed at Le Alaimoana Hotel for a week, while I was in Apia for work, and would definitely stay there again. The staff are lovely, and very helpful, and the hotel is clean and secure. Le Alaimoana l is a short distance from town, and an easy stroll to the water. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Alaimoana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Alaimoana Hotel

Address: Apia Park, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Alaimoana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean spacious and convenient to town and just around the corner to beaches and the CBD of Apia. Exotic garden with beautiful flowers to greet you each day. Our staff are friendly, helpful and responsive to any requirements.Our rooms are immaculate with a choice of standard, or with kitchen and dining area for guests who wish to cook their own meals. Tours are available by request for minimal of 4 guests at a time. Wireless Internet available on a prepaid time basis. Printing and business services available at all times with front office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Alaimoana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Alaimoana Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Alaimoana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.