We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaiula Beach Fale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vaiula Beach Fale to your Saves list
Vaiula Beach Fale
Main South Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Apia
1 review
“Can't wait to get back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Vailua fales for a week, the service was amazing, the location was amazing and the food was amazing but it was the people that were the best. Dave took us fishing and nugg took us to a deserted island which was super cool. Can't wait to come back. X Dan and V

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family spent two weeks at this secluded beach fale resort. It is Avery relaxed and family run affair owned by Dave,the renowned Samoan fisher on the south coast. The food is great. The beach is delightful and you can wander off in either direction for complete isolation. Not a fancy resort. The bar and surf trips are run by an expat Aussie named Nugg who hosts the perfect South Pacific sundowners with the visiting surfers. Boat trips to a deserted island is a must. The surf is a quick left hander out in front of this island. For a cheap, beach side and quiet few days beside a coral lagoon, this is the place on the south coast of ulopo. Thanks rob, Jane Kalani josh ke'ala

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We came to Samoa to spend 2 weeks. Our plan was to travel around a little bit and experience different places, but we ended up staying at Vaiula Beach Fales the whole 2 weeks! If you are looking for a place to relax, enjoy great local food, surf, snorkel, go fishing, meet other people and get some new memories for life, Vaiula is the place to be.
Dave (the owner of Vaiula) is incredibly welcoming and will help you with everything you need. His family and the rest of the workers there are also very very friendly.
Nugg keeps a little bar on the property and also runs daily surf-trips out to Nu'usafee if you are interested. His bar serves great local beer, some cocktails and good conversations :) There is also a pool table there if you can handle the competition from the locals. The bar also has a VIP member, little Ginger Ninja, which is the coolest dog you'll ever meet :)
The beach, ocean and property around is beautiful! Very scenic and calm. It is quite remote, and if you want to go to Apia you'll have to take the bus which takes about an hour. I would recommend to keep a car for a few days if you want to get around on the island, as every bus goes via Apia. This means that you always need to go to Apia first, and then change bus to the destination you want to reach.
Breakfast and dinner is included in the price, but lunch can be hard to find. My advise is to buy a few cans of different food that you like, the staff will always help you if you need a stove or anything else for preparation.
To us, Vaiula didn't lack a thing and we would not hesitate to stay here another time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Cheap and definitely cheerful. If you are travelling on a budget, or just want to try something abit different, then I highly recommend Vaiula Beach Fales.
The water on the beach is warm and clear during the day and ideal for snorkelling. Beautiful reef and a multitude of colourful and funky fish meant that we were in the water for hours at a time. There is the option to go out fishing on a small boat with Dave which a couple of my fellow travellers did. I don’t surf but if you do then Nug takes you out in his boat and all the hot boys who arrived back in the boat seemed very pleased with themselves. It is a 20 min drive away from the Sua Trench attraction which is a must- do of Samoa. If we had more time there would have been loads more to do like explore the caves and the island nearby.
Nug’s beach bar has a free pool table and beers are only 5 tala which is roughly $2.50 NZ. Breakfast and dinner is included in the price. Pancake balls, pulu sami, fish and fresh eggs ( from the on-site free roaming hens) were some of the highlights. The traditional Samoan food was delicious; much better than what I had expected.
The beach fales were big enough to stand up in and the mattresses were comfortable and protected by insect nets. You can hear the waves which is relaxing but took me a while to get used to.
It is ‘out in the sticks’ so stock up on essentials in Apia before you leave there. There are shops a 30 min walk away from the fales but they may not necessarily have insect repellent or orange juice or whatever it is you need. On that note, mosquitos are really annoying all over Samoa in the evenings so bring plenty of strong repellent and cream incase you do get bitten.
The people in this resort are part of its charm. Dave, Dave’s family, Mau and Nug made us feel welcomed and at home.
We stayed three nights but I could have stayed another three. I am not usually one to travel this cheaply if I’m honest and was a little anxious at first about the ramshackle toilets, cold showers and absence of phone coverage, air con and yes walls! But, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would do it again. It’s more of an adventure than staying in a hotel and I think I will be travelling in this style more often from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

"I do!"

My (now wife) and I chose Vaiula Beach Fales for our wedding in July 2013, and it was the best decision we could have ever made.

Having planned our vacation long before we decided to get 'hitched' on the trip, we emailed Vaiula to see if there might be a chance to get married while we were there.

Right from the start their responses were enthusiastic, and we were promised a simple but thorough ceremony on the beach. To add to the 'package', we were informed by email that not only did owner Dave personally know the Samoan government celebrant, but resident Vaiula Manager Ryan (Nugg) also worked for many years in video production and photography internationally, and was offering to take photos on the day and to produce a short video of our special day for a small fee! Right away our workload to make the wedding happen was cut in half!

While it may have sounded too good to be true, everything turned out to be perfect - maybe even better!

When we arrived at Vaiula, Dave and the team had decorated one of their beachside Fales with gorgeous local flowers and an extra thick mattress awaited us. At dinner that night, we were informed that the following day (our wedding day) that Dave and his family would be preparing a traditional Samoan feast to celebrate our special day. This included the slaughter of a pig especially for the occasion, and in Samoan culture I understand that is a big deal.

Our wedding day began with a flurry of activity as the Vaiula team raked the beach and decorated many parts of the site with flowers.

We filled the day with walks on the beach, snorkelling and quiet games of pool in the bar area. We also had many opportunities to work with Nugg on the production of our personalised wedding video to take home to show family and friends.

As the hour drew nearer, the team erected a gorgeous flower arch on the beach under which our marriage took place to the sound of local guitarists playing.

This was followed by our traditional dinner, which was shared with other guests who also got caught up in the festivities surrounding our day. As we had travelled to Samoa with no family and friends, we really appreciated the opportunity to share our day with the Vaiula team and the other guests.

After dinner we all adjourned to the bar where many bottles of Vailima (local beer) flowed, and the music continued late into the night - including a local song for our first dance as a married couple!

For us, this was an experience rather than just an 'event'. Not only were we made to feel a part of the day, we were the central focus for all activity on the day and the opportunities we had to participate in our special day was amazing.

A special mention must be made to 'Nugg' (an Aussie ex pat) for his attention to detail on the day and for making us feel just so special. I am not sure he realises what a significant role he played in making the day a special one for us. He is one of the most genuine, generous and likeable guys you'll ever meet.

And to Dave, and his family a giant thanks for opening up his property in such a meaningful way to us. We felt like a part of his family by the time we left!

Now, let me finish by saying that a wedding at Vaiula may not be everyone's cup of tea. For starters, the accommodation is made up of basic beachside Fales and there are not even hot showers on site. If you want the whole nine yards for your big day, you'd be much better heading somewhere else to one of the bigger resorts (and spending much more money), but if you are like us and up for an adventure and a real Samoan experience, then please consider contacting the Vaiula team.

They exceeded our every expectation and gave us a day we will never forget!

Thank you Dave and Nugg

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What can we say but....WOW! It was simply fantastic to wake in the mornings to the sound of the waves hitting the sand right outside your 'door'. We stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed every bit of it. The accommodation & amenities are basic but that was part of the attraction for us. You had fresh cool water if you wanted to shower, otherwise the sea was right there for all to enjoy and ..YES... the water was warm and crystal clear. Dave was absolutely the perfect host. He did his best to please everyone. If you want to try the local food then his wife's cooking was divine. I must say thanks to Nugg for keeping us hydrated with the local liquid refreshments he keeps in his bar. All part of the Vaiula experience... :-) Jenny & Ernst

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Staying at Vaiula was like becoming part of a family for me. As a single traveller, I spent a lot of time with the children of the owners, Dave and his wife- whose cooking was divine.
I met Nugg who was in the process of building a surf camp and bar on site and he showed me the local areas. He took my friend and I on an excursion to see a fia fia dance as well!
The falls (beach bungalows) were beautiful and the beach couldn't be beaten- there was even some jungle further down the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for the double-story bungalow (it's like living in a treehouse!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vaiula Beach Fale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaiula Beach Fale

Address: Main South Road, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vaiula Beach Fale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaiula Beach Fale Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaiula Beach Fale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.