We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is retro quirkiness enough these days?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aggie Grey's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aggie Grey's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aggie Grey's Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 67, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Apia
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
“Is retro quirkiness enough these days?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

In the list of legends of the South Seas, that of Aggie Grey and her hotel looms large. Dating back to the 1940s, when it was a watering hole for marines, it had a slightly disreputable image, not helped by the entirely false link between Aggie Grey herself and James Michener’s creation, Bloody Mary. In the 50s it was a hangout for Hollywood actors like Marlon Brando and William Holden, whose fales are the closest to the bar. Of course, things became tamer in the 1960s and then the whole frontage was demolished to make way for a new lobby and new rooms. The wonderful gardens and original fales remain. The pool area is old but beautiful, sort of Ruislip Lido meets Paul Gauguin.

I first stayed here in 1994 and loved its quirkiness and its history. I also liked our fale, as dark as it was, and remember fondly Aggie’s daughter-in-law presenting my wife with a fabulous lei at one of the BBQ/fiafias where whole suckling pigs and breadfruit were served. It was one of our great hotel experiences.

We went back last week, just for a day, to find the hotel hadn’t changed at all - but now the rooms seem less quirky-characterful than tropical-dowdy and a bit grubby. Our room had a sky blue wall, pink walls, grotty furniture and bizarre linen arrangements which might have graced a rundown B&B in Blackpool. The service is also a bit casual - we had to ask a receptionist a single question three times in 10 minutes as she had a bad memory for faces, maybe a bad memory for anything, such as what day it was and what planet she thought she was living on. Even so, her inefficiency came with a charming smile.

Be aware, then, that while the legend of Aggie Grey’s lives on the hotel is a bit comatose. At least their prices are reasonable and maybe preserving an era is sometimes better than a complete makeover. Forewarned is forearmed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    86
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
48
77
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pago Pago, American Samoa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My stay over at Aggies was an unforgettable moment....and the best moment ever, and i will treasure this for the rest of my young and beautiful life.....Thanks alot to the Management & Staff of the Aggie's Hotel....the service was great....the cleaning ladies were friendly, the frontdesk did a great job....the guys at the lobby were very friendly....i just enjoyed it very well, the rooms were wonderful.....very clean......I LUV IT.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Aggies is a must-visit in Samoa, whether you are staying there or not. It has history, old photos of Samoa's past, and an excellent fia fia night. If you are staying there, invest in one of the fales - they are well appointed and while not quite 5 star, offer an insight into the film star life of the 50's. Otherwise, go elsewhere.

The rooms at the back of Aggies are comfortable but basic - small rooms with single beds, and small showers with old plumbing. They are clean though, and the TV service is good.

Food at Aggies is terrible. Ive lived in / visited samoa on and off for the past 10 years, and its a disgrace that while food improves elsewhere in the country, and considering the food at Aggies is not cheap, Aggies still cant get a decent menu together. The breakfast buffet offers cold toast. soggy cereal that sticks to the dispenser, and sugary fruit drink, and sometimes "lambs fry". Lunch and dinner are equally greasy and disenheartening. I think the staff try their best but the restaurant needs management to update their offerings. Room service is available - but pickings are slim.

The Aggies pool is nice, and its location is really good. You can catch a lovely sunset from one of the front rooms, or by sitting on the sea wall opposite. Internet vouchers are available for wireless, and its pretty fast. Dont rely on the travel desk staff to have up to date info about flights - check with the airline yourself.

It is quite family friendly and welcomes kids, and is OK for a short Apia stay, however you can do better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Bring evidence of payment if you've paid a deposit before arrival. I've read reviews of other accomodation options in Samoa where tourists have been told there's no record of their payment and so they have to pay again!! Aggies is no different. We were told we had to pay in US dollars, even though we hadn't come from the US and the local currency is Samoa Tala. Lucky for us we had all our email correspondence with the manager and a reciept with our payment details.

We paid a lot of money for a "standard" room and got service to match our "standard" room. Their idea of cleaning is mopping the floor and then leaving it wet. I assume, to dry by itself even though our room was in a shaded part of the hotel. I shouldn't have been surprised, because I walked pass staff who were cleaning the reception area with some detergent and toilet paper. You'd think with the amount of money they charge people to stay there, they could buy some cleaning cloths!

Friendly staff in the sense they are always saying hello as you go pass, but behind the eight ball when it comes to dealing with inquiries. They must practise saying "I don't know" in their sleep because it's always on the tip of their tongue. Management should invest in some workforce development, send some staff on a customer service course, maybe even a housekeeping course.....

I recommend swimming in the pool but you can definetly find better service, accomodation and food options if you have time to shop around.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I have just stayed at this Hotel for the second time for business and leisure. The rooms are basic but very clean and the gardens are beautiful. The staff are so friendly and helpful, however I did feel very disappointed this stay with the quality of food. Other guests also commented to us that they felt the same way. Breakfast was fine but the food we ordered to our room and in the main restaurant was awful. We found amazing food and coffee at Paddles just down the road and noticed many guests from the Hotel were dining there at night. Even a very humble Grill restaurant nearby served the most amazing fresh fish and chips for 11.50 Tala and the fish was tuna caught that day. It's so easy to get it right with the abundance of fresh fish and vegetables available.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband was one of the three staff members with a group of 12 students who went to Samoa on a Mission trip. They spent their last 5 days of staying @ Aggies and they invited me to join them which was fantastic as I was spending time with my family and relatives. We had a lovely room. (Spectacular) Staffs were really friendly breakfast was great. Aggie Junior told us that we can stay there for an extra night free of charge just to chill out once the other members of the group had left. The first mission team 2008 also stayed there priviously. Now it's an annual event I think they will always stay there due to the fact that they always look after us and the service was so excellent. FAÁFETAI TELE LAVA AGGIE JUNIOR. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Sootau Allan and New Year

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Fantastic stay, check in not til 2pm but we were given our room at 7am and offered an additional complimentary buffet breakfast. Lovely spot around the pool to relax. Comfortable new pool side furniture and lots of shade. We ate dinner along the road but the breakfast was lovely. We had a Hibiscus Room, it was NZ$240, which was expensive for what it was - like a funky old motel room in NZ. Room was clean and well set up, very peaceful and probably the best nights sleep in Samoa. Staff very accomodating with late check out at no charge. If you need to stay in Apia this is a great spot, rental cars all a short walk away and Paddles Restaurant 5 min walk is fab food and service and lovely outlook over harbour.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aggie Grey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aggie Grey's Hotel

Address: PO Box 67, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aggie Grey's Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Aggie Grey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aggie Greys Apia
Aggie Greys Hotel
Hotel Aggie Greys
Aggie Grey's Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aggie Grey's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.