We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations are more than met..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aga Reef Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aga Reef Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Aga Reef Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lalomanu Village, P.O.Box 1522, Apia, Upolu 1522, Samoa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Apia
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expectations are more than met..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was a little hesitant booking here as Aggie Grey's Resort was a well-known and not extremely expensive resort like that of Sinalei or Coconuts but, I will never hesitate again now experiencing Aga Reef Resort over the weekend.

I think the only minor draw back would be the location as it is an hours drive away to Lalomanu so it would only be a resort to relax and recover not for any shopping or nightlife.

As soon as we arrived, it felt like we were at an actual resort. The reception has open doors out onto the outdoor-pool area overlooking the ocean, villas and an isolated island in the distant - truly picturesque and worthy of being photographed for a Samoan postcard.
Check-in was simple and fast with the key to our ocean view villa handed to me within 10min after the room had been pre-checked and paper work finished.

The room was beautiful, with a more than comfortable king size bed, spacious living with a flatscreen tv, desk space, huge bathroom with rain shower and a balcony overlooking the blue sea. It was truly a resort I haven't seen here in Samoa before and felt like it was about time.

Sleeping in the king bed was so comfortable that out of all the 3 hotels which we stayed in, this was the actual bed where we could sleep - it truly was a joy to be able to sleep.

Continental breakfast is included in your booking and consists of breads, muffins, fruits, spreads and cereals. I didn't realise we could order hot food until the second day we had breakfast. The continental breakfast was delicious and refreshing while sitting outdoors overlooking the beautiful ocean view.

Dinner was great and reasonably priced, we had steaks and an entree of Arancini. All dishes were delicious and presented very well. The chef did a great job and topped off the dinner meal with desert. We ordered fudge chocolate cake with lemon tart - both were just divine and reasonably priced again for a resort.

Staff are friendly and attempt to practice/speak english to you.

Overall, this hotel definitely lived up to the hype and the opinions of others - the price per night was very reasonable and its just one of the best resorts Samoa has right now that is within reach (money-wise). I recommend this hotel for those who are looking to relax and recover from their daily lives. You'll leave the resort rejuvenated without much damage to your pocket.

Room Tip: I haven't tried an Island Villa as they were all booked but I would recommend the Ocean View Vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at Aga Reef last week. Not only is the resort special but the staff really made our trip that bit extra special. Friendly, attentive and helpful Aga is a must if you're planning a trip to Samoa. The rooms are modern and the food was amazing. We would Definitely go back. Thank you Kit, Marg and Lagi!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a wonderful place! the room was great, the food was wonderful, and the staff was amazing. I stayed in an ocean front fale, which I think was one of the best rooms. The food was always yummy, and well presented, although not a huge selection, very good indeed. About the staff I cannot say enough, they knew your name, checked up on you and how you were doing, helpful in planning activities, and suggested places you might like. Really made the resort special with being helpful and kind and friendly. I would love to go back one day. A special holiday for anyone.

Room Tip: Ocean front villas are more private and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Aga Reef for 5 nights over Christmas/New Year 2013 and had a great time! The room was excellent, right out on the reef, you could even see the fish swimming past from the balcony. The room was large and had everything you need. The food at the restaurant was well priced and of very high quality (some of the best food i've eaten for some time). Kit and the rest of the staff made you feel very welcome and gave some great advice on what to do around the island. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is visiting Samoa.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for one of the Chalets over the reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

we stopped for 6 nights 3-9th January family of 3 , we stayed in the main hotel block and had 2 adjoining rooms on the first floor. We found the rooms we good sized , large showers , air con , big TV which doesn't work so well when the rain comes ! and good size beds. Rooms where cleaned daily.
The resort has a nice freshwater pool and access to the reef , which is Ok for snorkelling but has been badly damaged by the cyclone a few years back.
The foods great and of a european standard , priced towards to top end of the scale, we managed to get wifi when it wasn't raining , overall a good resort

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights absolutely loved the food and the rooms are beautifully presented with great views (great bathroom) and the service matched
Staff very accommodating and friendly
Loved our stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have just returned from 5 day at the Aga Reef Resort, what a truly wonderful vacation. The staff could not do enough for us, the reception staff greet personally, and make you feel very welcome, nothing seem to be too much trouble.
Kit is alway available to make sure you have everything you need, oversees the restaurant, the meals we had were very good, Kit is a mine of information, being Samoan born, and having resided overseas for many years, he is able to impart information relevant to tourist.
Aga Reef is just the right size resort, very comfortable room, with balconies to enjoyer the ocean view. Thank you Aga Reef we had a wonders start.

Room Tip: I think the best room have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aga Reef Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aga Reef Resort and Spa

Address: Lalomanu Village, P.O.Box 1522, Apia, Upolu 1522, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aga Reef Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 4 Star Beach Resort in Samoa in a beautiful and romantic setting on the South East coast of Upolu Island. Perfect for a wedding or honeymoon with or without kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aga Reef Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aga Reef Resort And Spa Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aga Reef Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.