We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value place to stay with excellent hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynn's Getaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lynn's Getaway Hotel to your Saves list
Lynn's Getaway Hotel
Motootua, Apia, Upolu 1561, Samoa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Apia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value place to stay with excellent hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. Right next to the hospital, air conditioned rooms, hot showers, no bugs!!! Laundry for WST10. Amazing breakfast included every morning too. Highly recommend it, it's a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
38
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Decided to stay at Lynn's after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and was a great decision. We only had 1 night there but in reality it was closer to 2 nights as we had a late flight back to home and didn't check out until 11pm..... yes thats right. 11pm.
Karl and the whole team were super super friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They apologised for mixing up our booking and putting us in the house out the back that didn't have air con. We weren't at all bothered and we literally had a three bedroom house to ourselves.
Nice touches such as providing us with a bowl of fruit, bottled water and milk for the fridge on arrival were all appreciated. The breakfast was amazing and the best we had in Samoa by far. Freshly made 'thick' pancakes, omelettes, pastries, fruit, fish..... you name it, it was there and laid on. And importantly for the wife, plunger coffee.
And brilliant value for money. There was no charge for our very late checkout and right until the last minute when we headed off at 11pm to the airport, Karl was still checking to make sure that everything was OK for us.
When in Apia....stay at this place. End of story.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Owner at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is my second time to stay here and I felt very homely to be here. The staff and owner are really friendly and helpful. Upon seeing me, all really welcomed me by heart and I felt back to home, which you don't feel in normal hotel. This is very much private home stay facilities where breakfast is included and comparatively very good breakfast with lots of choice of fruits, bread, pancakes, eggs, sausages etc are served with tea/coffee. Room are good and maintained properly, expcet that few rooms are very small but I got bigger one this time. Recently they also made a pool which is small but good one. It bit far from the downtown but you can have good access to town with taxi. Few restaurants and a grocery/convenient shops are close by, hence, you really don't feel far from anything. You have all what you need here and in case you expect anything more, just ask the staff, they are there to support you. You can also order food and pay very less but if you are lucky, you also get time to time small snacks and other offers free. In addition, if you wish you can also cook your food as there is common kitchen facility available here. Internet connection is good and cheaper. This place can also offer you airport transfer if you have requested in advance. Overall....fantastic experinece and I would certainly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Almost all are similar and nothing special to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Owner at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our travelling circumstanes were changed drastically with one minute on a cruise ship and the next looking for accommondation on land in Samoa.Thanks to Dr Anne Jolly arranging with Lynn a room was available for myself while my husband was in the hospital.I cannot speck highly enough of Lynn and her son Karl for the way I was looked after for a week as for the Getaway accommondation fantastic, clean and welcoming with lovely helpful staff to assist you whenever needed. Highly recommend Lynn's Getaway interested travelling to Samoa.
Rhilma Bruce

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Owner at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for that great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Before our trip to samoa I had researched apia accommodation and decided (from comments and reviews) to stay at Lynns Getaway Hotel. Absolutely lived up to all expectations and more!
My mother and i were very impressed from the get go :) Lynn's is very clean and welcoming, it feels like a home away from home... especially with the lovely ladies who work there "Pina an Fata" - Pina makes the best raw fish!
We had breakfast included, a great start to our day.. yummy fresh fruit, pancakes, toast, tea/coffee, cold water -from a cooler, which you could freely fill your glass all day long... bliss, after a long day out and about (or a quick dip in the pool, very deep). Next door to Lynn's is a supermarket, very handy when you feel like a snack :).
We were greatful to be able to book Lynns shuttle to drop us off to the wharf 0630 (45mins drive) to catch the ferry to Savaii then pick us up on arrival later in the afternoon 1600. We could also book in Karl to drop us off to other places e.g. restaurants in apia, the market.. Karl can give you great advise about places to eat and things to see and make sure your connected to the internet esp you having facebook withdrawals hehe!
During our stay at lynn's we experienced 'Sunday lunch' with a variety of samoan food, very nice - i really enjoyed the luau, taro, raw fish.. so much to chose from :)
Lynn herself is a great host, she makes sure you are looked after, we really appreciated that! Before we left to the airport, Lynn organised a delicious lunch for us -curry beef with taro.. what an fantastic ending to our stay.
Overall, we loved our stay at Lynns Getaway Hotel and would definetly recommend it! (very family friendly, couples and solo)
Thanks everyone at Lynn's esp "Lynn, Karl, Pina an Fata" ... see you again!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 9 and it was perfect, on the ground floor.. had a double and single bed with ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Owner at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We arrived in Apia on Sunday morning and were greeted with a smile from Karl, who is awesome and terrific with communication and quick email replies. They asked if we were hungry (we were starving) and then offered us a delicious Samoan lunch, which is apparently free on Sundays! We had fresh fruit, breadfruit, taro, fish and everything was fantastic. There is a really nice big kitchen that you can use if you want to cook your own food while you're there, and there is a mini-supermarket just next door that cooks bread at around 5pm and 8pm. You can smell the delicious bread at night. It smelled so good we had to venture over. There is also a delicious (although definitely "tourist priced") pizza restaurant down the road. The main town of Apia is a 5 tala taxi ride away.

Karl and Fata and all of the other hosts are so kind and always offer you anything you need. We arrived a little early (before check-in) and they prepared our room regardless. The room was fine, at first the A/C didn't work so Karl brought us a large fan which worked. The pool is clean and relaxing. Overall I had a wonderful time and even though I was only there for one night the staff becomes your friend and genuinely wants you to enjoy Samoa. Even after you leave, they still are there as a resource for advice and tips for the rest of your stay.

My friend left a bottle of alcohol in the trunk of the taxi that brought us from Lynn's to town. We received an email the next day telling us that they had it and we could pick it up whenever. Unfortunately we had already left the area and couldn't go back at that point, but we thought their honesty and communication was extremely admirable, especially since we left it in a random taxi (who must have returned the bottle back to Lynn's after he realized we left it).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Owner at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Absolutely loved my time at Lynn's. I was fortunate enough to stay for the entire month of March and can honestly say I was sad to leave. I've stayed in many accomodations throughout Apia and this is hands down my favorite spot. Karl and the rest of the crew make you feel completely at home and they do an amazing job on every aspect. Very friendly, comfortable atmosphere. Have already informed Karl that we'll be staying here again on our next business trip to Samoa.

No complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn N, Manager at Lynn's Getaway Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lynn's Getaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynn's Getaway Hotel

Address: Motootua, Apia, Upolu 1561, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the busy corporate, holiday-maker, and long term student. Lynn’s Getaway is the perfect retreat. Located 2 minutes from the National Hospital. Rooms for the long term student or enjoy luxury amenities such as spa, LCD TV, and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lynn's Getaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynn's Getaway Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynn's Getaway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.