We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday, kids loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mulifanua Ferry Terminal Pier | PO Box 67, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Apia
auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday, kids loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

I had read a few reviews on here before we went away - so I was in two minds as to what to expect about the standard of our stay.

All I can say is you have to make up your own mind. We found the service to be excellent with all staff friendly, approachable and eager to please.

Yes, drinks etc were expensive, but we ventured into Apia and stocked up at a local supermarket for beers and soft drinks. We were provided with 4 bottles of water free of charge at the hotel each day though. Drinks at the bar were on a par with NZ prices.

We were on the all inclusive food deal and we were so full - every meal is 3 courses and there are a choice of 4 restaurants. The children's menu varies at each of these restaurants too - this was good to know as my 5 year old started to get an upset tummy with heavy food at every meal. It was possible to find salads, rice, noodles etc for the kids meals so everything wasn't just chips!! There was plenty of variety for the 7 nights that we were there - I could see the menu getting a bit tedious if you are there longer than 7 days though.

The kids club was great - my 4 and 5 year olds loved it - the staff there are very attentive and there is a high ratio of staff to children. There weren't many children at the kids club though (max we had was 4 children at a time).

AS the children found it too hot, we only ventured into Apia (on the free shuttle) once. There is plenty to do at the resort. The pool is fantastic and we spent a long time there. The beach was great fun too and the watersports activities filled in a couple of afternoons.

I enjoyed a lovely 2 hour massage at the spa. A bit expensive, but definitely worth it!!

Nothing negative to say about the resort - the only thing I could say is that there isn't much communication about what restaurants you can eat at when conferences are on.

Would love to go back soon !!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    207
    152
    67
    49
See reviews for
239
230
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed with our children aged 6 and 10 for 3 nights at Aggies Lagoon Resort. Didn't start very well when we tried to check in and were told the hotel was full. This despite us already having paid for the hotel in NZ! They said we would have to stay in Aggies in Apia instead but after we refused to do this they found us a room.
The hotel was nice, we really enjoyed the pool, beach and spa.Kids club was disappointing with only our children there and many of the listed adult activities for the day didn't happen.
We weren't on the meal deal but food was good and the prices not too high.
Booked a car for our last day, was phoned the night before and told there'd been a mistake and no cars were actually available. They did in fact find us one in the morning but for the cost of the resort the service in general was poor.
Instead of Aggies for a family we would recommend staying at a beach fale which is much better value and great fun. We stayed at Taufua and it was excellent!

  • Liked — pool,beach and spa
  • Disliked — not worth the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

I recently returned from Samoa where I stayed 3 nights at Aggies Lagoon and 4 nights at Sinelai.
My friend aptly used the analogy that moving from Aggies Lagoon to Sinelai was like going from Business class to first class.

We spent most of the time going from meal to meal and cocktail to cocktail.
Where the prices are very reasonable at Sinelai, we had a whole lobster on the last night at Sinelai which was ST$70 about NZ$35. When we returned to Aggies Lagoon for our last night prior to flying out we enquired about lobster and it was ST$140 twice the price. Cocktails were either ST$15 or ST$20, about NZ$8 or $10 at Sinelai but were ST$30-50 at Aggies, and were of a disappointing standard. Meals were also much more expensive at Aggies and the service was average in comparison to Sinelai.
There are 4 restaurants, one pizza, one Asian, one which looked like it was in a conference centre and one open air over looking the pool and beach which was lovely but service was testing and we constantly got different answers to questions about the menu or restaurants.

The rooms whilst pleasant were tired and musty. And planting was immature.
Breakfast was a buffet which whilst adequate was certainly not to the standard of Sinelai.

The pool and beach at Aggies are of an excellent standard. The pool has a good swim up bar.

Had we not had the pleasure of staying at Sinelai we would have been perfectly happy at Aggies Lagoon.

I am well travelled, having extensive resort experience in the South Pacific and Asia.
My recommendation would be to use Aggies lagoon for the nights when flying in or out of Samoa as it is only 5 minutes from the airport, but move quickly to Sinelai if you don’t have children under 12 years.

  • Liked — Pool & Beach
  • Disliked — Service & prices
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

I stayed at Aggie Greys with my partner and 4 other friends for my 21st birthday. I had an extremely enjoyable experience and that was mostly due to the staff at Aggies. Their warm smiles and hospitality was fantastic and it was great going to breakfast and being greated with such enthusiasm. The pool bar was my second home and provided fantastic cocktails. The fia fia night is an unforgetable amazing experience that left goosebumps on my arms. Those guys give it 120% through the whole show!

I was on the meal deal and I have never eaten so much in all my life! There was a great variety of food and the themed nights were great. Being serenaded by a trio of singing guitar players during meals was fantastic.

I will definately be going back to Aggie's at some point of my life and have even convinced a work colleague to go there.

Aggies provided a fantastic experience that left a smile on my face and cheered me up even after my bag was stolen at the airport!

  • Liked — The pool bar and staff!
  • Disliked — The beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

We stayed at Aggie Greys Lagoon Resort and Spa Samoa
for nine nights at the end of march 2007
the resort and rooms were beautiful the airconditioner was the best we have found in the Pacific we never had to touch it
we had the meal package and had no problems the food was plentiful and diferent every night the show and fierdancers were on friday night dont miss
the serivce and staff were very friendly and helpful we used the free shuttle bus to go to Arpia in the morning to do some siteseeing and used the facilitys at Aggies in town and catch the shuttle back in the afternoon
The taxis were cheap and numerous with friendly drivers
You must try Vailima bear 6/50 talla($3/25 aust )at the poolbar
We have been to Fiji 5 times in the last 4 years and found Samoa different but just as good (like Fiji 20 years ago)

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We have just had 2 wks at Aggie Greys resort, 35km from Apia in Western Samoa, & we took our 2 kids aged 8 & 5 to what would have to be one of the cleanest, safest, & most beautifull,destinations within the South Pacific.

There is so much to see & do , and if you want time away from the kids, which we did for 4 -5 days out of the 14 days that we were there, put the kids into the Dolphins Kids Club which was absolutely brilliant, as our 2 were always keen to spend more time there.

This gave us time to do some tours around Upolu (the main island), do some shopping at the fantastic markets in Apia, attend a Rotary meeting, as my wife & I are both Rotarians in Australia, and just relax by the pool.

For anyone looking for an excellent holiday, with really beautiful people, great accomodation,& superb food, this is the place to go.

  • Liked — The quality of the accomodation and the location of the resort
  • Disliked — Absolutely no broadband internet access available in Samoa as dial up still rules.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

We have just returned from a week long holiday at ‘Aggie Grey’s Lagoon & beach resort. Samoa is a cool place to visit and Aggie Grey’s Lagoon resort was fantastic.
Arrived after mid night and the two friendly representatives from the resort greeted us at the airport. The bus ride was only 5 minutes and as soon as we arrived we were offered fruit juice. Despite the late hour a few staff on duty all made us feel very welcomed.
We stayed in 500 block on the ground floor and our room had a lovely view of the ocean. The room was clean and spacious. It was serviced daily and even decorated with fresh flowers every second day! It was really handy that the hotel provided complementary bottled water daily. We were on an all inclusive meal package, which was a great value -buffet breakfast, 3 course lunch and dinner or theme buffet. All the meals we tried were surprisingly very nice and the menu changed daily during the week we stayed. Have expected more seafood options but there were hardly any. Outdoor dining with live band during dinner times was a good way to end a hot day. Watch out for little kids in their nappies running around though!
The pool was big and clean but with very warm water. The beach is lovely to look at but not so nice to swim in as it’s very rocky. There are plenty of beach chairs under thatched umbrellas. Perfect place to relax by reading a book or having a nap.
The resort runs a free shuttle to Apia Monday to Saturday. It takes about 45 minutes into the town. There’s nothing much to do in Apia other than the market and Robert Stevenson’s mansion. The market offered a great atmosphere and good range of souvenirs at cheap price.
Overall, Aggie Grey’s Lagoon resort was great with clean facilities, delicious meals and super friendly staff. I won’t hesitate to recommend this resort. If you are into night life, this place isn’t for you as it’s very far away from the town.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great service, food on meal package
  • Disliked — distance from other main attractions
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mulifanua Ferry Terminal Pier | PO Box 67, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Apia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aggie Grey`s Lagoon, Beach Resort And Spa
Aggie Grey`s Lagoon, Beach Hotel Apia
Aggie Greys Lagoon Beach Resort
Aggie Greys Lagoon Beach Hotel
Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.