We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favourite spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of amanaki resturant

amanaki resturant
Amanaki Hotel, Sogi Peninsula, APIA, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Apia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Apia, Samoa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a favourite spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Everyone raves about Amanaki's poke, but I think the best item on the menu is the deep fried eggplant. Or is it baked? I don't know how they make it but I could eat a potful and never get enough.
Absolutely delicious!
Cold local beer on tap, on the main road, sea breeze and a great outside seating area. Nice!
I HAVE had two instances where I left in anger when none of their wait staff made any attempt to seat our group, but otherwise I always end up at Amanaki.
I do wish they would change their menu.. it's been the same menu since they opened a few years ago.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    76
    17
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apia, Samoa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish is as fresh from the Ocean to your Plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Title saids it all for me - if its not fresh then the waters were unkind...

Atmosphere pleasant, food portions plentiful, sounds of laughter coming from the tables around as this is the sort of place where people love to meet up and have a good meal with ice cold drinks.

As with most destinations when you travel if its not the flies when in australia then its the mosquitoes wherever the location.

All in all we luv it...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

sorry to say, but it was pub food only. Too much cigarette smoke coming in and meal size was very small. Cocktail was AWFUL

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I came here twice and enjoyed it very much. I had Fish and chips and the second time the burger and chips they were both very good and decent portions. I would enjoy coming back for casual lunches.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Limited menu, but very good if you like seafood. Outdoor type place so flies and mozzies can be a problem, don't know why but no one in the Pacific use Mozzie zappers.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed amanaki resturant also viewed

 

Been to amanaki resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage amanaki resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.