We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to kick off from” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanaki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amanaki Hotel to your Saves list
Amanaki Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd, Sogi Peninsula, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
N.E. Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great place to kick off from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amanaki is new and spotless quiet and a great place to kick off from. Staff were friendly & helpful, food was good, water clean, rooms large & clean, good balcony views and a nice pool. Close to amenities like hire cars and the markets, buses, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
44
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first time in Samoa, and very happy we found the right place to stay.
It was only a 5 min walk to the "main town".
The rooms are a big size with everything you need.
We would definitely stay there again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were only able to stay two nights 2oct-4oct ,myself son and husband, only because the other seven nights we wanted to stay were booked out, so we spent the other nights at Tanoa which is virtually next door.
Its a cosy hotel not too big, but the rooms are big and and clean, had two double beds, the aircon is a bit noisy and TV reception not so great,but these are so minor.We were in room 16 on the ground floor, right across from the pool,my son loved it.
The pool and restaurant is great and the staff are welcoming and so friendly, you can tell its a great restaurant when its busy and locals eat here too.We ate here for dinner most nights (love the fish with baked potato) beacuse the food is good and prices are reasonable in comparison to the other hotels and eating places, same with alcohol, (Vailima Tower if theres a group of you).
I travel to Samoa at least once a year and I hope Amanaki's wonderful friendly service and prices dont change to much, brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Amanaki for 5 nights and were very happy with the stay.

The room was absolutely huge, with 2 very comfy double beds, clean and modern, with hot shower with good pressure.

The air-con was very effective, but a bit noisy. Small TV, bad reception, but did get BBC World news.

Lovely little balcony overlooking the nice pool.

The staff were absolutely great, so friendly and helpful, they really made the stay.

Breakfast was fruit, toast, cereal and tea/coffee which was free. Then there was hot breakfast options that were reasonably priced.

The restaurant was great, we ended up eating here every night during our week in Apia. The menu was varied, great value for money, good decent food. It seemed really popular, with tourists from other hotels, and local people all coming there to eat.

Cocktails were also reasonably priced.

Location was about a 10 min walk to the main street, though taxi's were so cheap, and given the heat i would get a taxi anyway.

We visited Aggie Greys hotel, nice and historically charming (and did a good latte in the little coffee shop) but it wasn't anywhere near as friendly, welcoming and homely as Amanaki.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we came back to Apia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

First impresstion is always what i look for in a hotel, affarid that wasent the case with us. We booked 2 rooms & clearly in my emails said that i would like it to be next to each other, reason been is that my kids would be in the other room.....arrived given 2keys 2doors apart, explained that i couldn't have my kids so far from us, told that the rooms i requested are not next to each other and they were fully booked, ask if i could cancel cause they didn't live up to what we agreed on, i was told that i will have to pay a cancelation fee which i personaly think it was unfair, it was 5.30am & didn't have the energy to argue, stayed for a week and first few days were fine but half way through our stay house keeping would forget to swep our floor,handtowels, facecloth,bathmat etc
I honestly felt like a nagging mum having to ask for things, requested an iron didn't get it till the next day oh and the hand towels were never recived untill they did our room up the next day.
If you order room service after 10pm they charge you $5tala.
The rooms were very roomy & clean, pool was great, great location Michael the receptionnist was very helpful, the staff in the restaurant were fantastic, and they do have good food we got bored of breakfast, was the same thing every morning.
I was dissappointed cause it was recommened by a friend.
It made me wonder if they didnt do our rooms properly cause i complain about the rooms on arrival. We thank everyone for the sevice, will i stay there again? No!

Wish them all the best.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmanakiHotel, Manager at Amanaki Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Ianneta,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Amanaki. We are obviously disappointed that there are aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
It was a surprise to hear that housekeeping hadn’t swept your room and forgot to replace your towels half way during your stay. It is our standard policy that all rooms are serviced daily and towels to be changed daily unless guests request otherwise. We sincerely apologize for this mishap and addressed these issues with our housekeeping staff so that this does not happen again in future.
With regards to your comments made in reference to your booking, if you kindly refer to my email sent on the 3rd July 2012, you would see that mentioned is the room category layout on each level stating that the two Standard rooms you were requesting is separated by two Deluxe Rooms in between. As you had responded the following day confirming that you still will be booking two Standard Rooms, we had then taken this as confirmation that you are aware of the layout and still would like to proceed with your booking.
We are a small 3 1/5 star family owned hotel who have just been operating for 2 years now and we try to do our best to keep the standards and service up to our guests expectations, therefore we do regret to hear that your expectations were not met and we apologize for the bad experience you had.
We appreciate your comments as it helps us to try and improve on issues raised. Thank you for sincerely for staying at the Amanaki Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights - The staff were amazing, very friendly and attentive to detail. The food at the restaurant is delicious, beautiful swimming pool, rooms new and spacious and very clean. Beautiful setting - across the road from the sea and palm trees, yet only 5min walk from the markets and town. Appreciated the air con even though it was the cool season! It was a very stressful time as my 16month old son was admitted to hospital but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay as pleasant as possible. I would highly recommend Amanaki

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We flew into Upolo at around 7pm and opted to stay a night at the Amanaki Hotel so we could have a look around Apia before moving on to Lalomanu Beach. It was a very good decision. The Hotel is very clean, new, and well presented, the staff were friendly and welcoming and the food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced. We would have liked to have stayed longer to make the most of the swimming pool and grounds. Our room was on the top floor and we enjoyed sitting on the deck with a morning coffee looking out over the swimming pool and towards the sea. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, it was excellent value and a thoroughly enjoyable experience. T

Room Tip: Higher floors have views over the pool and out to sea. There don't appear to be any 'bad'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amanaki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanaki Hotel

Address: Beach Rd, Sogi Peninsula, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amanaki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Amanaki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanaki Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanaki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.