We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Aggie Grey Resort Entrance Road | Mulifanua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa (Formerly Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent 3 days here..check in was good. Room was at least 100 metres from reception. Might be a problem for the more elderly..Lovely views from all rooms as the complex faces the water. Comfy beds 2 x queen with lovely linen. There is a new Casino within the grounds, requiring your passport on entry. What a lovely little 2 storey building, indoor/outdoor flow with bar and very lovely staff. The breakfast was okay.
Edwin makes the best coffee ever in the pool area bar, and Jay, Sam and Rasela you 3 were so helpful to my daughter and I. You are to be commended for your kindness to us both. Very much appreciated and its people like you that make all the difference when staying at any hotel. There is also one other girl that was on the front counter at the casino entrance. Sorry have forgotten her name. She is to be commended also.
The pool area is certainly 5 star. plenty of comfy deck chairs and plush towels.
I was lucky enough to have a massage at the onsite Spa and this was certainly a treat. Amazing surrounds set away from the hotel. If I am visiting Samoa again I will certainly be staying at The Sheraton.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, Director of Sales at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Talofa lorainnehoward,

Thank you very much for the great review of your recent stay with us here at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort.

We're thrilled that the team here took such great care of you. and we have shared this news with each of the associates that you mentioned.

Being able to enjoy the many different amenities that our property has to offer in one place is part of our uniqueness in Samoa - we are pleased you got to use so many of them.

We eagerly await the next time your travels bring you to Samoa and we thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort.

Tofa Soifua
The team at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We dealt with Sam at the front desk. she was pleasant and efficient. The staff here were top notch.

F&B is pricey but the service was top notch.

We thoroughly enjoyed the water sports and the pool.

Buffet breakfast is great!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Talofa BLUI0927.

Thank you so much for your great review of our property. It is great that our team, especially Sam, was able to take good care of you while you were with us.

We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy some of the great activities that our property has to offer and certainly hope to be able to host you again.

Tofa Soifua,
The Team at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is a mediocre effort to convert a military barracks into a luxury hotel. The rooms are reminiscent of an older, tired Holiday Inn. Not a all the feel of a luxury resort. The food was adequate, but no more. The grounds were very scattered and our room was a hike from the reception area. Unfortunately, the hike was neither scenic or pleasant. I have not researched other hotels on Samoa and this may be as good as it gets, but this will never be confused with a Four Seasons or one of the quaint south Pacific native island resorts such as Turtle Island in Fiji. While I hate being so critical, this hotel did not leave me with an urgent desire to return to Samoa.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Talofa Michael W,

We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us back in January.

In January 2015, we completed a large refurbishment of our 133 guest rooms and lobby area. The new look is a more modern look here is Samoa. The rooms are situated in a layout that allows all of our guest rooms to be ocean facing - a truly memorable view.

We are continuing to identify more ways for us to enhance all areas of our property. We hope that if you travels bring you back to Samoa, you will visit us again.

Tofa Soifua,
The Team at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had thee most amazing time in April 2015. We stayed at the resort for 10 nights, and we certainly wanted to extend that stay. We travel a lot, and have experienced many great resorts from Hilton, Sheraton and more. But this resort was up there with the best.

We did a lot of research on previous reviews of this place before we booked it. Honestly, there are some negative reviews - but we took them with a pinch of salt. During our trip there was VERY little that we disliked - and we did witness only 2 dissatisfied customers. One was a very rude lady who wanted a more appropriate height for her desk in her room as she wanted to "work" - she was a piece of work. Another was a drunken Ozzie who was just abusive to everyone.

Now let's get onto the good stuff.

We got picked up at the airport by Vai, he was a very friendly Sheraton representative and played great music for us for the 5 minute ride to the hotel. However, it was 50 Tala for the ride. We discovered a taxi was only 20 tala - just grab one at the airport.

The check-in process was amazing - super friendly and we were escorted to our room within 2 minutes - bags were taken to the room for us.

The initial impression of the resort - WOW. It's a beautiful open plan lobby with views out to the Pacific Ocean. To die for.

The room - very good across the board. Clean white linen sheets, amazing balcony with views, mini fridge, TV with a few good channels. They have been newly refurbished - so nice and modern. The only downside of the room is the aircon - you have two options cold, or really cold. I ended up getting sick towards the end of our trip because of the aircon - two other friends also got sick for the same reason. They should consider having a digital meter for aircon - allowing you to choose a specific temperature. This is something that REALLY needs to be addressed.

The swimming pool - excellent. We checked out three other resorts on the other side of the Island - and this pool was the best. Its sectioned off for kids - so they can enjoy one area while the adults enjoy the swim up bar. The swim up bar was just perfect - and such a great place to meet other people. Jose was the best barman on the resort - he was professional, friendly and spoke great English. Jose should be the Sheraton head bar manager - simply a great person with great skills. We would return to the resort simply to see Jose!

Breakfast - complimentary breakfast is such a bonus. And it's really good quality food. You are offered cereals, juices, local fresh fruits, toast, an extensive cooked buffet (bacon, sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, samoan pancakes and more) - there is also an egg station where you can get a fresh omelette or eggs any way you wish. Taga was the server every morning and he was simply awesome. He always greeted us, smiled and was really efficient. Taga is a great ambassador for the resort - he's also quite an awesome dancer at the Fia Fia night on the friday - as were lots of the other staff.

Lunch - we tried almost everything on the menu and enjoyed most of it. After 10 days we exhausted the menu but still enjoyed it.

Dinner - the NZ sirloin steak was devine. The pizzas were pretty good and filling. The sashimi was amazing. The live music every night was amazing - very soothing and really added to the atmosphere and culture. Make sure you sign up for the SPG rewards as you will save 15% on all food! It really adds up over 10 days! The buffer dinners were all worth while - the least enjoyable one would have been the Italian night - but the others were excellent.

Fia Fia night - this was AMAZING. We have been to Luau nights in Hawaii - but this night blew them away. The food was delish, and the dancing and music was breathtaking - I even got dragged up on stage for a dance - my dancing is terrible but it was such fun. You should NOT miss this night. The fire throwing is so awesome. Adults and Kids will all enjoy this equally. All of the performers work in the resort - so its nice to see them up on stage.

The shuttle - it goes into Apia in the morning and back out in the afternoon. It's not very reliable though - we turned up at the set departure time and they said oh sorry it left an hour earlier - with no reason! But it's only 60 Tala for a taxi into the city.

The resort has great security and they kept a tab on who was coming and going at all times.

Kayaks - free kayak hire - you have to do it! Some friends went scuba diving here and LOVED it. It's a snorkellers dream.

The resort could think about having a small shop with basic things such as water and snacks. The water at the resort is so expensive and you only get two very small bottles complimentary on a daily basis. We would suggest taxiing to Farmer Joes on the way to Apia and getting massive 6L bottles of water to last your entire trip. We probably ended up spending 200+ Tala on water at the resort!!

This resort is beautiful and we would absolutely return for future visits.

Samoa was amazing and we shall return. The people really made our trip memorable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Talofa Jameslaughlin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences from your recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer and the genuine hospitality of our team here on site. We certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future to create new memories of your time in Samoa. Best regards.

Tofa Soifua,
The Team at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter/granddaughter and I spent 7 nights and were wanting to go home after 5 as found the swimming pool was not really suitable for small children,menus need working on,food and drinks very expensive and internet way to expensive.Entertainment at night non exsistent,gym equipment was also not all working properly,rooms although very clean were very musty smelling.Our high light was our Spa treatment we had but also found these very expensive compared to other places we have stayed at e.g Fiji and Rarotonga.As a family holiday we felt very let down and will not be travelling back to this resort again in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Talofa nannieglennis,

We appreciate you sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us. I’m disappointed that the pool wasn’t suitable for you, as we pride ourselves on having one of the better pools on island, complete with a separate children’s pool and really having an area for visitors of all ages. I’m glad that you enjoyed your treatment at our Spa. We are always striving to improve our product and services, so it is always helpful to get the feedback of our valued customers.

Should you change your mind and your travels bring you back to Samoa, I truly hope you will consider coming back for a return visit to us.

Tofa Soifua,
Chris Rabang, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family (wife and 2 teenagers and I) stayed for 5 nights. We checked in midday Thursday, no problems . Reception staff were friendly and happy to see us. Shown to our rooms # 214 & 215 (inter connecting rooms). Porter carried suitcases up stairs to rooms. Rooms were clean and up to same standard as previous stays. Air conditioning was good on first night, decided not to use it again. Breakfast rating would be 2 as their was not much variety and seemed to be the same each morning. I had omelette(full works) each morning with bacon, banana donuts. The restaurant staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem for them to do for you. Taga (waiter) always greets you with a big smile and a sincere Talofa(greeting). Taga & his team look after your needs with a smile. We had lunch mainly at the other bar by the tv/lounging area. The barmen Jose and Semese are on hand to take your orders for your drinks /snacks off the menu. They are very friendly and punctual at bringing you drinks(not like Fiji Time). Food comes reasonably quick. Happy hour 4-6 on certain beverages. Dinner time is something else. Some menu selections were not cooked consistently to previous nights. I needed to ask the waiter about the pork chops, (how many chops on the dish), answer was 1 chop. I mentioned the menu had the plural S which means more than 1. I got 1 & 1/2 chops that were taxed of its outer fat content. Was not impressed. Rest of family were happy with their dinner meals changing each night. The FiaFia night is on Friday. Awesome. The pool is big and great. You can get kayaks (free) from Ted, owner of the aqua centre at far end of resort grounds. Ted & his staff are very helpful with local diving knowledge. Kayaks to be back by 5pm. The gym is great with dumb bells,weight machines and treadmills. The masseuses are great/professional. The only negatives of our stay were the nightly loud banging of room doors by checking in/out stayers from 11pm on, shower drain seemed to be blocking up (2 days), toilet (leaking from cistern valve seat seal to bowl), alcohol was pricey compared to other bars on the island. Overall our stay was pretty good. We would be back or stay at revamped Aggies in Apia. Tips for a stay are hire a car (Fun Way Rentals), snorkel gear, insect repellent, sunblock(heaps), books, wide brim hat and bring a smile.

Room Tip: Get rooms on outer edges, less door banging, noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Talofa JacobHughes,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We’re happy you enjoyed your breakfast, Fia Fia and most of your dining experiences. It seems you really shared what Samoa and our property have to offer. We’re thrilled that the team were there to take care of you.

We hope to welcome you again in the very near future. If your travels bring you back to Samoa, we hope you will consider staying with us at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort.

Tofa Soifua,
The Team at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights at the resort a few weeks ago, under its new owners the Sheraton. It is a clean and well laid out resort. Nice pool and the beach and water are great to swim in. Rooms are clean and suitable for a family of four. I thought the bar prices were a bit high. Considering I could get a beer in town for $4-6 Tala. Food was not what I thought was "Sheraton standard" I was very disappointed to see staff helping themselves to the buffet dinner at 7.45pm at night. And the people in the restaurant were still eating. Clearly the F&B Manager needs to lift there game. The cost of $28 tala for two very small "sliders" is way over the top. Pizza was at best average, and so was the pasta. The staff at the bar were confused as to prices. At one bar I paid $10 Tala for a beer then at the bar near the restaurant I was charge $12 Tala for the same beer.Wine price is way over the top... Also during happy hour ( yes it was busy) the staff seemed overwhelmed...more staff needed at happy hour. Noticed staff at the bar washing dirty glass under a tap and using them to make cocktails...not a good look. Yes I would return, but only if they improve the food. At best it is average. Ask the staff to not eat when customers are still eating. As a matter of fact,the staff should not be seen touching the customers food....Finally the invoice you supply is very confusing. I don't understand why you charge a nights accommodation as "retail" and I paid $195 tala for the dinner buffet and it is listed as "breakfast" on my invoice. The explanations of what you purchase at the hotel in very confusing. Please be more clean in your invoices.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSamoaResort, General Manager at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Talofa Jason T T,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort. We certainly appreciate the valuable feedback that you provided. We are pleased with your experiences with the property, the pool area, and the rooms. As for our Restaurants and Bars, I apologize for the issues that you experienced with us. We are constantly looking at our offerings and the service levels. We have recently added a variety of buffet options throughout the week. As for the confusion with the invoices, we are working diligently to have this situation corrected in our invoice system. I apologize for any inconvenience that this caused.

We truly hope that you will return to Samoa in the near future. We welcome the opportunity to host you again and we trust you will have an even better experience.

Tofa Soifua,
The Team at Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey’s Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort

Address: Aggie Grey Resort Entrance Road | Mulifanua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa (Formerly Aggie Grey's Lagoon, Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Apia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort offers unparalleled facilities for a relaxing holiday. With a delightful lagoon beachfront setting, the recently refurbished resort is perfect for a relaxing family holiday or spending time with friends. Conveniently located just 1km from the international airport, the transfer time is short meaning you can start your holiday in no time at all. Snorkel, dive, charter a boat or experience the living culture that Samoa is renown for. Your holiday in Samoa awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aggie Grey`s Lagoon, Beach Resort And Spa
Aggie Grey`s Lagoon, Beach Hotel Apia
Aggie Greys Lagoon Beach Resort
Aggie Greys Lagoon Beach Hotel
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.