We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samoan Outrigger Hotel to your Saves list
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel for 4 nights. After reading the previous reviews, I must admit that the reality was a lot different from my expectations.

We stayed in an ensuite room with airconditioning. The room was very basic... the toilet continued to overfill and ran all day and night, the airconditioning (don't know how people can cope without it!) was ancient and noisy, heavy footsteps from the floor above and the barking dogs on the street definitely impacted on my sleep and general enjoyment of the property.

The Samoan Outrigger does have a couple of redeeming features. The pool was a great way to cool down and the included breakfast, although very light, was nice with tropical fruit, toast with butter and jam, coffee or tea. We also met some nice fellow tourists on the deck overlooking the pool in the evening.

I think that budget travellers and large groups would find the Samoan Outrigger a good option, with a communal kitchen and bbq. However, if you like a few comforts and a really relaxing Samoan holiday... maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
38
67
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I chose the Outrigger based on reviews here and a recommendation by friends and was extremely happy with my experience. I booked a room for 2 nights upon my arrival but decided to come back for another 2 nights at the end of my visit to Samoa. This is a very well-run hotel. I stayed in rooms 3 and 4 and paid $140 Tala ($55 USD) per night and found the rooms extremely clean and well-prepared. These rooms share a joint bathroom and shower facility. The sheets are fresh daily and even ironed! The pool is well-maintained and offers a welcome relief from the tropical heat. I LOVED the breakfasts--local fresh fruit. The staff is very professional and can help advise tours, sightseeing. They even have a rental car--I should've used them. I met some interesting guests while there. This place combines all of the positives of a classy hotel with prices comparable to a youth hostel. It's easy to catch a taxi out front 24/7 and its an easy walk to downtown. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning in these upstairs rooms but I felt that the fan was adequate. My only complaint is that people in Apia burn their trash and when there is no wind the smell can be obnoxious--but this is not the hotel's problem. I look forward to my next trip to visit Klaus and Suzy!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Samoan Outrigger for two weeks with our two boys. The family room was a good option with tons of space in a bright, high-ceilinged room. Even though there were only four of us, you could easily sleep 6 people in this room. We made good use of the communal kitchen, to save money on meals. We made even better use of the pool, which was great after a day of walking/ driving around exploring.

The best thing about the Outrigger, though, is the warm and friendly staff. The owner Claus truly enjoys people and sharing the island of Upolo with visitors. The rooms are cleaned daily and the standards are high in this regard. There is a lounge with pool table, TV, and library with books and games. There is wireless Internet available for a fee. People tend to congregate around the pool deck and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend for families with kids.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

A lovely place to stay, really nice to return to after a tiring day out in the sun! the staff were helpful and friendly, always asking what out plans were, how our days had been etc and were very willing to answer any questions we had.
I would highly recommend the Samoan Outrigger to anyone wanting to travel cheaply, but with comfort and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

The Outrigger is a nice little spot. I stayed in traditional samoan fale and it's perfect. Good value for the money. Swimmingpool, in a quiet neighborhood 15min from downtown Apia if you walk. The staff / girls are sweet and helpful. Good service and I would have no problem coming back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I spent 5 weeks at the Samoan Outrigger while doing my medical elective in Samoa (March/April 2010). I shared a room with a colleague and was very impressed with the cleanliness and service including the friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are serviced daily and the communal kitchen was more than adequate for self catering. It is the perfect location for med students doing their electives as it is only a 5min walk to TTM hospital and right around the corner from a supermarket and a great italian restaurant! It was such a treat coming home from a hot day on the wards to the inviting crystal clear pool surrounded by the beautiful tropical gardens The owners, Claus and Laena are a wonderful couple who really make you feel welcome and right at home. We met many other medical students staying at various other hotels/motels and I certainly feel we made the right choice. If you are staying in Apia for several weeks it is worth paying a bit extra for the location, cleanliness, pool and awesome staff! Will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The outrigger was an excellent choice for our stay in Apia. The staff were SO friendly, always helpful with questions, asking about your day, etc. we made some friends with the guests there too.
The pool and garden were great for relaxing/sunbathing. It has its own kitchen with everything you need to self-cater too. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. Breakfast was buffet style fruits and toast with coffee/tea.
They also have a security guard out the front at night who takes a note of the number plate of the taxi’s you take into town etc, so if you lose anything (or go missing) there is a record of it. Nothing happened during our trip but it provided peace of mind.
We stayed in the ensuite room (non-air-conditioned), which was really comfy and clean. HOWEVER really noisy as the windows opened right onto a main road. So very noisy at night – I’d recommend packing some earplugs (handy for anywhere in Samoa though actually).
Thanks guys for a great stay. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samoan Outrigger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Address: Cross Island Road | Motootua, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Apia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samoan Outrigger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Samoan Outrigger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Hotel Apia
Outrigger Apia
Apia Outrigger
Samoan Outrigger Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoan Outrigger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.