We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager has no customer service skills whatsoever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Millenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Millenia to your Saves list
Hotel Millenia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road | PO Box 214, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Brisbane
1 review
“Manager has no customer service skills whatsoever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

My husband and I have friends in Samoa who recommended this hotel due its location and slightly cheaper rates. However, with the cheap rates came cheap service!! On the first day, the staff showed us to our room etc - the service was just 'okay', nothing five star. Unfortunately, on the third day of our stay, we had trouble locating a few items of jewellery which were left in the bathroom while we went out sightseeing.
When we brought this up with the manager, I was appalled at the way he handled the situation. He basically accused my husband and I of lying and did not deal with the situation professionally. Well needless to say we left the hotel and camped elsewhere but to everyone thinking of making a booking - you've been warned. If you don't mind being treated like rubbish from someone who is meant to be caring and proffessional then go ahead. p.s our items were not returned!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    28
    6
    10
See reviews for
25
32
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gythomo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I spent a lot of time prior to our trip researching accommodation in Samoa - trip advisor being my main source. I chose Hotel Millenia due to the location and did not seem too commercial.

The airport shuttle service was great and we arrived to the hotel with excited anticipation. Unfortunately we were not put in the room we had orignially organised. We started to worry when the walk to our room involved scrambling over a construction site! We were placed in the new wing, albeit nice, it was obviously not completed yet, there were cables coming out of the wall where the TV should be and sewerage was coming up throught the shower, the sink and the toilet looked like it was going to overflow.

We enjoyed a nice meal at the Hotel that evening which had a lovely atmosphere, outside overlooking the harbour.

The next morning we drew the curtains to see a complete construction site outside our room on the far side of the new pool. Obviously this is not condusive to a restful stay. Other guests seemed to be equally 'miffed' with the situation.

As we had booked our accommodation through Samoan Hotel Association (who I fully recommend) we visited their office in town and they promptly sorted the problem out for us. We checked out one day early and were not required to pay for the night we had stayed.

I would just like to say, my criticism does not reflect on the wonderful and friendly service we received at the hotel - purely on the fact that during major construction I don't think hotels should receive guests. When the construction is completed I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel - just check before you book.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed here on our first night in Samoa taking two rooms for my parents also travelling with us. The new Hotel at the rear was under construction at the time so very noisy and lots of workers everywhere, the rooms were very average.
We went for breakfast and were told our bags would be safe and no one would enter room as we were checking out in a few hours, my father then went back 5 minutes later as was feeling unwell only to find 3 staff in the room!. We dicovered they had stolen NZ cheese from the fridge and some food from my bag, they also raided my fathers room of a new bottle of chanel!. I have made a complaint to the manager who assures me all 3 staff will be fired.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Stayed at Hotel Millennia for the last three nights of our 8 night stay in Samoa. The place itself is nice and clean. There are three levels - ground level where the restaurant and reception is, 1st level which has most of the rooms and a charming lounge area with a great open view of the harbour, then there's the top level which has another 4 rooms. The local travel agency we booked through, Polynesian xplorer, knew the place well so booked us in a room on the top level, opposite side to the night club (there's a night club right next door - on the right of the hotel) so the noise didn't really bother us. The room was spacious, clean and had good air conditioning. We had a view of the ocean but was only through a small window above the bed. Double bed was comfortable. Beds were made and fresh towels provided each day.

Service was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful but a little bit casual at times. After confirming the night before that breakfast started at 7am we went down just after 7 to find the restaurant was still closed as staff hadn't arrived on time for work. We waited until about 7:30 but then had to leave to make an early appointment so were a little disappointed. Managed to make breakfast on the other 2 mornings. Complimentary breakfast was basic and consisted of a small bowl of cereal, glass of juice, piece of toast and a piece of fruit. Other food was available to order from the menu.

Overall our stay was pleasant and found this Hotel to be reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stayed at Hotel Millennia our first night in Samoa. We arrived late and left early the next morning so didn't spend much time there. The room was very cheap at $150 tala ($75 Aust) however would probably have been worth spending a bit more to get a room upstairs as our room was on the bottom floor and right next to the nightclub so the music was coming straight through to our room. Also reception was around the corner which is 24 hours and they were quite noisy. Bed was very uncomfortable (we could feel the springs through the mattress) but we were only there one night so it served it's purpose. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

This small family run hotel is Apia's best kept secret. For the last two weeks it was my home away from home and i have nothing but praise for this place - the service from all staff was excellent right from the manager down to the cleaner, room was very clean and comfortable with strong air-conditioning, food was absolutely fantastic and resonably priced. I love this place. Happy hour on Friday evenings is a blast! Great music from the house band, featuring new local talent Kalepo and Douglas. A fun place to stay without costing the earth. No wonder guests from the other larger resorts round off their holiday by spending time here. Well done Hotel Millenia - keep up the great work!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and servce and price
  • Disliked — no swimming pool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

Having just spent two weeks in Samoa I can say that the staff at the Millenia are the friendliest I have ever encountered. At both reception and in the restaurant nothing was too much trouble. My double deluxe room had a wonderful view of Apia harbour and although noisy on the entertainment nights, it was clean and comfortable. On the first floor there is a beautiful lounge decorated in the South Pacific tradition complete with wicker furniture and ocean views. The restaurant serves traditional seafood dishes at reasonable prices and an excellent lobster dish ( 3 tails) for around 30 bucks. The location right on the harbour is probably the best in Apia and although the hotel may not be 5 star, the service certainly is.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — band music from adjacent hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Millenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Millenia

Address: Beach Road | PO Box 214, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Millenia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in, enjoy the best views in Apia and you'll want to stay forever. We offer a range of accommodation to suit different tastes and includes a tropical breakfast with coffe for all our guests: Located at Sogi Point, 10 steps from the seawall, Hotel Millenia Samoa has the best views Apia has to offer. Our hotel offers one of the most relaxing, atmospheric views in Apia. It has views which catch the sunrise over the famous Apia Bay with a back-ground of open ocean and green mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Millenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millenia Hotel Apia
Hotel Millenia Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Millenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.